sherrib
Member Since 2015
Hello, I have some questions because skittles has fallen out of remission and I second-guessed my every move. His that Vet and I are thinking the reason why his numbers are up is because he has a tooth infection and since I am not working and have bills and children to take care of I cannot Afford The $600 dental needed to remove his tooth, so he is on medication for the infection.
My questions are;
1. Am I supposed to feed him and then give him his insulin? Because I have been testing him, and if he needs insulin I give him his insulin and then feed him immediately. Before I do his BG test I pulled his food two hours prior. And I let him free feed during the day and night. ( I set my alarm to get up and pick up his food two hours before his AMPS BG check. Am I doing the correct thing ?
2. I saw in another thread this " SLGS protocol " what does this mean ?
3. I also saw where people were talking about twitching what does this mean
4. I have been assuming this time around, that I should be giving him insulin if his BG is over 200. Should I be shooting at a lower number or do I need to stay at 200+
His spreadsheet is up-to-date if you want to take a look at that to see what his numbers have been running and the insulin levels that I have been giving him. Since he has fallen out to remission he has only needed insulin twice and one of them times it was only a 1/2 unit
BTW, his vet said to wait until his BG was over 350, what do you think of that? ( I don't )
My questions are;
1. Am I supposed to feed him and then give him his insulin? Because I have been testing him, and if he needs insulin I give him his insulin and then feed him immediately. Before I do his BG test I pulled his food two hours prior. And I let him free feed during the day and night. ( I set my alarm to get up and pick up his food two hours before his AMPS BG check. Am I doing the correct thing ?
2. I saw in another thread this " SLGS protocol " what does this mean ?
3. I also saw where people were talking about twitching what does this mean
4. I have been assuming this time around, that I should be giving him insulin if his BG is over 200. Should I be shooting at a lower number or do I need to stay at 200+
His spreadsheet is up-to-date if you want to take a look at that to see what his numbers have been running and the insulin levels that I have been giving him. Since he has fallen out to remission he has only needed insulin twice and one of them times it was only a 1/2 unit
BTW, his vet said to wait until his BG was over 350, what do you think of that? ( I don't )
Last edited: