? Questions,plz read & help

Status
Not open for further replies.

sherrib

Member Since 2015
Hello, I have some questions because skittles has fallen out of remission and I second-guessed my every move. His that Vet and I are thinking the reason why his numbers are up is because he has a tooth infection and since I am not working and have bills and children to take care of I cannot Afford The $600 dental needed to remove his tooth, so he is on medication for the infection.
My questions are;
1. Am I supposed to feed him and then give him his insulin? Because I have been testing him, and if he needs insulin I give him his insulin and then feed him immediately. Before I do his BG test I pulled his food two hours prior. And I let him free feed during the day and night. ( I set my alarm to get up and pick up his food two hours before his AMPS BG check. Am I doing the correct thing ?
2. I saw in another thread this " SLGS protocol " what does this mean ?
3. I also saw where people were talking about twitching what does this mean
4. I have been assuming this time around, that I should be giving him insulin if his BG is over 200. Should I be shooting at a lower number or do I need to stay at 200+

His spreadsheet is up-to-date if you want to take a look at that to see what his numbers have been running and the insulin levels that I have been giving him. Since he has fallen out to remission he has only needed insulin twice and one of them times it was only a 1/2 unit

BTW, his vet said to wait until his BG was over 350, what do you think of that? ( I don't )
 
Last edited:
Also another question I have is about Friskies, is it true that their carb count has changed? Because all I have been feeding my two cats is the Friskies that is listed on the safe list here. Because I have Been questioning the carb count with the Friskies I have switched him over to fancy feast but feeding two cats on only 3 ounce cans is just not working. I let my cat free feed.
 
1. Am I supposed to feed him and then give him his insulin? Because I have been testing him, and if he needs insulin I give him his insulin and then feed him immediately. Before I do his BG test I pulled his food two hours prior. And I let him free feed during the day and night. ( I set my alarm to get up and pick up his food two hours before his AMPS BG check. Am I doing the correct thing ?
2. I saw in another thread this " SLGS protocol " what does this mean ?
3. I also saw where people were talking about twitching what does this mean
4. I have been assuming this time around, that I should be giving him insulin if his BG is over 200. Should I be shooting at a lower number or do I need to stay at 200+

1. Yes, you should feed Skittles then give the insulin. You want to be sure Skittles has food on board when the ProZinc starts working.

2. SLGS means Start Low Go Slow. That acronym refers to a dosing method used with the long acting insulins Lantus and Levemir. It does not apply to ProZinc.

3. I'm not sure where you saw the talk about twitching so I can only guess you might have seen a post from someone using Lantus which has an acidic PH and can sting when injected especially at high doses.

4. It looks like Skittles BG numbers are improving likely because of the antibiotics clearing the infection. While it is suggested that one give insulin if BG pre-shots are over 200, with Skittles numbers improving, it's hard to say what is best to do. You don't want to give insulin and have him suddenly go too low but on the other hand you don't want to lose too much ground either. I personally wouldn't want to let him get to 350 before giving insulin but it looks to me like what you are doing right now is working pretty well at getting and keeping his numbers at a reasonable level until such time as the infection totally clears.

Hopefully someone else will chime in about the Friskies. I am in Canada and our Friskie formulations are not the same as yours.
 
I just did a BG reading and he is at 214 and I don't know if I need to give him insulin and if I need to do 1 unit
He seems to go at least a day to two days before he needs insulin right now. So this is what is throwing me off so much. Over a year ago he did the same thing when he was going into remission
 
1. Yes, you should feed Skittles then give the insulin. You want to be sure Skittles has food on board when the ProZinc starts working.

2. SLGS means Start Low Go Slow. That acronym refers to a dosing method used with the long acting insulins Lantus and Levemir. It does not apply to ProZinc.

3. I'm not sure where you saw the talk about twitching so I can only guess you might have seen a post from someone using Lantus which has an acidic PH and can sting when injected especially at high doses.

4. It looks like Skittles BG numbers are improving likely because of the antibiotics clearing the infection. While it is suggested that one give insulin if BG pre-shots are over 200, with Skittles numbers improving, it's hard to say what is best to do. You don't want to give insulin and have him suddenly go too low but on the other hand you don't want to lose too much ground either. I personally wouldn't want to let him get to 350 before giving insulin but it looks to me like what you are doing right now is working pretty well at getting and keeping his numbers at a reasonable level until such time as the infection totally clears.

Hopefully someone else will chime in about the Friskies. I am in Canada and our Friskie formulations are not the same as yours.
Thank you so much for replying. My memory is really bad right now due to health issues and the stress of not working and being completely broke.
 
I think I would give smaller doses as his BG goes down. He might do better with tiny micro doses before going off the insulin all together. I recall reading about it on one of the "stickies" at the top of the ProZinc forum.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top