Re: 11/10 Tiki AMPS 378, +318, PMPS 290, +2 283, +4 169!!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tonya and Tiki

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56100

378?????? What does he DO at night? Went to bed and he had little to no food!!!

But he is hungry and cooperative this am!!!
 
Re: 11/10 Tiki AMPS 378

It is a mystery huh? Tarragon is always higher in the AM. They must have a stash of candy bars somewhere that we haven't found yet.

Hope Tiki comes down and you have a great day!
 
Re: 11/10 Tiki AMPS 378

Hi Tonya,
Tiki is a cat. No other explanation is needed (well, almost no other)! Just keep following the protocol when raising the dose. Today is the 3rd day (6 cycles) on your current dose of 0.75 U and you have seen nadirs in the 200s. So, according to protocol, you should raise Tiki's dose tomorrow morning to 1 unit and hold that dose for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles). It would be helpful, if your schedule permits, to get some more spot checks in. Perhaps this weekend you will be able to do a curve (AMPS, +2, +4, +6, +8, +10, PMPS) or a mini curve (AMPS, +3, +6, +9, PMPS). The people experienced in making dosing recommendations will want to see more numbers on your spreadsheet!!

I see that you say that Tiki had little or no food before bedtime last night. Was food set out for him and he didn't eat it? Or didn't you put out any food. It is often helpful to provide a bedtime snack of LC food (about 2 oz.). In general, a number of smaller meals throughout a cycle are preferable to a single feeding.

Have a good day and don't worry about that AMPS. There isn't that much data on your spreadsheet for yesterday, but it looks as if the 378 is a bounce. Patience is the key!!! :smile:

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/10 Tiki AMPS 378

Hi guys .. yeah, these pinks are frustrating aren't they? Ella gave some good dosing advice and also good advice about the night time fuds .. smaller more frequent meals are better for our sugar babies .. have a great day!
 
Re: 11/10 Tiki AMPS 378

i agree with ella - it could be that tiki has been high enough that hitting a number in the 200's is causing him to bounce back up in the high 300's. if that's what's going on, it'll calm down. in the meantime, you're doing great. spot checks are helpful in filling out the picture, of course. hang in there!
 
Re: 11/10 Tiki AMPS 378, +318, PMPS 290,

Had to buy more test strips today. When I first stocked up on all the home testing supplies I didn't even notice the cost of these things. My BG reader came with 50 free ones but I had to replenish my supply today. THANK GOD it was suggested to get the Relion Micro cuz the strips are the cheapest....HOLY MOLY MOTHER OF....some were in the $100's!!!

Can I stash an FSA account with money to buy my CAT these supplies? It's about that time of year when I need to re-do my bene's at work.... Not that I am advocating LYING or anything....lol~
 
Re: 11/10 Tiki AMPS 378, +318, PMPS 290,

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Tonya!!!

come to think of it, though...that's a good question!
 
Re: 11/10 Tiki AMPS 378, +318, PMPS 290,

i don't know about that - i've wondered too. but strips online are WAAYY cheaper than in the stores. i'm a big "buy local" person - except with these diabetic supplies. they'll kill you.

i buy from American Diabetes Wholesale and the strips are about 1/3 of what's in our stores. i also go through mrrebates.com first (sign up there, then go to ADW through their link) and you get a rebate, right now it's 4% on whatever you spend.

lots of people get them through ebay, Hocks is another online supplier. i buy syringes through Medivet.com and the ones i like are about 1/2 the cost of getting them through the vet.
 
Re: 11/10 Tiki AMPS 378, +318, PMPS 290,

Let's get back to the food discussion from earlier - I am not sure I really follow this. Since early 9/11 when I first suspected he was diabetic (about 2 weeks prior to the actual diagnosis) I started feeding him 2 cans of FF a day. Morning and night. After the diagnosis the vet said to keep feeding him the same way but to give him even more if he seems ravenous as he isn't getting "enough" because of the FD. So then I started giving him 3 cans - morning, night and again when I went to bed. If I give him three cans he never finishes it ALL - where as I give him 2 he cleans his plate. So lately (since beginning BG tests) I thought I should go back to 2 cans as people had said its best to have them food free before the AMPS/PMPS readings - with 2 cans he is likely to have eaten less prior to the time these readings are taken.

