Re: 11/16 Maverick

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/16 Maverick AMPS 130

Maybe show F1.0u on your SS so you will see that you fattened the dose, k?
Good luck with the little bit extra... Glad about his appetite!! :thumbup

I just read your comments yesterday about your vet...
This is a great excuse for you to NOT call her in the future and just go to her for his check ups.
Tell her that you cannot afford $27 each time you call her!!!!!! grr_red IF she ever asks....

I can see how others think this is okay for her to charge you...but seriously, for what she gave you during those conversations is not really worth any money at all, IMHO. With Maverick going <200 all the time now, all those phone charges when you call her would really add up, right???
You are doing a great job!! Hope you have a wonderful day!!! I think there just might be some more greens in your future! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/16 Maverick AMPS 130

Thanks for suggesting updating the spreadsheet - I'll do that also. These things will become common sense to me in the future.

I appreciated everyones feedback on his vet. I don't disagree with anyone. I think I was still feeling the effect of that one call. I still feel it in my stomach and chest when I think about it. But I'm feeling such relief that I'm off the hook now. It feels so good. I was wavering back and forth about how I was going to tell her about Maverick's progress, thinking about fudging a second spreadsheet so she thought I was following her directions and not dropping me as a client. Getting that bill was freeing and I will now pay it with a smile. I'm glad I don't have to be assertive ohmygod_smile Cause that is sooo not me.

I read Raja and Shadows condo every day and I'm learning a lot from them two. Give them a belly rub for me. I'm still mainly lurking and learning (and laughing). I'm on pins and needles following the low and bouncing posts.
 
Re: 11/16 Maverick AMPS 130 +2 88.2 (Green)

I didn't expect that speck of insulin to have an impact on his numbers today. But we have green. So looks like I'm sticking around until he rises :) I have to go and get catfood. I bought Walmart out of what they had for turkey and giblets last week and he's doing great on it, and eating it consistently. So I'm going to go back and try again. I don't have any left after he finishes the ounce and half remaining.
 
Re: 11/16 Maverick AMPS 130 +2 88.2 (Green)

FWIW - agree on your vet. wow...

Nice day for Maverick - wow on the drop. it is good you can be around to watch him this morning - that's quite a drop. I'd get a +3 as the drop is early in the cycle.

have a great day - it is nice to see maverick having such good days. :-D
 
Re: 11/16 Maverick AMPS 130 +2 88.2 (Green)

Nice numbers, Karrie! Don't let that green make you too nervous, just get a +3 and see where he's heading. You have what you need to bring him up, remember when you gave him the HC the other day? He responded really well to that, you can control his drop if you need to.
 
Re: 11/16 Maverick AMPS 130 +2 88.2 (Green)

looking real good maverick!! You know you are in charge with food and you know there is always someone here with great advice on what to do next .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/16 Maverick AMPS 130 +2 88.2 +3 68.4

Not too bad 68.4 for +3 :)
I sprinkled some purebites chicken pieces on his LC food to tempt him to eat a little something.
 
Re: 11/16 Maverick AMPS 130 +2 88.2 +3 68.4 +4 66.5

I'll test at five and then 6 - if he's rising at +6 am I safe to not test him for the rest of the day?

He's out of food now lol.
 
Re: 11/16 Maverick AMPS 130 +2 88.2 +3 68.4 +4 66.5

That will depend on what his numbers look like at +5 and +6, Karrie. But if he's clearly rising for two tests without food, then he's probably past nadir. So he ate at +3?
 
Re: 11/16 Maverick AMPS 130 +2 88.2 +3 68.4 +4 66.5 +5 55.8

Yep he ate at +3 - about an ounce of LC food.

Two up tests huh. Guess he's not getting fed any time soon lol. I have some of his old food - PResidents Choice Turkey and Giblets but this affects his BG. The special Kitty Turkey and Giblets has been awesome.
 
Re: 11/16 Maverick AMPS 130 +2 88.2 +3 68.4 +4 66.5 +5 55.8

Still can't believe what an impact such a teeny increase had on him today. Thought it would take a couple days to have an effect.
 
Re: 11/16 Maverick AMPS 130 +2 88.2 +3 68.4 +4 66.5 +5 55.8

Sometimes the first dose of an increase packs more of a punch, sometimes not. You are doing a good job of monitoring, and he's fine. You could give him some of the other food, just a little bit if he's hungry...does he usually eat again around now?
 
