? Rambo's PMPS is 104, skipping insulin tonight but what about tomorrow morning?

Karrie Molitor

Member Since 2021
He has been testing high on 1.5 units. I have been doing a curve the last couple of days to try and get an accurate picture of what his levels are. I upped his insulin dose yesterday evening to 2 units but now it seems like his levels are getting too low. Tonight for his PMPS he tested at 104 so I am skipping his insulin tonight. However, what do I give him tomorrow for a dosage? Do I give him 1.75 units instead? What would you do?
 
Here is your last post for continuity.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-potential-dosage-change.254134/#post-2865431

With SLGS you need to either do a 12 hour curve testing every two hours for 12 hours or every 3 hours for 18 hours e dry 7 days. Spot checks mid cycle are suggested in between the curve and that includes at night when cats often go lower. That’s because lantus is dosed based upon how low it takes the cat. You only have half of the picture. I suspect the black amps you saw was because the night before he likely went lower. I would not have increased by .50 with on'y half of the picture

I suggest you shoot 1.75 in the morning and try and get some extra tests in, especially at night.
 
Back
Top