? Rate of speed in movement of BG?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Misterbeesmom

Member Since 2016
hi all

is there a set rate of speed for a healthy fall of BG? as in, if BG drops X amount within X amount of hours, is it too fast and possibly will initiate a bounce.

another way to ask is, is there a healthy hourly rate of descent (once insulin kicks in) until it hits the nadir. should it drop 20 pts an hour? 40? i'm talking human glucometer.

if it cannot be relied on as an hourly thing, then how many points total constitutes a healthy fall in BG? by the time you get to the nadir should it have dropped 100 pts? 50? obviously if kitty is going up and down by 300 points every run, that's excessive.
 
As we keep saying on here ECID - every cat is different. Some factors that can influence this: type of insulin; whether a dose is too high or too low; whether a kitty has had a recent near hypo (can leave them more insulin sensitive); idiosyncrasies of a given cat's responses. This list is long. Some cats are so predictable that you probably could write an algebraic equation to describe the response but most aren't and some are almost indecipherable (my guy being one!).

However - I have read that the ideal is to have AM and PM values that are close to each other and shootable and a nadir that's around 50% of the preshot numbers. If the insulin acts for around 12 hours per cycle and the nadir is mid-cycle, you could do a rough estimate of the desired rate of BG decline to nadir.
 
is there a set rate of speed for a healthy fall of BG? as in, if BG drops X amount within X amount of hours, is it too fast and possibly will initiate a bounce.
There used to be some info on this on the forum, but I don't know if it still exists here (I couldn't find it just now when I looked...).

Shortly after I joined the forum I found info that said that a fast blood glucose drop could trigger a bounce, and my recollection is that 'fast' meant a drop of around 90 - 100 (5 - 5.5mmol) or more per hour.
And my personal experience was that that was the case. So, if my cat's BG was dropping fast, I'd often try to slow that down with a low carb snack. But, as Kris says, 'ECID', so it may be that it takes a steeper drop than that to trigger a bounce in some kitties; or it may be that a bounce is only triggered if the blood glucose drops fast over a prolonged period in some kitties...

Eliz
 
Last edited:
There used to be some info on this on the forum, but I don't know if it still exists here (I couldn't find it just now when I looked...).

Shortly after I joined the forum I found info that said that a fast blood glucose drop could trigger a bounce, and my recollection is that 'fast' meant a drop of around 18 - 100 (5 - 5.5mmol) or more per hour.
And my personal experience was that that was the case. So, if my cat's BG was dropping fast, I'd often try to slow that down with a low carb snack. But, as Kris says, 'ECID', so it may be that it takes a steeper drop than that to trigger a bounce in some kitties; or it may be that a bounce is only triggered if the blood glucose drops fast over a prolonged period in some kitties...

Eliz
Can you please verify you said 18 - 100. Was the 18 a typo? Tnx
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top