Re: 3/21 Tommy pmps 516, +3 428

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauren&Tommy (GA)

Member Since 2010
I have to say i'm a bit leery of that a.m number, but if it is accurate............ :-D , wahoooooooooooooooooooooooooo Tommy! I will be monitoring today to see where the numbers go.. First impressions, i'm just a little happy right now.
I'll keep in touch.
 
Re: 3/21 Tommy amps 278, +1 330

way to go tommy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now come on back down from that +1 ok? Have a great day guys!!
 
Re: 3/21 Tommy amps 278, +1 330, +3 345

Thanks everyone. This is however where i am a bit confused. I understand every cat is different and the +1 is almost always higher than the pre shot because of breakfast, i just don't understand why his next few tests are almost always higher. We'll keep on keeping on!!!
 
Re: 3/21 Tommy amps 278, +1 330, +3 345

Hello There! I think this is our first visit to your condo. :) Have the experts taken a look at your SS? Waaaaaayy back in the day Marco's numbers would go up after PS's and where his nadir should be he was at his "highest" Jill had told me it's rare but sometimes if a kitteh is getting too much insulin he gets an inverted curve :? really only the experts can see this and determine it... or another thing that can happen if they are getting too much insulin is they are in a constant bouncing state.

Do you give Tommy mini snacks through out the day?

I'll catch myself up on your posts this evening, so you don't have to explain everything all over again :lol:
 
Re: 3/21 Tommy amps 278, +1 330, +3 345

Thanks, just recently we have lowered his food intake. I wouldn't say he gets snacks exactly. Just a while ago i fed him about an ounce or so of food to carry him through until the next feeding. Thanks again for popping in and leaving some advice.
 
Re: 3/21 Tommy amps 278, +1 330, +3 345

we were seeing some wonky numbers on punkin at the beginning, and it turned out to be from me feeding him "treats" that were too big. I was giving him an ounce, or even less, after testing him. Now he gets all of his food with the shots or at +3, and other than that the treats are 1/4"x1/2". I had no idea they had to be that small to not effect his blood glucose.

He now waits 9 hours to eat between breakfast and dinner - and he did complain the first few days but has accepted it now.
 
Re: 3/21 Tommy amps 278, +1 330, +3 345,+6 392

Soooooooooo happy for yellow & pinks.. AND not reds!!! Progress is good.. it just takes time & finding the right dose ;-)

:RAHCAT Tommy!!
 
Re: 3/21 Tommy amps 278, +1 330, +3 345,+6 392

Ok. So I have gone back and read, and looked at your SS. :-D I don't think we know your name? ... or at least the name you want us to call you :lol:

Anywho... can I ask you to stay on your current dose for at least 6 cycles? Meaning last night PM shot was your first cycle, this morning AM was your second cycle... so stay with it at least until 3/23 AM cycle. I would love to see the full effect of this dose. Let it ride completely through, filling up the shed, and not being messed with. I would have loved to see back around 3/2 when the dose was 3.5U for that to have gone a full 6 cycles. The reason is because Tommy saw some yellers (yellow) and the 3/3 PMPS was ALMOST a yeller! :-D

Can you do me a favor? I think it'd be really helpful. Tonight, do your regular before shot test (pmps), shoot, feed, then do a test 3 hours after his shot (+3), give Tommy a little snackus. I'll usually give Marco about 1/4 can of his FF.

Another thing. Some of the recommended low carb high protein food affects each of our kitties differently. For instance, the Turkey & Giblets one... I don't know why but it'll send Marco's numbers through the roof. Along with the dark green labeled one... I forget which one it is. How do you feed Tommy his flavors? I found it best for data purposes to keep him consistent on one food at a time. So feed a case of the chicken, then switch and feed the case of beef. Marco's favorite was the beef&chicken one, but I honestly think this contributed to him returning back to the insulin. So I only feed him the Chicken. (im referring to fancy feast classic brand here) For his testing treat he has his Halo's liv-a-lil freeze dried chicken. :-D they are his fave!

I'm not a resident expert here, but I have been around for a while, and with everyone's help here I still have my little man along the way reading and learning. That's helpful too. Drop by some other "Condos" here and peek in, see what's going on. It helps you learn about your own kitty. :smile:

I can tell you love your Tommy, so I want to at least be here for you as encouragement. My little man means the world to me too! ...he had to approve of DF ;-)


What time are your shots? and what time zone are you in? I'll pop in and check on ya.
 
Re: 3/21 Tommy amps 278, +1 330, +3 345,+6 392, +10 469

Please, by all means call me Squirrel if you like. My father gave me that nickname when i was 10 and it's stayed with me all this time. ( Might i add, if you knew me, you would say it suits me very well!)

I planned on giving this dose time to do it's thing given we had some better numbers with the first dose at that amt. So i'm on the same page with you there.

