Re: 1/26 Rocky PMPS 397 +2 365

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/26 Rocky AMPS 334

hi tina!

i noticed on his ss on the 24th you thought he might be catching a cold. is he still showing cold symptoms?

back to bed sounds perfect!
 
Re: 1/26 Rocky AMPS 334

i've been thinking a lot about Rocky and these current high numbers.

Just wondering - are all of the supplements you're giving him listed on his ss every day? is there any chance something may have a form of sugar in it? sometimes inactive ingredients in supplements can hide carbs.

also, exercise can help the cells be more receptive to insulin. i know he's living in a bathroom - any chance of the other kitties getting confined so he can get out part of the day to play some and move around? i used to take punkin out for walks on a leash to get him a little exercise. it took a while to get him accustomed to the leash, but once he did it was ok. at first i just put the harness on him inside the house so he'd get used to it. once he was, basically i followed him through shrubs and in the most inconvenient places around our neighborhood. gave me a glimpse of a cat's travels - which are SO different from "walking" the dog. none of this sidewalk stuff for cats! :lol:

you might be able to get more water into his food if he has more meals. i used to put an ice cube on top of the food in punkin's timed feeder so that it would keep the canned food fresh while it waited for the timer to go off and open. that's probably a couple of tablespoons of water per cube and i'd add that to 0.5oz of fancy feast.

is he still meatloafing?
 
Re: 1/26 Rocky AMPS 334 +3 301

Good morning,

Rocky's right eye seemed to be a little watery which to me signaled a cold. It's not that bad though and so far no discharge. I was going to add L-Lysine to his food but I keep forgetting.

Right now I don't have Rocky on any supplements. I am going to give him the Milk Thistle by Jarrow, either when I can find it local or else I'll need to order it from online. Other than that, no sugar or carbs in any of his food.

I stopped giving him the sardine a few days ago because the one I was getting had 2300mg of Omega-3's and now the store doesn't carry it any longer. I was mainly giving it to him as a way to get the Omega-3's into him in a food form. I think that is such a better way to go when we can get our vitamins from our food. I really want him to have the Omega-3's though, so now I'm scratching my head trying to figure out what to do. Those fish pills taste like fish pills and I don't like the idea of putting them into his food. :roll: So, his is not getting as much to eat because the one sardine a day is now missing from his routine.

He is getting a different type of treat after his pokes now, it's the Origen Tundra treat for cats. It has 0% carbs and no sugar. Pure protein. He LOVES them. :-D I think he'd jump through a hoop to have one. I only give him one per poke and they are tiny, tiny, tiny. They are in the shape of about a 1/2 inch fish.
http://www.orijen.ca/blog/products/cat- ... cat-treat/

I started him on the flucanazole on Saturday night for the ring worm. It's in a 50mg pill. It will also kill yeast types of bacteria as well as fungi in the gut so that's good. Maybe yeast in his gut is what kept making him burp. I'll have to hang around after he eats a meal and see if he is still burping.
http://www.petmd.com/pet-medication/fluconazole

Thanks for sticking with Rocky and me. I am right now physically and emotionally drained. I have been driving back and forth one hour each way from my house delivering my foster cats and kittens to PetSmart and Petco in Folsom. It's so much energy to deal with the public and adoptions, not to mention the politics of rescue work. In addition, I have to clean out all of the kennels, empty litter boxes, clean food and water, etc, before my kitties go into those store kennels. Then there is the business of making sure everyone has their health records and cage cards. I have 11 cats up for adoption right now. I think I've said it before but I feel like I am missing half of my heart. I have cried so much that I become dehydrated. It's hard when you have them in your care, you are taming them, nurturing them, for 6 months or longer. I have to take one more kitty up there today.. another long drive, more tears..

