Question-pretty sure I poked needle thru skin, fur shot help

Status
Not open for further replies.

EllieKozak

Member Since 2014
Hello all. I think when I gave Charlie his shot this morning it poked thru the other side of his skin because the injection site was wet afterwards. I am pretty sure he did not get any of his insulin but I cant be positive. I did a search on "fur shot" and how to handle it, but too many items came up on the search and nothing relevant to what I was looking for. His AMPS was 369, and he just ate. I will be home all day so I can monitor him, but I don't know what the normal protocol for this, should I reshoot with a lower dose or just wing it? Thanks for any help received!
 
Re: Question-pretty sure I poked needle thru skin, fur shot

Good morning Ellie and sweet Charlie!

Oh those fur shots - we all do them sometimes. Do NOT give more as you don't know how much actually went in. Sometimes it looks like all of it squirted out but just shoot at your regular pm time. Charlie will get back on track!

HUGS! Welcome to the 'Fur Shot' club.. ohmygod_smile :-D
 
Re: Question-pretty sure I poked needle thru skin, fur shot

Fur shots happen! We always recommend never giving another shot. In fact, the other night I was positive I had given a fur shot but I didn't give another shot. His AMPS the next morning showed quite clearly that he had indeed gotten insulin the night before. ohmygod_smile The times I actually do give fur shots, then Mikey's numbers either stay flat or continue to rise. He's fairly fast at clearing out fur shots and usually we're back in business by the next cycle or two.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top