Question on dose decrease

Status
Not open for further replies.

Crm

Member Since 2021
Hi All,
My Georgia has been on Lantus now for 2 1/2 months. She started on 1 unit,up to 2 slowly and now on 1/2 unit for 4 weeks or so.
Numbers have been 150 or less all day for past two weeks with an occasional 170. (Tested after food and she was stressed.)
BG has hovered around 120 most day.
Today reading amps 150 and nadir 95. Alphatrak meter.
Most days amps she is between 110 to 150. Same with pmps.
Do you think a dose decrease is warranted? Getting uncomfortable with lower numbers and current dose
* checked with human meter today as well..directly after alphatrak.
Amps 106 and at nadir 65 .
Any help is appreciated!
 
It is really hard to help you without seeing the BG data on a spreadsheet.
Do you think you could set one up
HERE is a link to the spreadsheet and other useful information.
The link to the signature is also there which tells us about Georgia. If you could set that up also that would be great…it only takes a couple of minutes.

If you have a human meter, I would suggest using that one as our dosing methods are based on the human meter.
 
It is really hard to help you without seeing the BG data on a spreadsheet.
Do you think you could set one up
HERE is a link to the spreadsheet and other useful information.
The link to the signature is also there which tells us about Georgia. If you could set that up also that would be great…it only takes a couple of minutes.

If you have a human meter, I would suggest using that one as our dosing methods are based on the human meter.
 
I just got a freestyle today --have always been using alphatrak .
Only information for human meter is today..
Amps 106 and nadir 65..
Dose given 1/2 unit of Lantus.
I am used to alphatrak so these numbers are making me nervous.
 
I just got a freestyle today --have always been using alphatrak .
Only information for human meter is today..
Amps 106 and nadir 65..
Dose given 1/2 unit of Lantus.
I am used to alphatrak so these numbers are making me nervous.
Your kitty is giving you lovely numbers for a newly diagnosed kitty
The 106 and the 65 are both safe numbers on the human meter.
And the 150 and the 95 are also safe on the alphatrak meter.
Depending on which dosing method you might like to follow, you would reduce the dose on the Start Slow Go slow method (SLGS)but not the Tight regulation method (TR). Have a look at the link below and see which one you prefer. I would strongly recommend you look at setting up the SS.
DOSING METHODS FOR LANTUS

With alphatrak meter, the take action BG is 68 and for the human meter it is 50. So you don’t want to let them drop below these numbers. This is when you get out the high carb food and or the honey or Karo.
 
Are we aiming for 80 and trying to be maintaining that or an acceptable number in the desired range? Wondering if my cat is testing at below 120 and nadir 65 (human meter) if still needs insulin? The vets normal range is less than 180 (pet meter) I believe..after that they prescribe insulin.
 
There is no need for you to start a new thread to ask another question next time.
Here is your other threadhttps://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/question-on-dose-decrease.256531/

I’ll ask @Sienne and Gabby (GA) to join the two threads for continuity and stop any confusion.


Are we aiming for 80 and trying to be maintaining that or an acceptable number in the desired range? Wondering if my cat is testing at below 120 and nadir 65 (human meter) if still needs insulin? The vets normal range is less than 180 (pet meter) I believe..after that they prescribe insulin.

At the moment your kitty is on 1/2 unit of Lantus twice a day…is that correct?
For a kitty to go into remission and not need insulin they need to gradually reduce the dose from 1/2 unit twice a day to 1/4 unit, 0.1 unit and a drop of insulin…all twice a day. And during this time they need to be able to earn reductions to go down to the next level of dose. Then when they are on a drop of insulin and able to stay in green BGs (under 100), they start a 2 week trial of being off insulin where they need to be able to stay in green BGs,

So at the moment your kitty is doing really well and could very well go into remission. But you need to make sure it is a strong remission, otherwise your kitty could fall out of remission and need insulin again and it is much harder to get them off insulin the second time around.

I would suggest Setting up the SS, picking a dosing methods and start posting everyday. Once you have done this I will direct you over to the Lantus forum where you will be guided with dosing and hopefully into remission.
 
There is no need for you to start a new thread to ask another question next time.
Here is your other threadhttps://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/question-on-dose-decrease.256531/

I’ll ask @Sienne and Gabby (GA) to join the two threads for continuity and stop any confusion.




At the moment your kitty is on 1/2 unit of Lantus twice a day…is that correct?
For a kitty to go into remission and not need insulin they need to gradually reduce the dose from 1/2 unit twice a day to 1/4 unit, 0.1 unit and a drop of insulin…all twice a day. And during this time they need to be able to earn reductions to go down to the next level of dose. Then when they are on a drop of insulin and able to stay in green BGs (under 100), they start a 2 week trial of being off insulin where they need to be able to stay in green BGs,

So at the moment your kitty is doing really well and could very well go into remission. But you need to make sure it is a strong remission, otherwise your kitty could fall out of remission and need insulin again and it is much harder to get them off insulin the second time around.

I would suggest Setting up the SS, picking a dosing methods and start posting everyday. Once you have done this I will direct you over to the Lantus forum where you will be guided with dosing and hopefully into remission.
 
Hello and welcome to FDMB! :-)
I can set up your spreadsheet and signature. Will send you a PM with the details I need. Look for it in the Inbox at the top right corner of this page.
 
And during this time they need to be able to earn reductions to go down to the next level of dose.

To earn a reduction, they need to drop below 50 on a human meter or stay in normal BG numbers for 7 days...that means all numbers for a full 7 days should be between 50-120 with most of them below 100. Those are the two ways to earn a reduction.
 
Thank you. I'm switching to the human meter from the alphatrak that I've been using for couple months. To get an idea of past numbers, what would she need to be under if tested with alphatrak? 130?
 
Just put in all the alphatrak numbers as they are and then when you have done the swap to the human meter it can be noted on the SS.
There is no real ( official) comparison numbers with the two meters. We just say that to drop under 68 on the alphatrak meter is the take action number.
Normal cat BGs on a human meter are 50-120
 
I did today...and replied. I am new and hope I didn't post instead of reply. I thought I could do it myself if possible.
 
On my ss download I don't see where I enter my numbers or see anything in upper left hand corner to save as my cat Georgias rather than template.
 
I'm using my Samsung phone as my dinosaur computer doesn't have software to access the software file.
 
Thank you SO very much. I cannot work on it until tomorrow . Thank you again!
 
Numbers almost all blue as of late, I need them to be in green for awhile to indicate remission? Alphatrak meter..
 
How do I post her spreadsheet?

It's in your "Signature" that Bandit's mom set up for you.
upload_2021-12-15_1-13-58.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-12-15_1-13-58.png
    upload_2021-12-15_1-13-58.png
    81.2 KB · Views: 139
Hi Colleen, have you switched to a human meter? The spreadsheet I have set up is for the AT. I will need to tweak it for a human meter.
Let me know when you are making the switch to the human meter? Thanks! :-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top