Questions about Relion Micro Meter - please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

jacereske

Member Since 2014
I've been using the Alpha Trak 2 and tonight I got some strange readings and I'm feeling nervous about using it going forward.

I did the PM Pre-shot BG and it was 666 - Eve was 233 this morning so I immediately re-tested and got 317, then 265, then 345.

I am thinking of going to Wal-Mart tomorrow to get a ReliOn Micro. I have not used a human meter before since the Alpha Trak 2 is for pets. I have a few questions.

1. Do I need to do some kind of conversion for the numbers?

2. Do I do it the same way I do now - touch the strip to the drop of blood while it's on my cat's ear?

3. What is the variance and does it go both ways? For example if I get a reading for 300 if the variance is 15% does that mean it could be 15% in either direction? (255 - 345 - which really seems like 30% not 15%)

Anything else I should know or should I consider a different meter? We have insurance and they will cover the cost of the meter and the test strips, so that's not a consideration.

Thank you.
 
Reli on micro is a good choice, that's what I use now after switching from the alpha track 2.
Also, did you check the coding on the alpha trak to make sure the coding didn't change?

Originally posted from bjm:


it is quite possible to use inexpensive human glucometers to do the blood testing. The WalMart ReliOn Confirm, Confirm Micro, and Prime all use small blood droplets and have inexpensive test strips, compared to the AlphaTrak 2.

[Unsubstantiated information about pet-specific meter reference numbers has been removed by Moderator.]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *


How to use the glucose reference values chart:

When you get a test, look for the number on the chart that either equals, or contains, the test value you have. Read the information. As needed, make a decision and act.

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
I did check the code on the test strips and it is correct.

This morning I opened a new vial of test strips, put in the new code and I am still getting a wide variance.

I contacted our vet (the one who sold me the meter) and he said I should not be seeing those variances - I used 3 strips in a row this morning and got 272, 316,342. To be on the safe side I only gave her one unit.

I think I will go get a new meter today. We don't have a Wal-mart close by - 70 miles round trip. :YMSIGH:

Thank you for answering my post.
 
1. No, no conversion needed for the numbers. Just tell us exactly what the meter says.

2. Yup. Just touch the test strip to your cat's ear to test. On the human meters, the sipping part of the test strip is on the long end usually. On the Alphatrak, that sipping part is on either side of the test strip.

3. All meters are allowed a 20% variance. That is 20% in either direction, negative or positive. So a 100 could be 80 to 120 and still be all in the same range.

P.s. I think you'll like the Relion Micro. Nice and compact, small blood drop. The case is a little tight for the test strip vial but other wise it's ok, with those extra pockets for storage. Just be sure you have the meter held in the correct direction so you don't read it upside down. ;-) Now, was that a 89 or 98 reading I got???? ohmygod_smile I've done that a few times.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top