Then, I rush back home and feed the other 20 cats in my house. Half of these guys in the main part of my house and the others that will be going up for adoption are still in 'taming training' and in the cat room. After I'm finished feeding inside of my house, I load up the car with kibble and canned food and go feed 4 colonies. That's another two hours with driving in a circle around Elk Grove. I get home and clean about 10 litter boxes, dump cruddy water, wash bowels and new clean water. Pull any gross and dirty towels and blankets from the room and supply them with new ones. Somewhere in-between all of this I am taking Rocky's bg and then recording it on the computer, talking to you here. I'm a one-man-band and today it feels like the wheels are about to fall off of this wagon.

As for getting Rocky some exercise, sadly I don't have the time to do it right now. I agree, it would probably help him. I feel bad about it. He does have the bathroom space if he wanted to run around and get frisky. There are toys in there for him too. He is usually just sleeping on the top of a 3x3x2 ft cage when I go into the room. I have a very cushy dog bed on it with blankets and towels for him. The door to the cage is open and the inside is padded with blankets and towels so when he feels like nesting, he can do that too.

I would probably bring him into my office and shut the door and let him sniff around when I'm in here, but because he still has that ring worm SO BAD I cannot take a chance that all of the other cats in my household might get it. When things slow down for me this week I will see if my friend who surrendered him to me can come and visit him and play with him.

His bg did come down to 301 at +3.. that was a minor improvement. I feel like celebrating that.. LOL.. But then after the pokey pokey I fed him his 2nd meal, so his bg is probably on it's way back up now.
 
Blastomycosis- fungal flu

This is kind of interesting to me as a potential problem for Rocky considering that now he is showing signs of having a cold. When he was at my friend's house there was a period of time where he lived in her garage and he spent a lot of time on top of an old wood table that was once used in a lab where they researched diseases. She told me about that table. In addition, her garage in the summertime was over 100°F and she had an industrial sized fan blowing 24/7 in there which would have been swishing around microscopic spores of all kinds of dusty crap.

I think I told you that when Rocky first presented with DKA that his ears were so dirty that they could not see either of his ear drums. He HAD a terrible ear infection, but that is all cleared up now. I would not doubt it if he also has right now some type of fungal lung infection as well.

I hope that this medicine, fluconazole, helps his body to heal. It treats this condition, which I think Rocky might have, although he has not been diagnosed with it. The ring worm on the skin was just like the last straw (symptom) of his presenting with the disease, IMO:

http://www.cdc.gov/fungal/blastomycosis/
 
Re: 1/26 Rocky AMPS 334 +3 301 +6 293 +10 379

Tina

I feel for you because I've done rescue work and volunteered in a no-kill cat shelter for 12 years. I cannot imagine doing what you're doing by yourself.

We aren't trying to add to your burden; just trying to keep Rocky safe and I know that is also your goal.

I use [img=http://www.omega-direct.com/prod_omega3petliquid.html]Nordic Naturals Omega 3 for Pets[/img]. I buy the smallest one and it lasts quite a long time. It tells you exactly how much to give and the dropper is marked. I just put it on their plates as a treat and they love it and lick it up.

I hope to see Rocky showing some improvement tonight....come on Rocky. He can't feel good with the sniffles and ringworm. Poor boy.....
 
Re: 1/26 Rocky AMPS 334 +3 301 +6 293 +10 379

Wow....I don't think I've visited you guys, but you are absolutely amazing. What lucky, lucky kitties to be under your watch. Sending tons of healing prayers for sweet little Rocky's ringworm.
 
Re: 1/26 Rocky AMPS 334 +3 301 +6 293 +10 379

Wow, I can't even imagine how emotionally draining that must be. Bless you for doing such a thing for all those kitties!

