Alexa and Reuben
Member Since 2012
Yesterday
Hi All, I have 3 questions:
In order to lower to help lower the BG I need to
a) follow dosage protocol
b) lower his stress level in every way possible
a) It looks like tomorrow morning it is time to increase the dose, as Reuben will have been on the 1st increase - (from 1u to 1.5u) - for three days by tomorrow morning. If I understand the protocol correctly (pasted in below), tomorrow morning we should increase the dose by .25u Can someone confirm this for me please? Thanks!
b) I think he has stress from pancreatitis pain, and that buprenorphine is the correct med for this. Can anyone who has used it weigh in on the pros and cons their experience, and the dose?
And, he has a few fleas which are driving him crazy - a new thing here in the very humid and wild-kingdom place we live now. I have no experience with this, as he has only gotten them maybe twice in his life, and he was young and I just put frontline on him. But I don`t know what to do now, as I can`t imagine using hard drugs (frontline etc) on him at this point. How are you all handling this on your not-so-young FD kitties?
Thank you for your help and suggestions!!
here is the dosage protocol from tilly`s page:
----------------------------------------------------
Phase 2: Increasing the dose
Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl.
---------------------------------------------------
Good Morning LL Friends
Reuben's 476 amps was a nice surprise, since all we have seen is 'HI' for a day and a half! This is my introduction to 'bouncing'. nailbite_smile I am keeping the liquids and mini meals flowing, and his ketone reading just now was 0.2mmol/L - the same reading as Friday (and well within the 0.6mmol/L limit for trace ketones). He`s a strong boy!
Happy Monday
Hi All, I have 3 questions:
In order to lower to help lower the BG I need to
a) follow dosage protocol
b) lower his stress level in every way possible
a) It looks like tomorrow morning it is time to increase the dose, as Reuben will have been on the 1st increase - (from 1u to 1.5u) - for three days by tomorrow morning. If I understand the protocol correctly (pasted in below), tomorrow morning we should increase the dose by .25u Can someone confirm this for me please? Thanks!
b) I think he has stress from pancreatitis pain, and that buprenorphine is the correct med for this. Can anyone who has used it weigh in on the pros and cons their experience, and the dose?
And, he has a few fleas which are driving him crazy - a new thing here in the very humid and wild-kingdom place we live now. I have no experience with this, as he has only gotten them maybe twice in his life, and he was young and I just put frontline on him. But I don`t know what to do now, as I can`t imagine using hard drugs (frontline etc) on him at this point. How are you all handling this on your not-so-young FD kitties?
Thank you for your help and suggestions!!
here is the dosage protocol from tilly`s page:
----------------------------------------------------
Phase 2: Increasing the dose
Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl.
---------------------------------------------------
Good Morning LL Friends
Reuben's 476 amps was a nice surprise, since all we have seen is 'HI' for a day and a half! This is my introduction to 'bouncing'. nailbite_smile I am keeping the liquids and mini meals flowing, and his ketone reading just now was 0.2mmol/L - the same reading as Friday (and well within the 0.6mmol/L limit for trace ketones). He`s a strong boy!
Happy Monday