My time zone is smack dab in the middle (CST)--MO.
I try my best to shoot at 9am every morning.
I must admit i give Tommy a variety of FF but only the CLASSIC. NO GRAVY STUFF and he gets a classic FF seafood maybe once or twice every 2 weeks.
FF turkey and giblets
FF tender beef and chicken
FF tender beef feast
FF tender chicken feast
FF tender liver and chicken feast
and Friskies turkey and giblets which does have rice in it and i will stop giving him that.
I think the dark green labeled one is mixed grill, but i could be mistaken.
I have an unopened case of the classic variety which has 8-8-8 of chicken, turkey and giblets and beef feast.
I will try to narrow down the food issue if there is one. That's a great idea.
I need to go test-feed-shoot right now.. I'll put my numbers down here as soon as i get done.
I hope I've answered all your questions and thanks for the advice.
I'll test at the +3 after his pmps..
 
3/21 Tommy PMPS ~ 516

Ok. Don't panick. :smile: Tommy has been in such high numbers that his little body could be panicking from the yellow this morning. It's not used to being that "low". It needs time to heal. It needs help to deal with these numbers.

Try not to base shots and dosing off of the preshot number. Try to look at the midcycle numbers too. The yellow this morning was great. That's progress. Hold this dose, 6 cycles is the minimum, test for your keytones like you have been, and let's be patient, k? It's so so easy to want to up the dose because of a preshot number, and it's also so so easy to want to lower a dose immediately because of a preshot number.

I am in a central time zone too. Texas :-D . Do you work from home?

Squirrel, iz you a mommabean or pappabean? My mommbean gave me a squirrel toy once, a drooler I lived with temporarily ate it. :?
 
Re: 3/21 Tommy amps 278, +1 330, +3 345, +6 392 +10 469, +11

I IZ a mommabean. Sparky iz the pappabean.
No i don't work from home. My husband and i just recently had to close our Restaurant after 4 yrs due to this lovely economy winning.. so we're both looking right now..
Iz the drooler you are referring to of the canine persuasion?, because we have 2 of those also as well as 6 other felines.
I'll let you know as soon as i have the +3 completed.
 
Re: 3/21 Tommy amps 278, +1 330, +3 345, +6 392 +10 469, +11

hi squirrel - i'm just poppin in cuz i saw Those Numbers and wanted to see what was up! i'm too new to give advice, but am so glad that a pro is in here helping you. Yay for Celia! You're in good hands.
 
hey there, i wasn't quite sure if i was to start a new day or just post here, so i apologize if this is in the wrong place. I just took his +3 number since his pmps and it's 428.
I had given him FF chicken feast before his pmps test and just now gave him a snack of about 1/4 can of the same.. Good night and again thank you all so much. I'll talk with you in the A.M. I-)
 
He's going the right direction. That's great! Not coming down too fast, and thats a plus too! :) You posted correctly. You're still on the PM cycle for 3/21.

Marco just had his test too. If you can, leave him out a little snackus for over night, just in case he starts to drop. Not to mention, with numbers as hi as his he will feel hungry lots. It's a divided belief, but my belief is let them eat. Once he starts regulating... then we worry about weight/proper amt for ideal weight.

In the morning, if you are able get a +11, as well as get the AMPS#. Let's make our goal small. Let's see if we can work our way to getting him steady yellows. Remember we don't base dose on the preshot number. we have to look at the whole picture of the day.

I am sorry about you and DH's restaurant. Take this extra time that you have to gather as much data as possible. The more data, the more you get to know and understand your furbaby.

In your AM post, tell me about your Tommy. What is he doing? Does he play? Does he talk? What does he like to do. Is he at your feet? Check out my Condo... our shot time is 6a/6p. The more we get to know Tommy the better we can help.

Oh, and ... be sure since you have droolers (k-9) and other kittehs that the dry kibble is not out for Tommy to get into. Our sugarbabies are soooo sneaky. :shock: and that could cause a ruccus in all the hardwork you're putting into trying to regulate him. :smile:
 
