Re: 11/26 Bid PMPS 101..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bid's Mommy

Member Since 2010
I figrured out how to do my Spreadsheet and post it to my signature..

It doesn't have too much information yet.. but we are pretty new at this. We are going to do his 2nd BG test of the day and shot in 30 mins or so.
 
Re: Finally got my Spreadsheet up and working..

Great job!! One quick suggestion...on the "green" numbers, I usually change the color of the numbers to white so they stand out; otherwise they are hard to see. To change the number color, click on the box you want to change, then look above your actual data and you will see the "A" with two underlines, click on that and then click on the white box!!

As you already know, each day we start a new condo so you could change your subject line on your condo for today. Open up your condo, click on the "edit" button, and then in the subject line, delete what you have written and put in

11/26 Bid AMPS 319 +6 82

then scroll down to the bottom and hit submit. Each time you want to update with a new number for that day, just reopen your condo, hit "edit", add the new numbers, and then "submit"!! That way everyone can take a quick glance at Bid's numbers. If someone sees them dropping too quickly, they could send you a quick post. Hopefully you will be able to test more so the wise ones can make any recommendations on dosing for you. But so far...you are doing awesome!!!
 
Re: Finally got my Spreadsheet up and working..

Great job with his spreadsheet.

That is a huge drop right away on insulin. I bet you'll be asked to drop the amount of insulin based on those numbers. Thats exactly why we stopped Maverick on 2.0 units down to 1.0 units in two days. The huge drop.

If you look at Maverick's spreadsheet - the first day was 2.0 units. We went down to 1.0 that first night and 1.0 the next morning. But you'll see in his spreadsheet since we haven't increased it from 1.0 and he's in the greens just staying at 1.0 with no increase. Its a lot safer to start low and increase, than start high, and deal with possible hypoglycemia after the insulin shed under his skin is full and it starts working at full force.

I will leave dosing to the experts.

Do you have any questions so far? Its a whole lot to take in. I asked a few questions about bouncing (when they go low one day they can bounce the next few days), how they earn a dose decrease or how to know when to increase, whether his ear would looked mangled from testing (the answer is no), about getting the right foods (Bid being at 2.0 units and a drop to low carb food could have a huge impact and cause a hypo event - so you should really be up to speed on this quickly).

Sending hugs. We are just over a month in, and everything I have been reading is starting to come together. I have read things over and over again - some stuff still makes no sense to me (like the overlapping), but I'm sure that will come too.
 
Re: Finally got my Spreadsheet up and working..

Jenn:

You're seeing green numbers at nadir. I really want to encourage you to get more tests in. If you read the Tight Regulation sticky note, this is what is recommended at the beginning of Lantus use. Note the part I put in bold.

WHEN FOLLOWING A TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL WITH LANTUS OR LEVEMIR...

* Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir.
Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9.
More monitoring may be needed.


* It will be necessary to test kitty's blood glucose levels multiple times per day.

* Learn the signs of and how to treat HYPOGLYCEMIA and prepare a HYPO TOOLBOX.

* Test regularly for ketones and know about DIABETIC KETOACIDOSIS (DKA).

* Use U-100 3/10cc syringes with half units marked on the barrel for fine dosing.

* Feed a high quality low carb canned or raw food diet.

* Feed small meals throughout the day. Some kitties adapt well to free feeding.

2.0u is a sizable starting dose and I want to make sure that Bid isn't going too low. There's a good chance his numbers will spring back up after that green, which is not something to be concerned about, but we do want to watch where those lows are.
 
Re: 11/26 Bid AMPS 319 +6 82

Jenn: great job on the subject line already!!! I was thinking the same thing as Sienne and Karrie: that that was a big drop today.
 
Re: 11/26 Bid AMPS 319 +6 82

Thank you.. I was wondering what exactly to put in the subject..

We are getting the hang of doing his BG testing, and need to do the rice sock so we haven't been doing it too much just a few times.

Yes everyone has said we need to go down to 1U and I think we will be doing that tonight, I just was conflicked cause the Vet said 2U and she said when we come back on Wednesday he might even have to go up to 3U.. Which I really hope not! But I wasn't sure. But I don't want any problems with him so I think we will do the 1U his next shot.

I was actually wondering about that, his ear being hurt/mangled from all the poking.. It seems like 1 ear is better then his other (we can never get any blood for one ear) and I didn't want to hurt the ear we keep poking.. although we are having a hard time getting the blood so we need the rice sock or a lower gauge as soon as possible.

