Evey
Member Since 2024
Increasing the dose:
- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
- if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
- when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
1. After I bought a new Lantus insulin (the old one doesn't work anymore), i gave my cat 1U. But her nadirs were not as low as before. I increased the dose to 1.25U two days ago and today her nadir was under 100 this morning. So based on the TR, I need to hold this dose for 5 days? Can anyone look at the SS and tell me if I've been doing it correctly? I'm really appreciated.
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
- Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin
2. With SLGL, it suggests no insulin below 150mg/dl. But 150mg/dl is still pretty high. Can a cat's BG go down without insulin?
3. It seems insulin is shot based on the nadir numbers instead of preshot numbers with TR and SLGL. The vet suggests me to shoot based on the preshot number. This is the range he gave me:
>10.1 1.25U
6.1-10 1U
<6 0.5U
Can anyone explain why it is better to shoot based on nadir instead of preshot numbers? The vet would've asked me to give less insulin when my was at 8.9mmol this morning and I was quite nervous when I continue to gave her 1.25U because I was really worried she might get low blood sugar.
4. Compared to TR, it seems SLGL is less aggressive. How can I tell which method is more suitable for my cat to help her get to remission?
Thank you!
Last edited: