Raymomd James, 2/6 PMPS 210, AMPS, 192

Lee cuzz

Member Since 2020
I've cut down on cabogoline and levemir, like the low numbers, but don't want to overdose!!!
Like playing Russian roulette. I know, sounds neurotic....
 
What change did you make to the cabergoline?

Welcome to the fun of balancing cabergoline working and insulin dose lol it's a wild ride. I would actually keep the cabergoline where it's at, and instead reduce the dose as needed. Cabergoline is cheap (ish), 140U of Lev a day is not!

Then, once you hopefully stabilize on a dose, can consider cabergoline changes.
 
Reduced cabergoline to 30 mcg x1. Levemir to 30/20 units X2 since Raymond James is dropping drastically ....
Cabergoline is 30 pills for $118...
 
Where do you order from? Are you giving pills? I'm not quite sure how you'd do that...

My vet orders through his distributor, I pay something like $30 for 8 x 0.5mg (500mcg) pills. They compound it for me for another $5. So the cost is about the same.

Recommended dose is 10mcg/kg. He's about 5kg, so 50mcg, which is 1/10th of a pill ... assuming Raymond James is similar size that's about 2.5months of pills for $30....vs a pen of Levemir every other day.
 
Since you are reducing the Levemir so drastically, please make sure to get a ketones test each day. The nicer numbers you are getting now are due to the 70 unit depot. I suspect he needs less, but probably not half or less his previous dose. He is still in very safe numbers.
 
Back
Top