OK so starting tomorrow we will start doing the BG testing every 3 hours.. I wont be home for a little while during the day so it will be practice for the husband ;-)

Thank you so much!! I couldn't be happier with all the help and advice/info from this website!! And I keep reading everything over and over again also! :razz:
 
Re: 11/26 Bid AMPS 319 +6 82

FWIW, most of our cats have one ear that bleeds more readily than the other. Cyn's suggestion of Neosporin (with Pain Relief) may help. I test a lot and it doesn't seem to be a problem. You get better at it and over time, the ear bleeds much more easily.

I would also encourage you to take a look at the info on the tight regulation protocol. You might want to print out the formal version of the Rand/Queensland protocol for your vet. (It's linked in the Tight Regulation sticky.) What's important for you to know is that based on the protocol, dose changes are made in 0.25u increments. It sounds like your vet is more inclined to increase doses in 1.0u amounts.
 
Re: 11/26 Bid PMPS 101.. Need dose help please??

Alright so we just took his PMPS and it was 101??? We shouldn't give him any insulin right?

Should we wait a couple of hours then try again??
 
Re: 11/26 Bid AMPS 319 +6 82

Just wanted to say Welcome to lantus land & it looks like you have got it!! :mrgreen:
Nice green already, very promising!--Just ask questions, read & listen--We are all here for each other!
BUMP!
 
Re: 11/26 Bid AMPS 319 +6 82

I wouldn't give 2.0 units at all tonight. So wait until someone gives you specific advice before you shoot if you can delay. I haven't given shooting advice though so if it won't mess up your schedule I wouldn't shoot such a low number without having more data. Even shooting less tonight you'd have to be on guard because he has some insulin stored which may be used on top of what you give tonight. Have you printed out the sticky on dealing with a hypo (syrup, high carb food, testing).

If your vet suggests going up to 3.0 I'd be prepared. 3.0 would be insane based on the numbers you are seeing. The group here gave me great advice for dealing with Maverick's aggressively pushy vet. I would say "I'm not comfortable dosing that high right off the bat. Would it be okay if I kept him at 1.0 for a week or two and see how he does first?" If he pushes you to go to 3.0 I would not do it and ask for advice here. Be prepared so you are confident in your plan. I find vets extremely intimidating and I lack confidence in speaking with them. I get advice and practice before hand but we are searching for a vet that can work with me better. I'm confident in managing Maverick's diabetes with what I've learned, but I'm still looking for a perfect partner in his care.
 
Re: 11/26 Bid AMPS 319 +6 82

Hi and welcome aboard. I too can't give dosing advice. this will at least bump you up. you may want to change your subject line to read "dose help needed" so that ti gets the experts attention. Someone should then be along to help you.
 
Re: 11/26 Bid PMPS 101.. Need dose help please??

No schedule tonight... I wasn't sure if I should test him again in a hour or so or if I should just skip it til tomorrows BG testing?
 
Re: 11/26 Bid PMPS 101.. Need dose help please??

Jenn, I'm not an expert, but has someone gone over the hypo kit with you? Do you have one and know what to do with it just in case?

Follow the guidance here, your kitty had a big drop today. Great job on the SS and subject line, etc.

Good luck! I'll be watching your condo this evening. :smile: :smile: Rebecca
 
Re: 11/26 Bid PMPS 101.. Need dose help please??

if it's been a half hour, that would be good to see.
can you afford to stall and retest now?
 
Re: 11/26 Bid PMPS 101.. Need dose help please??

Hi Jenn. Welcome :-D
I'll be interested to see what Bid's +13 is. Have you fed him yet? If, not, then please don't, as if he is going to get any insulin tonight, we want it to be a "true" number and not affected by a food spike.
Please update when you can.
 
Re: 11/26 Bid PMPS 101.. Need dose help please??

Alright so we finally got his BG testing done.. I don't know what we are doing wrong but we can't seem to get blood out of his ear (And he hates it) We don't have any rice for the rice sock so we tried a heating pad to warm his ear. I don't know if we aren't poking hard enough or what but he meows and I feel like we are hurting him. We tried for a little while and after going threw 2 lancets and 2 test strips we couldn't keep poking him, so we finally stopped for a little while and came back to it 15 mins later and finally got it.. Anyways, his level was 159.
 
Re: 11/26 Bid PMPS 101.. Need dose help please??

That's good that you gave it a break and tried again a little while later. You could give a treat each time, whether the testing is successful or not. That way Bid will eventually associate testing with something good in return.
We've all been through the tough times of learning to test in the beginning. And I still (after many years) sometimes have to poke many times to get one test. I think you're doing good, to try and if it doesn't work after a few pokes, to give it a rest for a little bit, and try again. Bid will get used to it. Many of our cats come running for their tests (and treats or extra lovins), or jump up on their testing spots very willingly.
Is it almost +14 now?
 
