Questions about life impacting shot times

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lmiller86

Member Since 2021
Hello all!
I need some advice on a recent, last minute situation. My Baby cat is on ProZinc. She is on a bit of a sliding scale and not regulated yet. Yesterday morning was a fur shot and we are currently higher than normal. Saturday, tomorrow, I will have to fly out of town for the day and no one can help give insulin. Her normal shot time is 6 am/pm. The AM dose on Saturday would be almost 2 hours early (at 4-4:30am) and the PM close to 3 hours later (7 to 7:30 pm).I feel awful about this, but have to work with it. I would greatly appreciate any thoughts, experiences, or suggestions for this.

As of now I am thinking dose her 1 hour early tonight. One hour early in the AM... Then Saturday night will just be late and I'll work to get her back on track Sunday and Monday.

Thank you!
 
Yes. ProZinc technically does have an hour leeway at most, so you can shoot an hour early at most (15-30 mins is ideal but I get it). But obviously if you get a lower than usual number you'll have to think about what dose to give.

The late shot is no problem as it'll have worn off. But when you get her back on schedule I would only do 30 mins at a time
 
Yes. ProZinc technically does have an hour leeway at most, so you can shoot an hour early at most (15-30 mins is ideal but I get it). But obviously if you get a lower than usual number you'll have to think about what dose to give.

The late shot is no problem as it'll have worn off. But when you get her back on schedule I would only do 30 mins at a time

Yes, thank you so much Melissa @FrostD! Other than tomorrow, I have really been trying to stay in that 15-30 min window per your last advice! I am hoping for a solid, no-doubt-on-dose type of read tomorrow morning, but with Baby who knows! I've got Monday off from work so I have two days to monitor and get her back on track after Saturday. As always, thank you!!!!
 
Yes. ProZinc technically does have an hour leeway at most, so you can shoot an hour early at most (15-30 mins is ideal but I get it). But obviously if you get a lower than usual number you'll have to think about what dose to give.

The late shot is no problem as it'll have worn off. But when you get her back on schedule I would only do 30 mins at a time

Well, well, well.... @FrostD will you look at this?

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...2JbskVveL03yr2bXn-fUvm4RgpM/edit?usp=drivesdk

I know we are coming off a FS, and she ate alot overnight and not as much today, but that 79 means decrease dose yes? And of course pending what she reads PMPS. Let me go find your last guidance for Baby...
 
@FrostD, Last we spoke dose guidance, you advised:


  • 200-249, perhaps 2-2.2U?
  • 250-299, give 2.6U
  • 300+, give the 3.2U

Obviously, reduce all of the above by 0.2U if you get a number below 90 at any time.
 
That's pretty funny, this cat! Yes, reduce by 0.2U. You might consider a one time, slightly larger reduction while you are gone.

If you were going to be home I'd be inclined to hold the dose just to see, because she doesn't often hold the reductions very well. But better safe than sorry while you're gone.
 
That's pretty funny, this cat! Yes, reduce by 0.2U. You might consider a one time, slightly larger reduction while you are gone.

If you were going to be home I'd be inclined to hold the dose just to see, because she doesn't often hold the reductions very well. But better safe than sorry while you're gone.

@FrostD thank you! Yes "this cat" is right!!!!! I think I will do a larger decreased dose just to be safe. I would so much rather be safe than sorry! Especially if her appetite is not normal.
 
I know, but everytime I do that, my sheet locks me out and I have to make a copy and start over! Ever heard of that?
I'm going to tag Bhooma for you to help you out with this
@Bandit's Mom
She will probably be in later on tonight she lives in India
Also on your spreadsheet she will have to change the last 2 color code numbers up top
They are for human meters , you are using a pet meter
The dark green should be 68-99
Neon green should be BG <68

@Bandit's Mom

Thanks Bhooma
 
Last edited:
I'm going to tag Bhooma for you to help you out with this
@Bandit's Mom
She will probably be in later on tonight she lives in India
Also on your spreadsheet she will have to change the last 2 color code numbers up top
They are for human meters , you are using a pet meter
The dark green should be 68-99
Neon green should be BG <68

@Bandit's Mom

Thanks Bhooma

OH thank you! I didn't realize I had used the wrong sheet
 
The spreadsheet you are using is a format used by another FD group and tends to crash on some tablets on phones. Even with our format, you get a "View Only" error when accessing it on a phone. I am not sure what causes that. It resolves on it's own. When that happens to me, I just use a computer to update the SS.

Will send you a PM with the details I need to set up your SS. Look for it in the Inbox at the top right corner of this page.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top