Good, i'm glad i posted in the right spot. As far as leaving food out for Tommy, HA!!! there is no such thing. If i go give him a little more food now it will be gone before i can say goodnight to him as he is of course always hungry and from what i understand, almost all unregulated kitties are.
photosquirrel14 said:
Ok, first things first, you all are wonderful people with how much you care and take the time to respond. Let me answer the questions you have asked and then i have some questions i would like to ask also.
Tommy came with the property i was building a house on some 14yrs ago. He was approx 2yrs old then. He remained an outside kitty for many of those years until he had one too many an encounter with a raccoon and my husband and i decided that was enough. He needed to be inside to heal from the wound to his leg so we took that as a sign to try and make him and indoor kitty.. That didn't take long.
That was posted on the 17th i believe. just to give you an idea how Tommy came to be.
Tommy never has been much of a talker. He does have quite a lovely motor as does all of my kitties. He talks much now to let me know of his displeasure in his food intake although since being diagnosed i believe he has gained almost 2 lbs.. He doesn't play much, never really has.He and Teddy will roll around some, but for the most part they like to curl up together and sleep in the window in the sun. As you can see by his photograph he's very laid back and just likes to be loved.
There are no worries about him getting into dry food.
The situation is as follows:
Ranch home with an open floor plan and basement, 2 boy kitties have the run of the 2100sq ft basement, complete with bed and windows. (Teddy), Tommy's roommate does not play well with a couple of the girls upstairs. I have 4 girl kitties upstairs, both dogs, and the boys downstairs. Teddy gets some dry food also, but it is in a place where only Teddy can reach it. He is 2, Tommy is 14 and can't jump like he used too. I don't leave out much for Teddy and have never even seen Tommy go near it as it is up higher than he can jump.
Tommy isn't the foot cat, Teddy is. You really can't take a step without Teddy being underfoot and wanting much loves too.
I'm testing as much as i can, as i posted a couple of days ago, the finances right now just can't handle going through as much test strips as i would like. I'm sorry for that.
I'm working on getting a profile done and Photographs of all my "kids" to show you all.
I should be able to get the 8am as well as his normal amps..
Good night Celia and thank you!
 
hello Squirrel,
I wanted to comment on the appetite issue; my two cats had 'healthy' appetites before they were regulated. Shadoe was consuming around 24oz/day and Oliver was inhaling easily 30oz/day.
Normally, cats will be eating more food because their bodies are not getting what's needed.
Shadoe is now eating maybe 8oz/day and Oliver is down to maybe 15oz/day.
Pancreatic function
Feed Tommy what he wants to start as he may need it right now. You can track his weight gain on your ss; I have added a column for my cats to record their weight.

There are some cats that take a bit longer for their shed to fill up - always keep the shed in mind when you are increasing dose - stick to 6cyles/shots to be sure that the shed has been topped up and your cat is getting the full benefit from the dose.
Tight Regulation Protocol
Lantus & Levemir – Insulin Depot –AKA- Storage Shed

As with the protocol, increase Tommy's dose on the 7th cycle.
I know it's difficult to see a lack of improvement in the BG numbers, but those numbers are only a single part of the picture. Pay close attention to Tommy, how he is acting and changing. How is his coat? Make a note of changes and improvements with his coat, and habits, old and new. Watch for the amount of urine, as it may lessen as he approaches regulation. Also, his water drinking may change too.

Food is very important. You want to ensure that Tommy is getting NO dry food, including any dry treats or seemingly harmless treats.... read the ingredients as many will have some form of sugar in them. Even the pill pockets that so many use for giving meds to their animals .... they have sugar in the ingredients - all flavors except the Duck and Pea flavor for allergies, which has no sugar/corn syrups. I mention the dry foods because if my Shadoe gets just a single mouthful of even 3 or 4 pieces, her BG will shoot to the 400s.
Because Tommy will eat all the food left out, you can try what works for many by using a timed feeder. You can ration out equal portions and he can't get the food till the feeder turns.
Petsafe 5-meal Auto Feeder

You mentioned a switch to another insulin. If any switch is made, I would suggest switching from Lantus to Levemir as it is a bit gentler than Lantus and just as long lasting. I use Lev for both mine, and did find that Shadoe was improved in all ways when I switched from Lantus to Lev.... she relaxed more, had less urine issues, and better BG numbers. While PZI may be fine for some cats, it's not as long lasting as Lantus or Lev, so I don't think it would be a good option for Tommy.

I know you may be discouraged by a lack of improvement, but maybe Tommy just needs more insulin than other cats. There have been others who were at higher doses and did eventually go OTJ - I think of Randi/Max who was at a higher dose but is OTJ today and it's been almost a year too, I think!

So just stick to the protocol, feed Tommy what he wants and record the amount in ounces on his ss to track the total, plus track his weight gain. I just weigh myself while holding a cat, then set the cat down and weigh myself again, then subtract. Easy peasy and more convenient than going into the vet office all the time!

Finally, if at all possible, get at least a before-bed BG test in the pm cycle because many cats go lower overnite and then are high in the morning at amps. It may not be the case here with Tommy but without the number to prove it, you don't know for sure.
There are 3 absolute most important BG tests to take: amps, pmps, and the before bed test. Aside from those 3, you can save strips by getting tests at +6 and then if able +3 and +9 are good. See below - it's not the same for all cats, but it's a good starting guideline.
Also, you can move around your test times between shots - one day get 3, 6, 9, and the next day, get 4, 8. With staggered test numbers, you may be able to pinpoint Tommy's nadir and save strips at the same time.
When people are at work, they can't do any testing, so don't worry about getting lots of tests, just get the ones that will tell you something most useful.
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 – Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 – Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.


As you get closer to the dose that Tommy needs, you will start to see the signs in his mannerisms and attitude. In time, you will start to see the old Tommy back.
It will happen.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top