Question New Meter very diff readings

Status
Not open for further replies.

Libby & Callie

Member Since 2010
10/02/10 Callie AMPS 198 +2 248 +5 264 +9 419
Today Ketone test NEG

Hey I don't know what to put in for Callie'sr PMPS. I bought a new meter True2go by CareOne and it gave a reading of 213 while the AlphaTrak reads 372. Now what? Does anyone know about the True2go? I couldn't find a ReliOn and this seemed to be a good one with lower cost strips. I have only about 5 left for the AlphaTrak and would have to hunt down strips for it. Anyway I will post her results when I can figure this out. The AlphaTrak is supposed to be 30 points higher than human meters but even so there is a big difference! If you know anything about this meter please let me know :) Thanks Libby and Callie (and civvies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Callie's SS
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key ... TuVA#gid=0
Callie 10 yrs old on 9/17/10 dx 6/12/10
Lantus 2 units BID (U100) since 9/30/10
HT BG with AlphaTrak & Lancet device
On AlphaTrak worry at 80 not 50
Wet food only since 9/30/10
Camp Hill, PA USA
 
There have been a few people on here that have tried the True* meters. From reading other's reviews, the drug store brand meters (which includes the True2Go, and any True*** meter) are not as accurate as the One Touch, Relion, Accu check, etc.
 
i've seen a lot of people have trouble with the "true" meters so personally i'm not a big fan of them. i think though that dian and wheezer uses one of them and hasn't had any problems.
 
10/02/10 Callie PMPS 292
AlphaTrak # 372 True2go # 213
Today ketones neg

I have decided to do it as an average till I can figure it out. I add them then divided by 2 :) Callie is feeling fine and seems very contented and so far has eaten every wet food put in front of her. She isn't being piggy about it either, nor has she been at her water much. She is acting her old self and in sync with the other two. This keeps me from worry, but to make sure my SS shows what is going on properly I would like to figure the difference between them after 4 more readings and see how much it's off. Then I can work the figures. I will go get more of the AlphaTrak to finish out a few more weeks so she will be able to show her curves decently. What do you think? Any suggestions on this? Thanks BTW the 292 was the average. Guess my braindeath had to come sometime .. Well it's here! Thanks and I'll keep checking. Libby and Callie (and civvies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Callie's SS
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key ... TuVA#gid=0
Callie 10 yrs old on 9/17/10 dx 6/12/10
Lantus 2 units BID (U100) since 9/30/10
HT BG with AlphaTrak & Lancet device
On AlphaTrak worry at 80 not 50
Wet food only since 9/30/10
Camp Hill, PA USA
 
Not an expert in any sense, but having compared the AT and the ReliOn meters, I would stick to one set of numbers or the other, instead of averaging them. Human and pet meters follow a different set of rules in the protocol, and if you average them, which rules do you follow? You can still test with both and compare them, but I would track both numbers. You can use 2 lines in the ss, one for each meter if you want.
 
Hey Libby-I use the accu check aviva & it is good for us! Had a Relion ultra, Freestyle, One touch, and a few others--
Even though accu check strips are expensive, I find it needs less blood, and is pretty accurate, easy to use--
But Yes , pick one & stick with it for now--All the vets try to sell those Alpha Trak to the cat;s beans! They cost a lot!!
My DH is diabetic & many companies will send you a free meter for this--Many peeps Use the Relion mini & like it--It's from Walmart--
Whatever you choose, will work for now--You are doing a great Job!!
 
You can drive yourself nuts trying to use 2 different meters. I started w/ the True2Go, but it was not a good choice. the numbers are fairly close at low readings, but get progressively further off as the BG increases.

I have been using the Maxima AST that i got at Hocks. the mfg. is phasing that out and replacing it with the Infinity meter http://hocks.com/hocks-healthcare/hocks-product/FM-23.html These are the cheapest strips I've seen anywhere $16.50 for 50. the down side is that you have to plan ahead as the usually aren't available at pharmacies. You must order online.

If you decide to try itnplease go through the steps to get there from the green Hocks link at the top of the page. If you do FDMB will get a commission which helps to fund this site.
 
PMPS AlphaTrak 372 True2go 213 diff 168
PMPS AT +3 366 True2go 198 diff 159

Thanks guys. I did figure it wouldn't help those who are helping me to throw crazy numbers out there, so I put in the one from AlphaTrak just to keep the SS readings coming from the one source. I will get more strips and maybe they will last till we can get a good read on her. I'll wait and let you guys tell me when to change out. Otherwise it will make the guides job much harder. I will put in both readings in my line above so maybe that will help when I change over. Do you think that's ok? I am going seriously braindead! One more reading tonight and I am taking it easy. I did a ketostix read (neg) and a diastix and it had the highest color (high #) so it's staying true to her AlphaTrak number. I want a reading when she gets back down in the low 200's or high 100's to get a fix on the strip. In case of emergency I can get xtra info if needed. Well I am off for the night. Need to rest before I become a patient! Thanks again and have a lovely evening! Libby and Callie (and civvies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Callie's SS
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key ... TuVA#gid=0
Callie 10 yrs old on 9/17/10 dx 6/12/10
Lantus 2 units BID (U100) since 9/30/10
HT BG with AlphaTrak & Lancet device
On AlphaTrak worry at 80 not 50
Wet food only since 9/30/10
Camp Hill, PA USA
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top