I'm sending healing and feel better vines to Rocky. I was thinking of buying those Orijen treats, I'm glad to hear that he likes them! It looks like they have quite a few flavors and I found them online for sale a few weeks ago, I just wanted to check local stores before I ordered ;-) I hope you are having a good evening :smile:
 
Re: 1/26 Rocky AMPS 334 +3 301 +6 293 +10 379

it sounds draining. you do a good thing for these kitters, but it's an enormous job. One of my friends did cat rescue for a while, putting the cats in Petco and taking care of them at the store every day. After acquiring 8 cats of her own, she withdrew from the group. there seems to be an endless supply of cats out there and not enough homes for them.

ok, back to rocky. of course we'll stick with you. I have a feeling that you're tired and maybe don't have time to read carefully, and we post volumes of information to educate you as well as giving advice, and it probably gets confusing. i know you are doing your best with him. we're trying too! I'll put questions/important comments in bold/color so they don't get lost amidst the text.

thanks for all of that info on him. i don't know the cause of his high numbers, but this seems like something changed around 1/17. it is significantly different since then than before. the question is what is going on to raise his BGs? if we can figure that out, then we can deal with it.

Can you think of anything that changed around Jan 17th that could be affecting his BGs?

Some things that can do it - any infection (dental infections are relatively common), pain, pancreatitis, eating food scavenged that contains carbs . . . medicines or supplements with sugar . . . i'm drawing a blank on what else. i do wonder about this fungal infection, although Sienne said she didn't think it raised Gabby's blood glucose when she had ringworm. and you're also seeing signs of an upper respiratory something.

is he still meatloafing? is he acting sick? how long did the vet suggest it would be before the antifungal would be effective in his body, ie, before the fungus might be dying?
 
Re: 1/26 Rocky PMPS 397

i see his ss tonight - with 4 cycles of 1.5u and the lowest nadir being 293, you can increase his dose tomorrow morning (Monday) by 0.5u.

from Tilly Diabetes
However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU.

Great job on getting all those tests in.
 
Hi,


Can you think of anything that changed around Jan 17th that could be affecting his BGs?
The only thing that jumps out at me is that we lowered his dose to .75u based on his nadirs, I think, and THEN I was 1/2 hour late giving the shot that night. I then did not move the shot 1/2 hr forward on the next morning. I gave it at the usual time.

is he still meatloafing? is he acting sick? how long did the vet suggest it would be before the antifungal would be effective in his body, ie, before the fungus might be dying?
I didn't think to ask the vet how long it might be before I notice a change for the better in Rocky's skin condition. However, she wants him on it for 4 weeks, so, that sort of tells me that maybe it takes awhile for the medicine to kill the fungus? I know when they give that stuff to people with bad toe nails that they are on it for about 4 months, not 4 weeks. So who knows, he may need to be on it for even longer. I am suppose to bring him in though after 4 weeks to have his liver checked.

After eating he does still sit in that meatloaf position, his body raised a little bit up off of the ground, for a little while. He eventually settles in and is sleeping curled like a normal cat. I suspect the food is somehow immediately irritating his stomach. He didn't burp tonight after eating, so I think that is a good sign but it could also just be a fluke.

I use Nordic Naturals Omega 3 for Pets. I buy the smallest one and it lasts quite a long time. It tells you exactly how much to give and the dropper is marked. I just put it on their plates as a treat and they love it and lick it up.
Maybe I can try this as a poke treat for Rocky, along with his Origen Tundra treats. :-)

Rachael, I got the Oriigen Tundra treat flavor because there is a cat who lives inside of one of the expensive pet food stores here, and the clerks told me they found him eating the treats out of bowl as if it was his regular food. I thought if he liked that flavor so much, maybe Rocky would like it too. He did!! Hooray!!

I've had a migraine headache all day long and got very sick. I'm going to bed right now so won't be able to get any more numbers for Rocky until tomorrow morning. I think it will be OK. Both Rocky and I probably need a good nights sleep. I-)

If it's all right, I will want to hold his dose at 1.5u instead of increasing to 2.0u tomorrow
because I must go to the pet store in Folsom again and I won't be home to monitor him. I would consider raising it tomorrow night, if I think I can stay awake long enough to see how his body will respond to it. I could then raise it to 2.0u on Tuesday morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top