Re: 11/17 Maverick PMPS 110 +1.5 77.3 +2.5 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
Yesterdays thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29908

Yesterday morning I upped his insulin a tiny bit by adding a little fat to the 1.0 dose. He surfed the greens in the day but went up last night.

I didn't get +10 +11 numbers and wish I had. I just don't understand the overlap/getting dataready sticky at all. Maybe today will somehow help explain this?

What do I do?

His shot is normally at 8:15. I am home all day.
 
Re: 11/17 Maverick AMBG 90 - help?

I wish I could help explain everything to you but even now people still have to explain it to me ... but I do know this is a great start to the day! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/17 Maverick AMBG 90 - help?

You are home so that is good.
Maybe test to see if the number is rising? That fat really did the trick, eh? Looking good! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/17 Maverick AMBG 90 - help?

Thanks :)

Yep I'm home and I have corn syrup and higher carb foods (still don't know the percent yet). Have lots of strips.

He ate an ounce of low carb food before his test too. I forgot to take away his dish and he was polishing it off when I noticed.

So I'll test at the +.50 mark
 
Re: 11/17 Maverick AMBG 90 - help?

Did you shoot? This is a great number actually! You added the fat to get these greens. As long as you will be there to monitor and give foods, this should be great. It is best when we are stalling to not feed though.....
Maybe print this out so you can have it handy? viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27894
It's Libby's post on shooting low numbers (I just bumped it up too)
 
Re: 11/17 Maverick AMBG 90 - help?

wish i could help you with your ?.....i still don't get it myself :sad:
hope your day goes smooth!!! good #s though :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/17 Maverick AMBG 90 - help?

I didn't feed on purpose *blush*. He's a free feeder and I didn't lift up his plate when I got up.

I have the shooting low numbers close by. I think I will print it and put it on the fridge though. Good idea.

Ok. Going to test and shoot. And monitor closely.

Thank you guys!!!!!
 
Re: 11/17 Maverick AMBG 90 - help?

Oh, I understand...we can't think of everything! :razz: But food raises the numbers...hey, this is great...great number for Maverick this morning! And since this will be your lowest AMPS most likely, be sure to get a +1 to see how he does with the shot. Sometimes when you shoot a lower number, they stay low but do not have those big dips. Shoot Low to Stay Low....
Great data for your SS. And since you are there to watch him, it is perfect! Good job! :razz:
 
Re: 11/17 Maverick AMBG 90 - help?

I wish I had more data, he almost always drops when I do the +2 reading except for the day I gave him high carb in the morning. So I don't know if the +1 +2 will mean anything except show how low he goes. The +5 is usually his nadir from what I can gather.

Just gave him his shot. He was up a tiny bit. WIll get a +1 and post back. Thanks guys.
 
Re: 11/17 Maverick AMBG 90 - help?

The +1 is an important test when you shoot your lowest AMPS. If it is not showing a good sized food spike, it usually means that they are stalling and ready to head back down. You can always give a little LC at that time to slow any drops.
Your PM shot is 12 hours from when you shot this morning. You might be able to shoot a little earlier so just be sure to get a +11 and then you can discuss it. We get back to the regular shooting time by either moving the time by 15 minutes per shot, or one half an hour per day. You are not too far off, so that is a good thing. :razz:
That 95 was a rising number...good job!
 
Re: 11/17 Maverick AMPS 95

Wow Karrie
Looks like another exciting day for you and Maverick.
I see that Maverick is a free feeder which is good.
Many of us here like to use "mini meals", especially during those
first few hours of insulin action which should help in keep the BG
levels more stable and hopefully avoiding huge drops.

We will be watching you today, just remember, if and when he starts
to get low, you are in control!
 
Re: 11/17 Maverick AMPS 95

Thanks Randi :) Check out the new spreadsheet. Today's row forward is automatic :) :) :) No more triple checking math and watching for typos.

We are up for +1 - cool!
 
Re: 11/17 Maverick AMPS 95 +1 106 +2 97 +3 115

He is surfing, is he eating in between?? Whatever he is doing Great--That fat on dose worked!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/17 Maverick PMBG dropping number? Help?

I haven't done +10 +11 numbers before so I just assumed things stayed relatively steady after his nadir at around +5-+6.

SO I don't know what this means. It isn't lower than the +5 number but (edit) higher than AMPS.

He hasn't eaten anything since around +5. He's eaten about 4 oz LC food today though.
 
bump

113 is your PMPS?

are u home to monitor?
have strips, LC, MC and HC on hand?

can you afford to stall and retest in 30 minutes? No food yet!
 
Re: 11/17 Maverick PMBG dropping number? Help?

Yep 113 is the pmps - no shot yet. I'm home all night and have everything for a low. Nope no food - he's begging me for food though ;)
 
Re: 11/17 Maverick PMBG dropping number? Help?

you have a dropping number,,,if you are uncomfortable shooting this, an option would be to stall.

let's see what others can add.
 
Re: 11/17 Maverick PMBG dropping number? Help?

I'm not uncomfortable shooting. I was told in yesterdays condo to get a +10 and a +11 and a link to understanding the data and overlap and stuff - I still don't really understand it at all. So I got late numbers tonight and not sure what they mean or what I should be doing with them. I sure didn't expect it to go down from +10. It was a surprise.
 
Re: 11/17 Maverick PMBG dropping number? Help?

23 minutes. I'll just test at the 1/2 hour mark and shoot it. I put it off this morning by a half hour also.
 
Re: 11/17 Maverick PMBG dropping number? Help?

Maybe to understand "the data ready" I shouldn't have delayed the shot ohmygod_smile and gotten a +1 and +2 after. This is the most confusing thing to understand I think.
 
Re: 11/17 Maverick PMBG dropping number? Help?

you'll need to get a few more +10 and +11 before you can really understand them. I would say he's surfing, and probably just did a little "double dip" at the end. No problem to shoot this, as long as you're comfortable.

If the whole cycle was dropping, like if his numbers went 300-250-210-167-133-113 then you might want to pause on shooting that (or you might not). Today's cycle is shootable, as long as you can monitor and are comfortable dealing with low numbers if they come.
 
Re: 11/17 Maverick

wow, nice AMPS...
definitely wanna try to get a +1, if I may suggest :mrgreen:
post if you need help, I have to turn in I-)

you're doing well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top