Sandy,
Thanks for weighing in on that. I probably won't do the TID dosing. Will wait to see if I can gain back some of the ground
I have lost the last couple weeks. I also don't want to introduce too may things all at once with the risk of not being able to tell what caused what.
Miss was on clavamox for 6 weeks (hoping to clear up her acne) from Sept to mid Oct. I gave her probiotics during that time, but she had diarrhea and it never went away, completely. So, I took her in and had some blood work done. She had mildly elevated liver enzymes, so they had me start her on Denamarin for that. Put her on metronidazole for the diarrhea. Ugh, she hates that! I have had it myself, so I can't say as I blame her...it gags me. It hasn't helped with the diarrhea, yet, in fact seems to have made it a bit worse. She had partly formed stools before, now not so much.
Now, the vet is mentioning de-worming, although Missy isn't much of a hunter...mostly dragonflies. I certainly don't want to de-worm her if she doesn't have worms, but vet seems to think a stool sample is not necessary. I am a bit hesitant about that. I don't want to introduce unnecessary drugs into her system, esp. if her liver is acting up, albeit, midly.
Anyway, I think I will let the metronidazole run it's course and see the outcome before I introduce anything else in to the mix. I would love to see her have normal stools, though. I am giving her FortiFlora hoping that will help, too.
Sandy and Black Kitty said:
To answer you question - yes - hold the dose if Missy is in a bounce. The combination of a higher dose and clearing bounce could spell trouble.
The problem here is, you are "suspecting" a bounce - you need to know if it's a bounce. Otherwise you are waiting for a bounce that doesn't exist to clear - and glucose toxicity is gaining ground.
How do I KNOW it is a bounce?
She was 224 PMPS and 326 AMPSthe next morning. I couldn't test during the night...had some reactions to my own meds and was sicker than a dog, even tho I know it would have been good to get a couple checks in. I am assuming, from what I have read, that she bounced...but how do I know for sure? Besides the tests I didnt get? :roll: I know I missed a golden opportunity, but my side effects are the same as having the flu. (interferons) I could not drag myself out of bed but for the bare necessities. I don't get them often, only when I am run down so the timing sucked for Miss and I both. Am I doomed not to know? Should I increase or stand pat for a couple days based on what info I do have?
Thanks so much