Re: 11/26 Bid PMPS 101.. Need dose help please??

I think, since it's almost +14, and you don't have much data yet, that it is okay to skip the shot tonight and to start over at your regular schedule tomorrow morning. You've probably fed him already tonight, too, right?

Would you be willing to start over again at 1.00 unit tomorrow morning, and see how that goes?

Bid may be a little higher tomorrow from the skipped shot, his shed emptying, and from his liver reacting to the lower than normal (for him) BGs, that he had today.

Others may have different opinions, so let's see what they have to say, too.

You did good today :-D
 
Re: 11/26 Bid PMPS 101.. Need dose help please??

Ok I just wasn't sure how many treats he could get a day.. We' bought some treats that say no wheat gluten.. So I hope those are better.

But yea the BG of 159 is more like +12.5.

I'm trying so hard not to get stressed out but this is such a huge change! It's really hard.
 
Re: 11/26 Bid PMPS 101.. Need dose help please??

I was thinking of skipping and then doing the 1U of Lantus tomorrow morning after checking his BG.. But I was thinking of giving him some Fancy Feast before bed tonight since he only had 1.5 oz at 6:15pm. Or should I not?
 
Re: 11/26 Bid PMPS 101.. Need dose help please??

I agree with Dyana, you don't have enough data yet to shoot this number, and you are already off schedule. It makes sense to skip the shot tonight and start at 1.0u in the morning.

With the dry food out of his diet, his insulin needs will be less, so as others have already said, lowering the dose is advisable. One unit is usually a good starting place, and you can increase from there as necessary. It's much easier and safer to start lower and work your way up, than to start too high and have to try to figure out how much to decrease.

For treats, I use plain boiled chicken breast cut into little cubes. I freeze it in small portions and pull it out as needed.

It's a big adjustment, and a lot to learn. You're doing fine! We all have been in your shoes....it will get easier, I promise.

It's fine to feed him again tonight...small meals spread through the day are best.
 
Re: 11/26 Bid PMPS 101.. Need dose help please??

just wanted to stop by to say hello and welcome to the group! :-D
you've already received some great advice. you're doing so well!
hang in there, k? this will get easier...
 
Re: 11/26 Bid PMPS 101.. Need dose help please??

Jenn & Bid said:
I'm trying so hard not to get stressed out but this is such a huge change! It's really hard.

OMG!! It's overwhelming! The front end of the learning curve is huge. Just remember to take a few deep breaths every now and then. Don't hesitate even for a minute about asking questions.

And, please feed your kitty. If you are skipping a shot, there's no reason to withhold food. You only want to not feed if you're going to shoot. You don't want to give a shot based on a food influenced number.
 
Re: 11/26 Bid PMPS 101.. Need dose help please??

Jenn, you're doing very well! Don't get discouraged. It's A LOT in the beginning. I think my record was 7 test strips in one test. Star cat wasn't happy at all with me! I've even poked my own finger by accident a few times. You're doing great. And as everyone said, it will get easier. You will see!
 
Re: 11/26 Bid PMPS 101.. Need dose help please??

Jenn

You did great....believe me, you will get more and more confident and people are here to help you. Until you get a rice sock, you can warm a wash cloth and put it in a ziploc bag and use it to warm his ear...that might help...you can also rub his ear. My Gracie girl also bleeds better from one ear but we still alternate as we've gotten to where we can get blood from both as long as we get the ears warm. Also, I use a small, round contact lens case cap to hold on the inside of Gracie's ear so I have a firm surface to poke against. Some people use tiny flashlights so you can see the veins...you want to be sure you aim for the edge of the ear, not the large vein altho we have all hit the vein from time to time. You are going through the same thing we all have....you'll be amazed at your progression!!!

Also...typically once your question is answered, it's good to take the question line out of the subject or else people will keep popping in to help you. Again...we've all had to learn this so no worries. Good luck with your vet next week....Karrie has great suggestions esp since she recently went through that with her vet. The vet needs to remember that it's about the cat...not about the vet's ego :-D
 
Jenn, You are doing so well. A washcloth warmed in warm water and then put in a plastic bag will work just fine to warm up his ear. A little Vasoline on the ear will help the blood drop to bead up. I use a small gauze square on the other side of the ear while I poke so that I have something stable to poke against.
After you have tested Bid's blood sugar tomorrow morning, put his food down and give him his insulin shot while he is eating. His head will be in his dish and he won't be bothered at all.
It will all get to be second nature, so just relax and learn right along with Bid.

Ella
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top