Re: 11/30 Tawny pmps 320 - Ketone meter ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DD & Tinkerbell

Member Since 2009
Good morning everyone!

This is a better start to the day than the last few have been, hopefully she will surf out in the yellows today w/this kind of amps!

She is still eating well, I get the urinalysis results back today.
 
Re: 11/30 Tawny amps 304; +2/257

She ate an entire 5.5oz can of LC Friskies Mixed Grill for breakfast! Of course it was laced w/kitty crack. But she ate it. NO KIBBLE!!!! YAAAAAY!

I am adding water to her food (& Tinkerbell's too) and they are eating it this way.

According to the LVRC's feeding "prescription", if she is eating canned she should have 2 - 5.5oz cans per day.

When Tinkerbell ate and got her shot 2 hrs later (they are 2 hrs apart at the moment), Tawny wanted to eat more while Tink was eating, so I let her have some more with more water laced in.

Tawny will stay in her room w/civvie bro Rocket again today who cannot get onto the table where I leave the food out for Tawny so that she can eat all day if she needs to. I left some more LC out for her only, no kibble, laced with water.
 
Re: 11/30 Tawny amps 304; +2/257

Good report, Desi. Tawny sounds like she's doing just fine. Isn't it great that she can have company and not have to worry about him eating her food!!

Have a good evening with all your fur family,

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
She ate great this a.m., LC only, and spent the day in her room w/Rocket as planned. I left 3 trays of LC out for her, 5% and 13%, two watered down & one not, and when I got home all three were gone. Rocket can't get to them so that means Tawny grazed all day.

I have cross-posted & asked this same ? below in Tinkerbell's condo here: 11/20 Tinkerbell's Condo

I have a blood ketone meter now (I am so very sorry for the loss of your beautiful Boo, Heather...thank you for the gift of her ketone meter), so I tested Tink tonight and her reading was .1. I think this is a good thing? But I am a medical moron, I really have no idea what this means. Could somebody please explain to me what the readings on a blood ketone meter mean? In kindergarten language?

Cuz on Tawny's vet discharge pprs from her ckup Monday it read "Urinalysis showed ketones 2+" but they sent her home. Last night I tested Tawny and it read 1.4. Tonight she was higher, but she ate LC wet all day (more on this in her condo).

I have read the insert that came w/the blood ketone meter strips and also re-read the sticky on the protocol today and read everything on the link from there on DKA. I'm just not sure what it all means & what I am supposed to do about what it does mean.

I don't have a problem w/the pee-on-a-stick ketone tests, the chart on the bottle makes it a no-brainer. And that's just what I need: a no-brainer explanation on how to interpret the blood ketone meter readings. So could some of you experts out there help me get it, please? Pretty, pretty, pretty please?
 
Giving you a bump, though not many people are on at this hour unless on the west coast. There are folks here who can answer your question, I'm just not one of them :YMSIGH: .
 
I would post the ketone reading in your subject line. Garland and Violet have experience with this and others like Sandra and Black Kitty.

What a thoughtful gift to you and Tawny. This group is truly wonderful.
 
The info below is copied from a post on the old board about ketone tests from Sharon/Fiona:

Precision Xtra Readings for Cats

**'Normal' for cats is 0.0-0.3 (Fiona's normal is 0.1, D & Shadow's normal is 0.3)

**3.0 is aproximately when ketones start showing on urine ketodiastix strips at a trace - at least that is the case for Fiona.

**As BG's go down so will ketone levels (in most cases). If I can get Fiona's BGs under 250 for even a couple of hours her ketone level will go down.

**Other than being DKA at dx, the only other time Fiona has had ketones above 1.0 was when she had some kind of infection. The first time (Aug 2008) was occult and we never figured out what it was but four rounds of different ABs finally took care of it. The second time (Dec 2008) was tooth problem even though she had an extensive dental in April '08. She had a pocket behind a canine and a broken tooth. Neither of which could be seen by the vet until she was under.

**Other cats get elevated ketones for other reasons, too high BGs for too long, etc.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top