Quick question about dose and not eating

Status
Not open for further replies.

Evelyn2755

Member Since 2016
My baby didn't eat much today and this morning at peak her BG was at 387 mid day she was at 298 and now tonight at peak she's at 217 but doesn't want to eat I'm not sure if I should give her the 3/4 of a unit or drop it to 1/2 since she has not interest in food any advice??

why oh why must the kitty be so stubborn when it comes to food ?
 
Do you think she isn't eating because she doesn't like the food or she doesn't feel well? Has this happened before? Are you transitioning her to canned food? There's lots of tips here http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/suggestions-on-how-to-stimulate-kittys-appetite.130770/
My cat does this all the time so its a topic I'm very interested in - what I do is make sure the food bowl is raised about 2 inches off the ground, and offer him food every 20-30 minutes - also, if your cat is sleeping, put the food right by her nose and gently wake her up - frequently they start eating before they realize what they are doing I hope Sue or Rachel will chime with the dosing advice - Do you think she won't eat for the rest of this cycle?
 
Do you think she isn't eating because she doesn't like the food or she doesn't feel well? Has this happened before? Are you transitioning her to canned food? There's lots of tips here http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/suggestions-on-how-to-stimulate-kittys-appetite.130770/
My cat does this all the time so its a topic I'm very interested in - what I do is make sure the food bowl is raised about 2 inches off the ground, and offer him food every 20-30 minutes - also, if your cat is sleeping, put the food right by her nose and gently wake her up - frequently they start eating before they realize what they are doing I hope Sue or Rachel will chime with the dosing advice - Do you think she won't eat for the rest of this cycle?

This is completely normal for her even before she was diagnosed she's always been picky, and yes we've transitioned from a half dry half wet diet to a completely canned wet food diet. I have dry food for an emergency in case she completely refuses to eat but since we switched to can food she's been good about eating, but we still have instances like this where she snubs her nose at the food bowl and walks away. It could be anywhere from minutes to hours before she goes back to eat again.
 
Have you given insulin yet?

Yes I did I decided to give her 1/2 unit my vet told me if she's at 200 during peak to lower the dose to 1/2 since she was at 217 and didn't want to eat much I figured this was the best case scenario I'd much rather play it safe rather than giving her too much
 
I think that sounds good. You might get a before bed test just to be sure she is in safe numbers. Hope she starts to eat for you. Have you tried adding warm water to the food and make it like a gravy? Some cats really like that.
 
I should also mention that when we started the insulin at 1 unit she started dropping very quickly so the vet adjusted it to 1/2 but that wasn't enough so we went to 3/4 with the stipulation that I drop it to 1/2 if her BG is at 200 during peak.
 
I think that sounds good. You might get a before bed test just to be sure she is in safe numbers. Hope she starts to eat for you. Have you tried adding warm water to the food and make it like a gravy? Some cats really like that.

Yes I have she's just finicky eater and it's not that she won't eat she just doesn't want to be told when to eat if it's dry kibble though no questions asked she will eat it immediately.
 
Another idea might be to try Stella and Chewy's. It's a dried raw product that has a texture a little like dry but is low carb. Some people feed it exclusively and some just "dress" the wet.
 
Sorry I wasn't around! I may or may not have fallen asleep on the couch early...

Sorry to hear she won't eat. Did she ever take any food? My cats will only eat it when water has been added to make it kind of soupy. I've also found sometimes that they will eat it when I crumble up my freeze dried chicken treats on top of it.

On a side note, what is your sweet kitty's name? Sorry if you mentioned it before and I missed it!
 
Sorry I wasn't around! I may or may not have fallen asleep on the couch early...

Sorry to hear she won't eat. Did she ever take any food? My cats will only eat it when water has been added to make it kind of soupy. I've also found sometimes that they will eat it when I crumble up my freeze dried chicken treats on top of it.

On a side note, what is your sweet kitty's name? Sorry if you mentioned it before and I missed it!

She did finally eat but just a little bit she does this sometimes and on certain days I find myself opening up 5 or 6 cans before she decides to eat. If I put the freeze dried chicken (which she loves) on the wet food she'll just pick out the chicken pieces and move on but only the ones on top, when I tried mixing in the freeze dried chicken thinking I'll outsmart her it didn't work she just refused to eat period. I have also tried the stella and chweys and she ran away from it (haha) she literally ran away. On some days she'll eat just fine and on others she snubs everything I give her.

Her name is Pepi but she also goes by Pepita and snuggle butt :)

I'm sure her eating habits are making it difficult for me to regulate her last night she was at 217 and this morning at peak she was at 350 ... Sigh
 
I'm also kicking myself in the butt because I fell asleep last night and I wanted to check her blood sugar mid point to see where she's at so now I'm not sure if she's bouncing or whether the 1/2 unit was too little for her.
 
Another idea might be to try Stella and Chewy's. It's a dried raw product that has a texture a little like dry but is low carb. Some people feed it exclusively and some just "dress" the wet.

I tried the stella and chewy's but she literally ran away from it maybe I'll go back and try a different flavor I started with the chick chick chicken maybe she would like a different variety.
 
I'm also kicking myself in the butt because I fell asleep last night and I wanted to check her blood sugar mid point to see where she's at so now I'm not sure if she's bouncing or whether the 1/2 unit was too little for her.


It is great to get that nadir number so you know the next time whether the 0.5 unit was too little for that preshot number. So, next time. This process is all about collecting data and then looking back and using that data to figure out what dose to give based on her past history.

Other ideas to get her to eat: some people sprinkle on Parmesan cheese, heat it up in the microwave until stinky or use a probiotic called FortiFlora which has the same animal digest that makes dry food so irrestible.
 
It is great to get that nadir number so you know the next time whether the 0.5 unit was too little for that preshot number. So, next time. This process is all about collecting data and then looking back and using that data to figure out what dose to give based on her past history.

Other ideas to get her to eat: some people sprinkle on Parmesan cheese, heat it up in the microwave until stinky or use a probiotic called FortiFlora which has the same animal digest that makes dry food so irrestible.

Any suggestions on which and where to buy I didn't get a chance to get much information on the FortiFlora all I saw so far was that I need to buy it from my vet. Which I don't mind but the ingredients on it seem a little funky or maybe I just have no idea what I'm talking about, this is still a learning process for me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top