Tiki has always grazed throughout the day. He never eats like a maniac (even if he is starving) and gobbles it all down at once. He has a few bites initially, then a few more an hour or two later and so on and so on until it's gone. When people suggest to feed him less, more often - isn't that what he is basically doing for himself??? I don't see how MY feeding him in this manner is any different than the schedule he usually has himself on.

I am going to increase him to 1 unit tomorrow...should I accompany this increase with an extra can of food too?
 
Re: 11/10 Tiki AMPS 378, +318, PMPS 290,

Oh...and another question (every day there are 100 more...)

I got the neosporin with pain relief today and put it on his ear before I poked him as it was suggested that it numbed the ear - thinking this might help the over all annoyance of being poked....THEN I thought...does the presence of that cream on his ear change the reading of his blood (I doubt there is sugar in it, but does it taint it at all in any way?)

Getting supplies on Ebay??? That's not WEIRD???? How do you know WHO is giving them to you???? (Sorry I work for the Gov't re: Nat'l Security - they pay me to be paranoid! LOL)
 
Re: 11/10 Tiki AMPS 378, +318, PMPS 290,

Regarding food, most of us feed at am or pmps and then at +2 or +3 and sometimes at +7. When Tuffy's numbers were high, she was always hungry. As she adjusted her hunger decreased.

I don't know about the neosporin, never used it.

Supplies on E-bay. I know a few who order from there, just make sure you know the expiration date of the strips. I use ReliOn so I get them at WalMart, price is great. I don't know if the stirps on E-bay are compatible with ReliOn. I do know that Abbott, that makes the AlphaTrak makes the ReliOn meter and the strips.
 
Re: 11/10 Tiki AMPS 378, +318, PMPS 290,

Hey Tonya:

Lots of good questions. Many feed on a schedule, like Barbara said, or on the one I suggested the other day as it helps to manage the curve particularly if kitty is a diver (that is starts at 300 and by +2 is at 150). You want to avoid feeding after nadir if at all possible. If he is starving after nadir, then feed a very low carb snack like freeze dried chicken OR many of us just keep boiled chicken breast handy to give a little snack. Before Gracie became FD, we just fed her a couple tsps in the morning and evening and then a tsp here and there whenever she came into the kitchen and was hungry. It didn't take her long to adjust to the feeding schedule and we slowly acclimated her by giving her a low carb snack at about +6 or so. We eventually took that away unless she got up on the counter and was hungry.

We use the neosporin ointment (not cream) with pain relief and I don't put it on her ear BEFORE I poke but after. There is usually a little residual for the next pokes so it beads a bit. I think the cream is counterproductive to getting a good bead of blood as it smears. Neither the ointment nor the cream should affect the BG as long as it's not piled on thick ;-) ;-)

I order all my strips on ebay in bulk as it is much cheaper than even ADW. I buy ONLY from top rated sellers that have pictures of the unopened, undamaged boxes with the expiration dates indicated. So far, I've had no problems at all. That's the only way I can afford the strips for the meter I like the best especially at the rate we use strips.

Keep asking questions!! You're doing great.
 
Re: 11/10 Tiki AMPS 378, +318, PMPS 290, +2 283,

A whopping drop of 7 in 2 hours! I am starting to think it's water in that vial....

I can't help but have an image of the Soprano's jumping trucks full of diabetes supplies and selling them on Ebay at half price... LOL
 
Re: 11/10 Tiki AMPS 378, +318, PMPS 290, +2 283,

:lol: i'm a little afraid of buying them on ebay too, but a lot of people here have been very successful with it.

in theory, the +2 is supposed to be about the same as the preshot number. the lantus kicks in about +2 and then you should see a gradual drop to mid-cycle, then a gradual rise to the next preshot. getting towards that cycle is a sign that the cat is adjusting to the lantus and is getting closer to being regulated.

from the sticky on the "New to the Group?" at the top of the lantus page:

Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

i slather on the neosporin ointment with pain relief at the end of the day and leave it overnight. i have seen people say they put it on 20 minutes ahead and then wipe it off when they're ready to shoot. i had a hard time with the cream also, and put it in the people supplies. the ointment works better for me.
 
NICE!

happycat-is-waiting-for-to-strike.jpg
 
you just click on the ones to the right of your reply-posting screen. or click on the "view more smilies" and when that screen opens, just click on the smilie that you want. it'll go wherever your cursor was in the reply-posting box.

these posters - you copy the URL from the website, then click the "Img" button above the reply-posting screen and paste the Img URL inbetween the brackets like this:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top