quick update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kitty mom

Member Since 2014
Just a quick update on Dash. 2unites of Lantus and no real change in numbers , still high 200's & low 300's
I have only been able to get his bg before shots as my hubby is in the ICU and I've only ran home to feed give him his insulin so no I can not get any more info on BG numbers
 
The pre-shot tests let you know if it safe to shoot.
The tests roughly halfway between shots (+5 to +7 hours post-shot) tell you if the dose is effective and safe.
Sounds like you're having a rough time with you husband's ilness. I hope everything goes Ok for you.
{{hugs}}
 
Vet called to check him actually...great timing. He said to increase to 21/2 unites for the next week and see what happens. He also thinks stree can be causing it to not go down as our world had been turned upside down.
 
Hi, @Kitty mom . I can't offer up any advice on the proper insulin dose for Dash, but I'm wondering if maybe a dose increase should be delayed until things around your house calm down a bit and you will be home to monitor and do more between-shot testing. In my opinion, those preshot numbers you mention aren't really all that bad. In the meantime, I'm sending hugs, prayers, and good wishes to you, DH, and Dash. Best wishes to all of you.
 
Hope your husband gets better soon! Sounds like stress may well be playing a part in Dash's BG. Sending prayers and healing vines for all.
(((Hugs)))

Lucy :bighug:
 
Thanks for the well wishes. Unfortunately things don't look to good for my hubby , he will have a brain biopsy on Tuesday and we're praying it's not cancer.
As for dasher he seems to be holding between the high 200's and low 300's on the 2 1/2 unites of Lantus. I did get a 5 1/2 hour bg test and he was at 283.
At this time I can only do what I can do , I did miss one morning shot but it didn't seem to have a real impact . I did spend 5 hours at home today with my cats and they were pretty happy with that. They are not alone as our son still lives at home .
Once again thanks for the well wishes for hubby.
 
{{hugs}}
Hang in there.
And if you need any research done, please pm me and I'll ask my cancer registrar friends or look up stuff for you.
 
Poor thing. It's been my experience that when I'm stressed, my cats tend to be stressed as well and it shows in Diego's BG tests on those days. Maybe you don't really need to increase his dose but wait to see how things go once the family has settled down some? I'd at least hold off until you are home and can monitor him for untoward reactions.
 
I agree that when I gave my girlfriend the insulin I tested then shot then with her it was every hour because she had stage 4 cancer and it was horrible keepin it normal.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top