Rapid dropping??

Teya and Tweety

Member Since 2024
***Update: I was unable to delete this post. From the time i wrote it until now which is 18 minutes, she went from a big drop to a big increase and is now 265. **** original message below and still curious.

PMPS 327

+1 280
+1.5 227
+2 290
+3 189
+4 125 scheduled snack time.
Gave extra low carb snack before 5+
+5 110

Hi, Tweety is already down to 227 and still going down every few minutes. It's only been 1 hour and 40 minutes from her shot and she's down 100 points.

I am a little worried.

We went to 1.25u this morning.

Is this normal???

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-hi-5-346-7-387-10-322-pmps-325-1-280.286713/
 
Last edited:
Was your last shot PM? You did not write anything in your SS after +7 AM, when is it now?
227 is still a very safe number.
I updated now - I did update the thread in the link. She went from 280-227 within 30 minutes and now just shot back up to 293. So, I was trying to delete this post but it would not let me. I guess I am still looking for advice on those rapid drops. Seems odd to me that within 30 minutes she would drop so much and then rocket back up.
 
He’s fine. Please update the spreadsheet and messsge box with pmps and +1 and +2.
I updated. I saw a steep drop and then steep climb all within the hour. I was/am looking for experience with that. If its normal etc. We just had a hypo one week ago. I am edgy/ worried.:(
 
Last edited:
When did he eat? Looks like the insulin kicked in at +1 and then a food bump. Did he have a symptomatic hypo or just low numbers? I would not call it a rapid drop tonight but you can slow him down by feeding some lc food.

I went back and read your condo from 2/9. Looks like he did not go hypo. He had low numbers but was safe.my cat hit the low 30’s a few time but other than being very hungry was fine. We don’t want them to get that low of course but it can happen. We keep them safe if that happens with hc. The Libre sometimes gives very low numbers when an ear prick shows otherwise.
 
Last edited:
When did he eat? Looks like the insulin kicked in at +1 and then a food bump. Did he have a symptomatic hypo or just low numbers? I would not call it a rapid drop tonight but you can slow him down by feeding some lc food.

I went back and read your condo from 2/9. Looks like he did not go hypo. He had low numbers but was safe.my cat hit the low 30’s a few time but other than being very hungry was fine. We don’t want them to get that low of course but it can happen. We keep them safe if that happens with hc. The Libre sometimes gives very low numbers when an ear prick shows otherwise.
She ate dinner and got the shot at 5:45, so 3 hours ago. Now she's due for her evening snack so that might help.

I thought hypo events were when rapid dropping to 60 and below? Plus we had decreased her insulin that night after that happened.

Oh well. I'm still learning and it makes me feel so all over the place. I guess I've gotta get used to seeing low numbers and trying not to panic. She definitely had a real scary event 1/26 the one 2/9 was not nearly as bad as January when it took a long time to get her back up safe.

The Libre definitely can be an issue if I'm looking too often as well. I'll try to be here at that.

All I know is she's dropped quickly this evening and it makes me worry about continuing to drop.

I thought hypo is dangerous and emergency. Maybe it's not as much as I think.
 
You don't have to delete, it's interesting for everybody and understandable that you get stressed.
Also, remember that the meter has around 20% variance, so there is not much difference between 320 and 280, if you look at it. It's great that you have the Libre, so you can check her frequently :bighug:
Thank you. I really feel out of sorts posting at times, but I'm still learning. Thx for bearing with me!!
 
There’s a difference between a symptomatic hypo and low numbers without symptoms. I know it’s scary to see lower numbers but meters aren’t always accurate and can be off by 20% as mentioned by Cecile. The Libre is known for reading low which is why we always suggest checking lows with an ear prick if possible. Normal bg for a non diabetic cat is between 50-100 and many even hit 40.. since you are following SLGS reductions are if under 90. With TR it’s under 50. Right now lower than usual bg will of course be scary for you but I promise soon you will want to see 90-150. Keep posting and asking questions.

