? Quick question - should I decrease dose?

cici2024

Member Since 2024
Hi there we are new still with our diagnosis and starting insulin - just 4.5 days in. Our boy started on 1u, went low and then we adjusted to 0.5, he bounced and then stayed super high so increased eventually back to 1u, and now his pre-shot value (after eating - low carb wet food) is 198. I’m thinking based on the sticky info I read in this forum that I should just give him 0.5u (or less?) Looking for help. Thank you so much!
PS: Here is our spreadsheet. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1cdXFb2drKlN8uNXuvPEzZSxymeTMy02oC_iJHoBCUe8/edit
 
Hi there we are new still with our diagnosis and starting insulin - just 4.5 days in. Our boy started on 1u, went low and then we adjusted to 0.5, he bounced and then stayed super high so increased eventually back to 1u, and now his pre-shot value (after eating - low carb wet food) is 198. I’m thinking based on the sticky info I read in this forum that I should just give him 0.5u (or less?) Looking for help. Thank you so much!
PS: Here is our spreadsheet. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1cdXFb2drKlN8uNXuvPEzZSxymeTMy02oC_iJHoBCUe8/edit
@Bandit's Mom sorry to disturb you—not sure if you’ll see this no worries if you don’t! wondering if I should decrease Turkey’s dose and by how much.

I don’t know that anyone will be available to help on such short notice so if I don’t hear anything in the next 30min I will decrease to 0.5u and just will pray I did the right thing. This is so tricky. Was reading the sticky information but I’m still nervous about messing up what to do.
 
Sorry no one responded earlier! The higher numbers you saw yesterday and the day before were him "bouncing" from the lower numbers of the day before that his body was not used to. You don't want to change doses based on preshots or the highs from bouncing. Lantus dosing is based on how low a dose takes the cat - the nadirs. Since you've only just started Turkey on Lantus, the initial depot is still building - it takes 5-7 days to build.

If possible, you want to get at least one mid-cycle test. Preshots are not an indicator of how a cycle will play out. We've seen cats go from 500 to 50 and vice versa! :-)

I see that you gave less that 0.5U tonight? Were you able to get tests after? He might be clearing the bounce tonight, so you might get an active cycle.
 
When posting on the lantus board which is good that you did and should continue posting on it because their are more eyes on it for help
You would post like this
Date Turkey AMPS# then any other tests after that and you can continue with the PMPS #'s
To add the additional tests in your title tap on the word Thread Tools to the right , then tap on Edit title add your tests then tap save.
Try and post everyday and link your previous days post to the new post
Here is your previous days post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/gave-insulin-when-too-low.286852/#post-3154335

Have you read about the 2 dosing methods we use for lantus yet?
They will let you know when to increase or decrease
When you decide which one you want to follow can you please add it to your signature and your spreadsheet up top where it asks you
The more tests you can get the better, each day you can mix up the times when you test , especially at night since most cats drop lower at night
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
@cici2024
 
Last edited:
Sorry no one responded earlier! The higher numbers you saw yesterday and the day before were him "bouncing" from the lower numbers of the day before that his body was not used to. You don't want to change doses based on preshots or the highs from bouncing. Lantus dosing is based on how low a dose takes the cat - the nadirs. Since you've only just started Turkey on Lantus, the initial depot is still building - it takes 5-7 days to build.

If possible, you want to get at least one mid-cycle test. Preshots are not an indicator of how a cycle will play out. We've seen cats go from 500 to 50 and vice versa! :)

I see that you gave less that 0.5U tonight? Were you able to get tests after? He might be clearing the bounce tonight, so you might get an active cycle.
I wasn’t able to do more testing as we ran out of test strips and they’re so expensive. Just got some more but need to ration them. Will do a mid-cycle test also. He’s back up to 448. Only increased his dose when he was so high for prolonged period after consulting with a member. This is all so confusing I just read Diane’s reply about how I should post and I don’t even get that, and I feel dumb for being told to just follow the guidelines - I thought I followed the Lantus dosing sticky info in here to decrease if he’s less than 200 for his next shot; also didn’t realize there were two methods. I don’t know what to do anymore and it’s really overwhelming. I think I need to leave this board. Thank you so much for trying to help and for your kindness.
 
@cici2024
Please don't leave
I know it's overwhelming in the beginning ,but it will get better
Here is the SLGS method for lantus
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
This is all so confusing I just read Diane’s reply about how I should post and I don’t even get that, and I feel dumb for being told to just follow the guidelines
You aren't dumb at all. There is a particular nomenclature we follow just to make it easy for you to get help, but you can take your time figuring it out. Just post how you want to for now.


I don’t know what to do anymore and it’s really overwhelming. I think I need to leave this board. Thank you so much for trying to help and for your kindness.
Yes, a diabetes DX is very very overwhelming and you are doing a great job taking care of Turkey. Please do not leave the Board. We will help you navigate both the Board and Turkey's diabetes at your own pace.

I thought I followed the Lantus dosing sticky info in here to decrease if he’s less than 200 for his next shot;
Yes, for cats new to insulin you have the option to skip insulin or give a one-time reduced dose if you get a preshot below 200. However, if he has a history of ketones, you don't want to skip insulin altogether. A reduced dose is better than no insulin.
 
This is all so confusing I just read Diane’s reply about how I should post and I don’t even get that
Sorry if I confused you , but do what Bhooma said post how you want to right now.
Here is what I was trying to explain when posting in the Lantus board if you are interested
I will give you an EXAMPLE ,this is just an EXAMPLE
I assume where you live your date is 2-25-2024 since I see your AMPS filled in. Where I live the date is 2-24

Here is the Example ONLY
2-25 Turkey AMPS-448 +2 420 +4 375 and so on ,you can then go back and add Turkey's PMPS # and continue with your other tests
I hope this helps you to understand it better
So please don't leave :bighug::bighug::bighug:
@cici2024
 
Last edited:
Back
Top