Wulfwin
Member
Rain took us on a rollercoaster today! Her AMPS was 211 so I gave her a drop of insulin when I ran home on an early lunch break from work. When my mom checked her at at +4.5, she was at 44! Still being at work, I talked my mom through giving her honey, food, and testing until her numbers were back up she was safely past her nadir. She had a big BG spike because I purposely told my mom to give her way more honey than I would have if I'd been home since my mom has never given a cat anything orally and I wanted to err way on the side of caution (it had already taken me several minutes to convince my mom that I didn't care if she thought the meter must not be working right, she needed to treat it as if that 44 was absolutely correct!). Thankfully my mom and Rain were troopers and got her safely through the low numbers.
I'm going to skip tonight's dose (there's no way I'll be able to stay awake to monitor her tonight, and I don't think she should have a dose after a drop like that this morning, right?) and tomorrow morning's dose (I have to work again tomorrow, and I think Rain, my mom, and I all need a break after today's adventure). I'm wondering if I should give her a few days without insulin to see how she does since I can't really reduce the dose she's on any further (she's one 1 drop) - does that make sense?
I'm going to skip tonight's dose (there's no way I'll be able to stay awake to monitor her tonight, and I don't think she should have a dose after a drop like that this morning, right?) and tomorrow morning's dose (I have to work again tomorrow, and I think Rain, my mom, and I all need a break after today's adventure). I'm wondering if I should give her a few days without insulin to see how she does since I can't really reduce the dose she's on any further (she's one 1 drop) - does that make sense?