Re: 11/16 Maverick AMPS 130 +2 88 +3 68 +4 66 +5 56 +6 59.4

He was up just a tad to 59.4. Pfew. No food during this time (not since +3) I wish I had some of his walmart food. I think I'll make a quick run to walmart now - it will take 20 minutes to get there and back.
 
Re: 11/16 Maverick AMPS 130 +2 88 +3 68 +4 66 +5 56 +6 59.4

beautiful green surf for Maverick today, Karrie, and you did an excellent job managing him. well done!

 
Re: 11/16 Maverick AMPS 130 PM question

You guys make me smile! Thank you.

Not sure what to expect tonight. Should I test 15 minutes earlier than the shot so I get advice without delay? Nevermind this he tested at 124 so I'm good.

With this fat dose, that means he isn't earning a dose decrease. So I'm trying to wrap my head around this. I'm giving him the tiny dose increase (fat 1.0) to get him surfing in the greens to give his pancreas the best chances at recovering right? And he wasn't in the greens on the 1.0 unit When he starts going low (below 40) is when we consider a dose decrease. So do I keep him at this tiny increase until that happens? Even shooting low?

Also I want to plan for being away on thanksgiving - for four days. If I can't do that for Maverick's well being I won't. He's my priority. Just wondering what other people do?
 
Re: 11/16 Maverick AMPS 130

klkelly said:
You guys make me smile! Thank you.

Not sure what to expect tonight. Should I test 15 minutes earlier than the shot so I get advice without delay? Nevermind this he tested at 124 so I'm good.

With this fat dose, that means he isn't earning a dose decrease. So I'm trying to wrap my head around this. I'm giving him the tiny dose increase (fat 1.0) to get him surfing in the greens to give his pancreas the best chances at recovering right? And he wasn't in the greens on the 1.0 unit When he starts going low (below 40) is when we consider a dose decrease. So do I keep him at this tiny increase until that happens? Even shooting low?

Also I want to plan for being away on thanksgiving - for four days. If I can't do that for Maverick's well being I won't. He's my priority. Just wondering what other people do?

If he is having a low cycle, and you think he might have a low preshot and you might need guidance, it's a good idea to get a +11 and post it in the header with a ??? or dose help or something like that....and post to your condo so it gets bumped up. That way, people will see that you need help and look at your condo.

This is a pretty low PS, lowest you have shot right? It's too late now, but when you get a low PS, you should get a +1 and a +2...it will help give you an idea if this will be an active cycle (a lot of drop) or not.

You understood the increase correctly...you want to get his numbers down into the greens as much as possible to allow his pancreas to heal. Since he is a newly diagnosed kitty, he needs to get below 50 to earn a reduction. Kittys that have been diagnosed for more than a year need to get below 40. Yes, you will keep him at this dose until he earns a reduction. As far as shooting low....you have already been shooting pretty low, and Maverick is doing GREAT. As you collect data, you will see how he does with shooting lower and you will get more comfortable. In preparation, I would read the "Data Ready" stickie and Libby's post on shooting low preshots. viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27894&start=0

For Thanksgiving...do you have someone who can take care of Maverick for you? Can you teach them to test and shoot? If not, can you take him with you?

You did a great job today! :-D
 
Re: 11/16 Maverick AMPS 130

Thanks Laurie! I couldn't imagine being calm and feeling fairly secure without you guys here. Some butterflies in my stomach today though.

I didn't even notice its the lowest we've shot yet. Thanks for catching that. For some reason Maverick always seems to drop at the +2. From a sticky that I had read it said many cats will go up +1 and +2. On days where I've taken a +2 he's gone down except for the day I gave him HC food.

I'll have to reread the stickies again - especially the two that you suggested. Thanks. I had 40 in my head for a dose decrease.

My husband will be here on the holiday weekend but I can't count on him being home in the daytime. I haven't given him the course yet.
 
Re: 11/16 Maverick AMPS 130

When you read those stickies, you'll see why I say get the +1 and +2...that data helps more than you know. Ask questions if anything doesn't make sense, ok? I'm really wiped out tonight, or I would explain...but it's all in the stickies.

Oh, you will have to teach DH...I taught mine, he tests and shoots now when I can't...it really helps to have someone else for backup! Even my DD knows how to test and shoot so she helps out sometimes too. If he isn't able to monitor closely, you can reduce the dose while you are gone for safety. People do that frequently when they go away and have a DPS (dear pet sitter) come in to test and shoot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top