Rags 7/09/13

Status
Not open for further replies.

YoHon

Member Since 2013
I cannot get on line to do my spread sheet. Cannot do it at work, am being monitored.
This a.m. Rags was "HI". Which really upsets me !!! At 1:33 p.m he was 299.
I am goingto put him back on twice a day shots. 2 units for now, I really want him on 2.5 units, but can't start it until I can be with him for the first two days. Which won't be until the weekend.
I''ve never said I wouldn't test Rags four times a day !! I have tested him more than four times a day. I just don't like to test him every two hours every day !!!
I really need to know how much I can feed him and besides twice a day when can he have more food ?? He is 13 lbs.

Thank you, Becki & Rags
 
Hi Becki. I just posted a "how are you and Rags today?" on your condo in Health.

I think coming down from HI to 299 is pretty significant. It sounds like Rags is a bouncer, like J.D.

Yesterday, you posted his low numbers, and those are some pretty good numbers. When was the last one?
YoHon said:
His low numbers have been : 55, 60,68,76,77,80, 84,85. they were when he was on 2 units twice a day.
I think if you need to do a dose increase, it would be best if you only increase by 0.25 units at a time.


You can feed him three times in the morning and three times at night like I do, or you can free feed. You can feed more frequently or less frequently. It's just easier on the pancreas if you feed smaller meals more times per day.

Is this Rags in your old avatar?
file.php
 
Dyana, his 5:30p.m was 208. I had given him 5 pieces of f/d chicken after I took his 1:30 #.
He just ate 1 1/2 cans of fancy feast and I have2 units ready to give him. Yes, he is a BOUNCER !!!
How many cans of ff can he have in a day ??? Tonite I only put a small amount of water in it and he is actually full. Go figure !!!
So you think I should not give him the 2 units ???
Yes that is Rags.I don't know how to put it back on.
 
Hi Becki thanks for updating us on Rags. I was wondering how he was doing. I hope you are able to get his numbers more regulated soon. Hope you are well Becki.


Jamie
 
Jamie, how are you and your baby doing???
I don't think I'm ever going to get my boy regulated !! He is bouncing all over the place with any amount of units that I give him !!!!
My neq Vet REALLY let me down !!! I can't ever seem to get answers from anyone and I don't know what to do !! The one that is really suffering is my boy, and I feel so sorry for him !!! He has been sooooo good thru all of this. When I tell him it's time, he gets right up on his window seat
None of my other kids would do that.
I just feel so helpless, I can't get anything right for him and I don't know who to go to that will help us.

Thanks ,
Becki & Rags
 
Hi and welcome to LL! Here's the link to your Health Condo. You are right lantus doesn't work well w/ once a day dosing, you lose all the carry over and the shed constantly needs refilling so you don't get the full effect of the dose.

So, right now you are on 2 units once a day? And you are planning on going back to twice a day shooting? It would be doubling his dose to shoot 2u twice a day. If you are changing the frequency of shots you need do shoot less not more. Or did I misunderstand what you have been shooting?

Even the most obsessive of us don't test every 2 hours every day, only occasionally when we are doing a curve.

As for how much to feed it depends on the food and the cat. You said he weighs 13 pounds. Is that a good weight for him, or does he need to loose or gain weight? Also how active is he? Most cats need 20 to 30 calories a day per pound of body weight, depending on how active they are. Most of the classic pate FF are 80 to 90 calories a can. So, 260 to 390 calories a day for 13 pounds, anywhere between 3 and 5 cans a day of FF depending on the food and how active Rags is. You can find the calories per can on Dr Lisa's List.

Hang in there, you and Rags are going to do great.
 
Re: Rags 7/09/13, 7/09/13

Ann, I just read your post from last night. I don't have internet anymore, so I had to use a phone last night.
Rags was on 2 units a day for 22 days. On July 03, the Vets assoc. told me to put him on 2 units once a day. She said it sounded like he was a once a day boy and she would call me Saturday and we would discs it. She didn 't tell me how to feed him since dosing changef. I called the next day and the girl ans. the phone said feeding doesn't matter. I told her it did. Well, the Vet never called me on Sat. I called today and no one has retuened my call.Last nigjt I started my boy on his second dose at night and stayed up and stayed up and took his +4 & +8. +4- 66, +8-170, PMPS was HI. I didn't want him to hypo at +4, so I stupidly fedhim a half a can of food. I gave him the second shot cause I didn't want him to be Hi in the a.m . and he was anyhow.+5 today 458, +8- 415. He gets fed at 5:30 and shot at 6:00 p.m. I gavehim his 2 units this a.m.
I am a mess, I just do not know what to do. I only feed him three cans of ff a day, and he is starving all the time.
When he was dx. he was16 lbs. He is now 13lbs. He is a big boy. Should I be feeding him more than twice a day and more than three cans ????
HELP !!!!!
THANK YOU,
Becki & Rags
 
How about taking him up to 4 cans? And splitting the dose to 1 unit twice a day.
1 can with each shot am and pm
1 can about +3 after each shot, am and pm.
 
I'm not a dosing expert but if you gave 2 units once a day and then change to twice a day you are doubling his insulin per day. Usually we only increase insulin in .25 unit increments, this would amount to a 2 unit increase. He went quite low last night and what you are seeing today is a bounce. His body is not used to normal numbers and "panics" dumping glucagon and counter regulatory hormones to get back to "normal."

Please add "new, dosing advice" to the subject line of your first post to get some expert eyes on your condo.