You might want to bookmark the handling low numbers sticky. I printed it out and read it over and over when Max first went into lower bg. Cats often go lower at night than during the day and sometimes nobody was around at 1 or 2 a.m. when Max decided to have a pj party!
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/
 
Here’s an example of a tightly regulated cat. I’m showing this to you so you not because we want your cat in these numbers since you are following SLGS but rather so you can see 50’s are safe as long as you monitor and feed. You will want to feed snacks to prevent bg getting lower than 90. With TR we take action to prevent drops under 50 for newly diagnosed and 40 if over a year diabetic.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...5-3-64-7-70-9-79-pmps-85.286739/#post-3153379

Does this help with your anxiety I’m hoping?
 
Hi Elise
@tiffmaxee
On @Teya and Tweety SS she has switched to TR wrote this in her remarks section
*** STARTING TR from SLGS -- Bumped to 1.25 u this morning ** IN the PMPS +2 she went down to 227 and then to 290 all within a short window.
I'm going to ask her to add that on her signature and draw a line above the date she switched to TR and highlight it

@Teya and Tweety
Hi Teya since you switched to TR today (2-16) you need to add that to your signature so members know
Tap on your name up too then tap on signature and after you have SLGS can you add after that/TR as of 2-16
Also on your spreadsheet all the way up top where you have

Dosing Method (TR): Lantus Glargine delete Lantus Glargine since you have it already where it says insulin and just leave TR as of 2-16 then tap save.
If possible can you put a blank line above the date 2-16 and type TR NOW and highlight it
 
Last edited:
I guess she wasn't aware that she had to note that. Anyone would assume that she was following SLGS :bighug::cat:
Hopefully I got it now.
I could not add text above 2/16 alter TR on the SS but created a space so hopefully people will look.

No, I didn't realize I needed to change all of that in my SS and signature.

Thanks for letting me know.
 
Here’s an example of a tightly regulated cat. I’m showing this to you so you not because we want your cat in these numbers since you are following SLGS but rather so you can see 50’s are safe as long as you monitor and feed. You will want to feed snacks to prevent bg getting lower than 90. With TR we take action to prevent drops under 50 for newly diagnosed and 40 if over a year diabetic.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...5-3-64-7-70-9-79-pmps-85.286739/#post-3153379

Does this help with your anxiety I’m hoping?
I just switched to TR this morning. But thank you. Right now I'm not sure if I like it as she's getting lower and it's only been 4 hours since her shot and she ate a full meal and a snack. So I'm going to be awake for a while as she's at 120.
 
Remember she will most likely reach nadir around +6 -7 and then head up or surf. You are used to seeing higher numbers. I get it. This is actually a beautiful cycle, especially since you switched to TR. Trust me while scary at first green becomes addictive and you will be upset with high 100’s. It’s natural to be fearful right now but long periods in pink or higher will drive you nuts soon. I promise.
 
Yes, iPet Pro glucometer which I'll use of she gets too low.
@Teya and Tweety
Just a suggestion since the Libre is actually a human meter why not buy a hand held human , it might get confusing if you need to test with the i iPetPro meter since those BG numbers will be different
Those strips look very expensive
Most of us use The Relion Human meters from Walmart

Here is the link for the meter and test strips so you don't have to search for them
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197
At least if you need more test strips you can run into Walmart and pick them up or if you're running low you can just order them from Walmart
@Teya and Tweety
 
Last edited:
The Libre was not around when Max was diagnosed and I’m glad. I think it gives too much info and because it’s always on you see much more fluctuation. I think it would have made me anxious as well. For the first couple months I did not test because I was afraid Max would always hide. I was going to my vet a few times a week for a nadir check. Once I saw how Max did not mind testing I became a testaholic but not nearly as much as what a Libre does.
 
