Ramone 05/07 AMPS 306 - no change on new dose.

Jerica&ramone

Member Since 2019
So I've increased Ramone's dose a couple days ago and only seeing pinks... where as before I'd see a couple yellows and the odd blue with the lower doses...

Is it possible he's getting too much insulin ? at 6 units he was getting quite a few yellows....

I know its probably not likely but my mind is going through everything.

Because can't too high of a dose give bad #'s too ?

I just wonder if there is a chance I'm giving him too much ??

Can you do a reset ?? Starting with a lower dose maybe not 1 unit but go down to 4 or 5 units again to see ? or is this not recommended ?
 
It can take some cats five or six cycles to show what a new dose can do. Be patient.

The too much looks like too little is an old story I wish would go away. If Ramone had been started on too high a dose, you weren’t testing to see how low the dose is taking him, you were taking too large an increase, then it might be an issue. But that is not true in your case. I have seen more cases of cats getting sick, showing ketones and even DKA from people following bad advice to “reset”, than I have of cats in the dose too high situation, and not if they are following our dosing methods.. Ramone has some sort of insulin resistance going on. The hallmark of insulin resistance is that dose requirements can change over time, sometimes relatively quickly. If Ramone doesn’t see blue by the end of six cycles, it’s time to increase.
 
Last edited:
It can take some cats five or six cycles to show what a new dose can do. Be patient.

The too much looks like too little is an old story I wish would go away. If Ramone had been started on too high a dose, you weren’t testing to see how low the dose is taking him, you were taking too large an increase, then it might be an issue. But that is not true in your case. I shave seen more cases of cats getting sick, showing ketones and even DKA from people following bad advice to “reset”, than I have of cats in the dose too high situation, and not if they are following our dosing methods.. Ramone has some sort of insulin resistance going on. The hallmark of insulin resistance is that dose requirements can change over time, sometimes relatively quickly. If Ramone doesn’t see blue by the end of six cycles, it’s time to increase.


Thank you Wendy. I needed to hear this.

I'll be checking him every 3 hours today to see how he's doing.

So after tonight if no blues - up to 8.0 for tomorrow.
Booking Ramone in for next weekend for his tests.
 
Back
Top