Re: 11/16 Maverick AMPS 130
klkelly said:
You guys make me smile! Thank you.
Not sure what to expect tonight. Should I test 15 minutes earlier than the shot so I get advice without delay? Nevermind this he tested at 124 so I'm good.
With this fat dose, that means he isn't earning a dose decrease. So I'm trying to wrap my head around this. I'm giving him the tiny dose increase (fat 1.0) to get him surfing in the greens to give his pancreas the best chances at recovering right? And he wasn't in the greens on the 1.0 unit When he starts going low (below 40) is when we consider a dose decrease. So do I keep him at this tiny increase until that happens? Even shooting low?
Also I want to plan for being away on thanksgiving - for four days. If I can't do that for Maverick's well being I won't. He's my priority. Just wondering what other people do?
If he is having a low cycle, and you think he might have a low preshot and you might need guidance, it's a good idea to get a +11 and post it in the header with a ??? or dose help or something like that....and post to your condo so it gets bumped up. That way, people will see that you need help and look at your condo.
This is a pretty low PS, lowest you have shot right? It's too late now, but when you get a low PS, you should get a +1 and a +2...it will help give you an idea if this will be an active cycle (a lot of drop) or not.
You understood the increase correctly...you want to get his numbers down into the greens as much as possible to allow his pancreas to heal. Since he is a newly diagnosed kitty, he needs to get below 50 to earn a reduction. Kittys that have been diagnosed for more than a year need to get below 40. Yes, you will keep him at this dose until he earns a reduction. As far as shooting low....you have already been shooting pretty low, and Maverick is doing GREAT. As you collect data, you will see how he does with shooting lower and you will get more comfortable. In preparation, I would read the "Data Ready" stickie and Libby's post on shooting low preshots.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27894&start=0
For Thanksgiving...do you have someone who can take care of Maverick for you? Can you teach them to test and shoot? If not, can you take him with you?
You did a great job today!