Most of us feed several smaller meals a day instead of 2 large ones. It is easier on the pancreas to spread the load out, this is also what human diabetics do. If you think 13 pounds is good then as i said last night 260 to 390 calories a day would be goo, it depends on how active Rags is. You need to know the specific foods you are giving to know how many calories per can.
Fancy Feast Classic Pate ….…..…Protein …… Fat …… Carbs …… Phos ……Cal per 3 oz can
Chopped Grill Feast …………………39 …………57 …………4 …………569 …………91
Cod/Sole/Shrimp Feast …………..…69 …………27 …………4 …………787 …………83
Chicken Feast ………………….………46 …………51 …………4 …………546 …………91
Salmon & Shrimp Feast ………..……51 …………44 …………5 …………550 …………89
Seafood Feast …………………….……60 …………37 …………3 …………714 …………87
Ocean Whitefsh & Tuna Feast ..……69 …………27 …………4 …………823 …………82
Savory Salmon Feast …………………38 …………61 …………1 …………369 …………97
 
Is it o.k.to start 1 unit twice a day and feed him four cans off classic beef tomorrow ???
He has already had his dinner and 2 units. ????
I have to work tomorrow. I have to be there by 9:00 a.m I work til 1:00 p.m.
His glucose won't go up with an extra can of food and less insulin ???
Please advise and Thank you so much for getting back to me !!! Oh and Rags is not active at all. He sleeps all day or goes out if his numbers are high enough. He just lays outside too. He just started the once a day on 7/03/13 before that he was on 2 units twice a day for 22 days. So he had the once a day dose for five days only.
Becki & Rags.
 
I think starting the 1 unit twice per day would be a good idea.

His glucose may or may not go up with the extra can of food, but I think the insulin amount is going to stay the same, it's just spread out more throughout the day...meaning instead of 2 units every 24 hours, he will be getting 1 unit every 12 hours, which still equals 2 units total in one day. I think feeding him extra if fine. If he is hungry, feed him, as long as he is not too fat. And splitting up his meals in to smaller meals fed several time throughout the day would help his pancreas because it would be less load on how hard it has to work.
 
Dyana, Rags doesn,t do real good on 1 unit twice a day. He runs high 300 - hi 500's. Actuallu 10 in the 300's, 8 in the 400's, 3 in the 500's and 3 in the 200's. testing him at lrast four times a day. Well, now that I,m looking at his ss when he took 2 units twice a day hehad alot of highs. alot in the 400's. So o.k. what have I got to lose. I'll start him on1 unit tomorrow twice a day. What if he is "HI" in the a.m. I won't be home til 1:30. I must be honest,I want to give him an extra can, but I,m afraid. He was getting three and a half cans aday and Icut him back to three cans to see if he would do.better. See, I've had no guidance. Today my Vet had her tech return my call cause she was too busy. I was told to put him back on two units twice a day and only feed him twice. She has no idea whst is going on with him cause she won't read the ss I fax her.
Waiting for your reply,
Becki & Rags
 
Becki,

I've taken the information you have in your condo here and updated your SS.

You can either post more numbers directly here in your Lantus TR condos, or PM me with them or call me. It might be quicker to do this over the phone, to catch up on Rags history and make sure what I have entered in your SS is correct. I'm available to help you this evening or PM me to set another time.

If you could have them in our + hour format that would help. Here is an example.

7/1 AMPS xxx 2U +6 xxx PMPS xxx 0U xxx +3 xxx
7/2 AMPS xxx 2u PMPS xxx 0U

Also, please read my response to your PM. Need one more bit of info from you to link the SS into your signature.

I'm happy to help you with getting your SS updated.
 
Deb, thank you. I'll call tonite at 7:00 p.m All my numbers are on my home made spread sheet.So they all have + 7, +8, etc. How dare you question me on that !!!!! lol only kidding, YOU should know that by now. Silly girl !!!
My boy is not feeling good today. I can't get him out of the "HI's and 400's.
The Vet finally called me last night at 10:15 p.m. After I called her office crying and telling them I love my boy and want him better. I' ll call, we'll talk

Becki
 
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I had no doubt you knew the right format for those numbers. I was talking about maybe writing them out on a separate slip of paper. That way, you can read them out to me on the phone tonight, probably faster than I can type them in! ;-) You'll probably make me so :dizcat I'll want to fall over like that poor little dizzy cat. ohmygod_smile

I'll be by my phone at 7 PM tonight, waiting for your call. I'll even close the door to that room so the cats can't walk all over my keyboard and change the SS as I type.

Did you check your PM'S? I need that bit of information so I can get the SS into your signature. If you did not get to it by the time you left work, that's ok. You can tell me over the phone.

Sorry to hear that Rags is still in those HI numbers. We'll see what we can do after I get your SS updated. We'll ask a few more people to come take a look see, once the SS is up and running.
 
Deb, I thought I just posted today's date and all his numbers along with a post. It's gone.
Tell me how to put the info. in my signature, and why is Rags in yours ?!?
I'll call tonite. He is not acting right. I can tell he doesn't feel good. I think I may take him to the Vet tomorrow. I'm afraid to give him 2 cans of food tonite. His numbers just will not come down from the high 400's and I'm afraid he will get really "Hi" by morning.
Becki
 
Rags SS is in my signature for now. When you lost your internet service, I told you I would be doing this for a while. It was so that when I posted for you, people would have Rags ss to look at.

Becki & Rags (male,age 10?, 11#)
Relion Prime & Lantus
Vineland, NJ
Fancy Feast Pates
Rag's SS


You can try and copy and paste the above info into your signature. Not sure the SS link is correct. ETA: I checked the SS is coming up just fine. We still need to add this info to your signature.

Go to user control panel, select the Profile tab, select Edit signature from left side menu, copy the above into the editing box. Submit to save the changes. Select yes on the next screen to do final save.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top