? Question on dose for low PS

Status
Not open for further replies.

MomoAndRobin

Member Since 2023
Hi everyone,

For the SLGS method with Glargine/Lantus, would you recommend reducing the dose for a lower preshot BG? Momo just had a reading of 127, and the last time I gave her a shot at a similar value (134) she dropped into the low 60s on a pet meter. She also had a very high value the next morning, so she could have bounced.

With the 127 today I'm not sure if I should skip or reduce the dose, but I don't want to miss the data throughout the day that could point to a reduction.
 
I don't want to get too far off schedule so I'm going to give the normal dose and test frequently today. I'd still love to hear everyone's thoughts though!
 
I noticed you’ve been adjusting the dose too much and also not doing it by 1/4 unit. It looks like you’re are doing that now so let’s try to stay at .75 for 7 days unless she drops below 90 today. If she does, you’d reduce to .5 unit tonight.

Sounds great, thank you! I'll post in the Lantus forum next time. I did read the sticky on dosing methods and am planning to utilize SLGS. My confusion was from one section of the dosing advice that said to not shoot below 150, and then farther down a recommendation to not shoot below 90. BG at +2 today was 107, so I'm planning to check again at +4.

About the wonky dosing... most of those numbers are from before I found this forum and was trying to adjust based on the advice from the vet. Everything from 6/4 on should follow the advice you've all shared here (and Momo's BG has been much more consistent thanks to the new method!).
 
My confusion was from one section of the dosing advice that said to not shoot below 150, and then farther down a recommendation to not shoot below 90. BG at +2 today was 107, so I'm planning to check again at +4.
Are you talking about this SLGS
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
They are talking about when to increase or decrease not when to not shoot
If you are going to follow SLGS you need to add that to your signature

When you start posting on the lantus board we have a certain way to post and suggest to do a new post every day and link your previous days post to each new post

You would post like this
Date. Momo AMPS# and any additional tests after that
To add the additional tests look to the right you will see the word Thread Tools tap on that then tap on Edit Title add your tests and tap save
You can continue with the PMPS in your title also
 
Last edited:
Are you talking about this SLGS
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
They are talking about when to increase or decrease not when to not shoot
If you are going to follow SLGS you need to add that to your signature

When you start posting on the lantus board we have a certain way to post and suggest to do a new post every day and link your previous days post to each new post

You would post like this
Date. Momo AMPS# and any additional tests after that
To add the additional tests look to the right you will see the word Thread Tools tap on that then tap on Edit Title add your tests and tap save
You can continue with the PMPS in your title also

Signature updated!

The part I was referencing is a little lower down the page: "We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat."
 
Signature updated!

The part I was referencing is a little lower down the page: "We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat."
OK I see it lol
I'm going to tag Elise for you for her advice , Elise Robin is using the Alpha Trak
I thought Robin was talking about when to increase or decrease the dose
@tiffmaxee
Thank you Elise :cat:

Robins said the confusion is
My confusion was from one section of the dosing advice that said to not shoot below 150, and then farther down a recommendation to not shoot below 90.
As stated in post #6
Let me try tagging Suzanne also
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top