Re: 1/8 Michelangelo AMPS 252, +6/235 PMPS 292

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.

If last night had happened yesterday instead when I wasn't around.... nailbite_smile I'm glad now I went home yesterday at lunch to test him because I somehow knew 1.5u was too high a dose.

I know I'm supposed to lower his dose since he dropped below 50, but aside from that one low number because I underestimated how much he'd drop from his +6 to +7 and didn't feed him when I got the 98, his numbers seem really pretty. Since he's also going through a growth spurt right now, I figure if I drop him back to 1.25u, I'm just going to have to increase him again to 1.5u in a week when his growing catches up. Since I'm working from home today, I gave him a skinny 1.5u to see if that might be a bit better dose for him right now. If it's still too much, then 1.38u? Or should I have dropped him back to 1.25?
 
Re: 1/8 Michelangelo AMPS 252 - Last night, he hit 45

Hi guys .. Don't think I've been to your condo before so welcome from us! I have no dosing advice for you but just wanted to say DANG!!!!!! YOU HAVE GOT ONE CUTE KITTY THERE!! :-D How can you just not love that little furface!? :lol: have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/8 Michelangelo AMPS 252 - Last night, he hit 45

Congrats on the reducie! If you can monitor it should be OK, but I'm sure you'll get more feedback. Your reasoning sounds good, but Mikey is a whole new ballgame!
 
Re: 1/8 Michelangelo AMPS 252, +6/235 - Last night, he hit 4

Hi PeterDevonMocha! Welcome to Mikey's condo. He's an interesting little tyke, being a kitten diabetic, but he's an absolute doll when it comes to testing and shots (probably because he started so young that he doesn't realize it's not "normal").

I was hoping he wasn't going to bounce today, but it looks like he has. Even still, it's not as bad as some other bounces he's had. I have no idea what happened between his +4, +5, and +6, but he hadn't eaten from +4 to +5 so I don't know where that spike came from. Then, he did eat at his +5, so his +6 should have probably been even lower. I'm just going to assume that whatever is going on today is a residual from last night's drop. I'm hoping tonight we'll be back to relatively normal with no bounces and no bizarre spikes.

Should I continue on with the skinny 1.5u for tonight's shot as well?
 
Re: 1/8 Michelangelo AMPS 252, +6/235 - Last night, he hit 4

Since it looks like the 1.2u5 is too little and the 1.5u is too much, I think the skinny 1.5u should be OK.

One other option for you to think about is the dosing approach that is used on the German counterpart to this Board. They use the 3 drops in the 40 - 49 range for a cat to get a 0.25u reduction. You can't use a fat or skinny dose -- you have to take the full reduction. If your cat drops below 40, same thing -- it's a full, 0.25u reduction.

You can always see how Mikey does with a skinny dose. Since you're trying to consider his growth spurts, the other option may be one to think about.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
One other option for you to think about is the dosing approach that is used on the German counterpart to this Board. They use the 3 drops in the 40 - 49 range for a cat to get a 0.25u reduction. You can't use a fat or skinny dose -- you have to take the full reduction. If your cat drops below 40, same thing -- it's a full, 0.25u reduction.

The lowest he's ever been was 38 (on the Prime, 24 on the Micro and Accu-Chek Nano) and he didn't go hypo, so it seems he can run fine on fairly low numbers. He's also proven to not handle decreases so well, so I think I will give the "3 drops below 50 before reduction" method a try with this current dose. I'm going to keep him on the skinny though, because a full 1.5 is just a little too much for him right now with his weight in flux during this current growing period. At the moment, he's about 9.4 pounds with a +/- 0.4 pound variance, so maybe once he kicks it up a couple more ounces or his weight stabilizes a bit more, I'll return him to the full 1.5u dose. But by that time, he might be another 2 pounds bigger, so I'd probably be looking at a dose increase anyway! ohmygod_smile :lol:

And because he's just so ridiculously, obnoxiously adorable, I have another story to share. I have a queen-sized bed. Ever since he was 8 weeks old, he's been shoving me off it. When he was little-itty-bitty, he loved to sleep right in the small of my back...which I hated because I was always worried I'd roll over on him in the night. So, I'd scoot away from him. And he'd scoot closer. And I'd scoot away. All night long this would go on until I'd wake up the next morning, clinging to the side of my bed with this tiny, little, 6-ounce kitten hogging the rest of it.

Today, Mikey was sleeping in his cat bed at the foot of my bed again (the same one he fell out of the other day). I got up for FIVE seconds. I turn around and this is what I see stretched across the middle of my bed right where I had been sitting:

101_0402.JPG

And he's totally fake-sleeping because he doesn't want to move.
 
:lol: :lol: :lol: great picture! It's all about the comfort.

I hope he will hold his reductions better with the three times in the 40-49 range. The important thing to remember is that is an aggressive approach so any time he gets that third time in the range, you'll need to decrease by .25u. Just underscoring what Sienne said.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
I hope he will hold his reductions better with the three times in the 40-49 range. The important thing to remember is that is an aggressive approach so any time he gets that third time in the range, you'll need to decrease by .25u. Just underscoring what Sienne said.

Yes, duly noted. :smile: I think he'll do better this way because pretty much every time I've ever decreased his dose, I felt like I wasn't giving him enough of a chance. And sure enough, every time I've decreased, I've had to pretty much immediately increase again.

I've also noticed that every time he drops low enough or has low PS numbers, it seems to always occur about a week or so before his next growth spurt. And the last time, with the numbers he got in this time-frame, it earned him two reductions...until I had to increase again as soon as the growing kicked in. What's that saying again? "twice is a coincidence, three times it's a pattern?"

Is there a way I can bring him up to the LAST last good dose? For example, in December, he was at 1.25, then I dropped him to 1, then I dropped him to .75u. Instead of having to bring him back up to 1 and then 1.25, could I just bring him straight to that LAST good dose of 1.25 or does that cause all sorts of problems? I'm just not wanting to go through that whole increase-decrease-decrease-increase-increase thing again because it takes waaay too long to get him back to a good dose level when it seems he's just needing a temporary reduction for a few days from time to time.

...Then again, it was the holidays and I was gone for a couple of days so everything was all screwy.
 
P.S. I'm not too worried that I might miss his pancreas healing itself because it's pretty certain he's a Type 1 since he had no pre-existing conditions or contributing factors. As the vet told me when Michelangelo was first diagnosed, his body has a certain amount of beta cells that produce a certain amount of insulin. (IIRC, the diabetes presented itself after he was down to only 10-20% of these cells left.) In his case, he doesn't have enough beta cells to produce the insulin for his size and there's not really any way for his body to suddenly develop more beta cells...at least not till stem cell research figures it out.

Which brings me to another question: what is the difference between Type 1 and IAA?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top