Yes, you will soon think that 120 is high and want greens all the time.
You can actually merge the cells and then write, on your SS. But it’s clear you’re doing TR now.
You are very close, I am in St Louis Park :)
Oh awesome!! :) I am in that area often - and in the Hopkins/Shady Oak area.
Yes today started low and somehow she is up over 300. :( So maddening. I don't get it and maybe I just don't need to yet. It will come and until then I will just keep coming here and asking questions.
 
The Libre was not around when Max was diagnosed and I’m glad. I think it gives too much info and because it’s always on you see much more fluctuation. I think it would have made me anxious as well. For the first couple months I did not test because I was afraid Max would always hide. I was going to my vet a few times a week for a nadir check. Once I saw how Max did not mind testing I became a testaholic but not nearly as much as what a Libre does.
Yes it makes sense... Staci uses one and I have reached out to her as she is much more advanced in understanding these things. I love it though. I was able to go run errands and even meet a friend without frantically rushing home to check on her cause I could see her numbers real-time from where I was at. It helps a lot since I have started a new job which will have me gone Thurs-Sun from 12-5 starting next week. I worked from home for the last 6 years and this is a big change. Esp since Tweety was just diagnoed 6 months ago almost to the date! I have learned a lot though. Now when the Libre reads low the FIRST thing I am doing is grabbing her iPet glucometer to test. Although I was just seeing I should go get another one. I think it just hit me why: so they are both human monitors and will be closer in range. Dang. More stuff to go get!! :) She is worth it. You are lucky your guy lets you test... I need my hubby to HOLD Tweety. It is not horrible but it is not easy either.
 
@Teya and Tweety
Just a suggestion since the Libre is actually a human meter why not buy a hand held human , it might get confusing if you need to test with the i iPetPro meter since those BG numbers will be different
Those strips look very expensive
Most of us use The Relion Human meters from Walmart

Here is the link for the meter and test strips so you don't have to search for them
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197
At least if you need more test strips you can run into Walmart and pick them up or if you're running low you can just order them from Walmart
@Teya and Tweety


AH HA. Now I see this and I also "get" why now. So the numbers will likely be more "close" than if it were a pet monitor?! Ugh. Are they really that different? I am guessing I should just go get that thing today and call it a day despite the fact I just bought a bunch of new supplies for her meter. A bunch... I forgot I got lancets as well. I am hearing differing opinions on this though... that it does not matter. I do not love the Ipet though as sometimes it does not read and just says LO or HI.
 
I just switched to TR this morning. But thank you. Right now I'm not sure if I like it as she's getting lower and it's only been 4 hours since her shot and she ate a full meal and a snack. So I'm going to be awake for a while as she's at 120.
OH MY GOSH... ok last night I was on my phone and unable to do as much. Now that I see this SS from the kitty you sent it is crazy to me. 1. The amount of units the small fry needs and 2. How overall great it looks in all that green. 3. How did she get letters in there and a chicken symbol LOL!? -- Just realized I can use numbers or letters on my computer in the SS but not from my phone weird. Yes This is helpful big time to see the numbers of her little one. I need to bookmark it. It really does helps my anxiety in seeing all that green and blue he barely fluctuates! ... :)
 
Last edited:
Hi all - I am sorry if I missed messages. I was working off my phone and all of you were SO KIND to reply and help out. I am going through now to check and see what I missed. So far... plenty. ;)
 
Start a new condo for today. It gets busy on this forum so we start a new condo each day we post and follow the format in the how to post sticky. If answering from the previous day start doing that in your new condo from now on. Looking at other spreadsheets helped me a lot. :bighug:
 
Start a new condo for today. It gets busy on this forum so we start a new condo each day we post and follow the format in the how to post sticky. If answering from the previous day start doing that in your new condo from now on. Looking at other spreadsheets helped me a lot. :bighug:
Ohhh I did not realize that is how you are supposed to do it.

So... I start Tweetys new day with AMPS and then just @ people from previous day to answer things?
 
Back
Top