Question-New Member Hello so glad to find this support forum please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kitty Bunch

New Member
Hi there this disease is horrific and cruel to cats. My Baroness is a white weggie and their breed prone to this disease. She is 10 and diagnosed with Diabetes M. beginning of the year.
We just had a very expensive emergency while I was doing the 12 to 24 glucose monitor etc.
She went into emergency where the VET at Care Center in Centerville Ohio dropped so low and they immediately started dextrose and IV therapy. When done she was bright eyed and kissing up to the staff. When she got home she was the pain in the butt as always since this disease. She gets to be a like a rapid dog when it comes to food. She has even tried to eat my finger and big toe. TO include getting in the kitchen trash (which she never did) she has changed like a pocessed. I am a holistic Em Doctor and monitor her urine and blood every day. My supplements I give her work. But the week back from the Center. All of the sudden she threw up 4 times. I monitored her BG every 2-4 hours and it has spiked to 576. She had her insulin at dinner time. 1 unit prescribed with ProZinc. I have tried my research and found some ease of what she is going through and trying to strengthen her spleen and pancreas. In part what has you pro diabetes Cat Mom's here did when BG is that high? Need reply asap HELP and FEEDBACk.
 
Hi and welcome to the forum.
Unregulated diabetic cats are unable to absorb all the nutrients in the food so they are often very very hungry. My kitty also used to raid the kitchen bin if she had a chance.
Can you tell us what type of glucose meter are you using?
Would you like to set up one of our spreadsheets and add your blood glucose data? That way we can help you. I will add the link below.
Also if you could set up the signature that will Tell us all about your kitty.
What type of food are you feeding?
What are the supplements you are giving her?

If you can set up your spreadsheet and add the BG data we will be able to tell you why the BG is spiking at 575
 
Hi there this disease is horrific and cruel to cats. My Baroness is a white weggie and their breed prone to this disease. She is 10 and diagnosed with Diabetes M. beginning of the year.
We just had a very expensive emergency while I was doing the 12 to 24 glucose monitor etc.
She went into emergency where the VET at Care Center in Centerville Ohio dropped so low and they immediately started dextrose and IV therapy. When done she was bright eyed and kissing up to the staff. When she got home she was the pain in the butt as always since this disease. She gets to be a like a rapid dog when it comes to food. She has even tried to eat my finger and big toe. TO include getting in the kitchen trash (which she never did) she has changed like a pocessed. I am a holistic Em Doctor and monitor her urine and blood every day. My supplements I give her work. But the week back from the Center. All of the sudden she threw up 4 times. I monitored her BG every 2-4 hours and it has spiked to 576. She had her insulin at dinner time. 1 unit prescribed with ProZinc. I have tried my research and found some ease of what she is going through and trying to strengthen her spleen and pancreas. In part what has you pro diabetes Cat Mom's here did when BG is that high? Need reply asap HELP and FEEDBACk.

Hi, Welcome, it is overwhelming like Bron mentioned when you hear the word diabetes, the good thing that as you know it is manageable, and yes his Bg is quite high, what food are you feeding? for a diabetic cat it is important their diet consists of lo carbs, 0-10%, if you are feeding dry food kibbles, that can be the problem the BG is so high, these foods including treats and they contain between 20-30% carbs. Here the members enjoy the Fancy Feast Pates, many flavors to choose from and USA made so no waste goes into the food, below is a Drs food chart, with many brands to choose from, the third column will have the carb%, it is important you also have what is called s HYPO KIT, this includes KARO syrup/Honey, some medium carbs between 12-15% and some high carbs between 18-20% (gravies), this is so in case his BG reads 50 or below you can began the process of a quick fix to raise the BG, to prevent hypoglycemia, other than that Bron gave great advise on how we can help you,. and every concern however small, we are here for you. You Got This!!:bighug::cat::cat:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
 
Hi and welcome to the forum.
Unregulated diabetic cats are unable to absorb all the nutrients in the food so they are often very very hungry. My kitty also used to raid the kitchen bin if she had a chance.
Can you tell us what type of glucose meter are you using?
Would you like to set up one of our spreadsheets and add your blood glucose data? That way we can help you. I will add the link below.
Also if you could set up the signature that will Tell us all about your kitty.
What type of food are you feeding?
What are the supplements you are giving her?

If you can set up your spreadsheet and add the BG data we will be able to tell you why the BG is spiking at 575
Thank you She was in hospital early this week and restored her sugars levels because low now they are spiking threw up 4 times. Started at 350 HDMI 468 then 562 now 583 she has had her insulin shot and lethargy. Contacted the hospital they said not to give another insulin and monitor her. I did give her tuna water small amount of anti nausea ,Help what will regulate I have done exercises to strengthen spleen now she is resting. Any feedback
 
Thank you She was in hospital early this week and restored her sugars levels because low now they are spiking threw up 4 times. Started at 350 HDMI 468 then 562 now 583 she has had her insulin shot and lethargy. Contacted the hospital they said not to give another insulin and monitor her. I did give her tuna water small amount of anti nausea ,Help what will regulate I have done exercises to strengthen spleen now she is resting. Any feedback

I will tag Bron to see if he can help you, what I do not understand is why will the Vet tell not to give insulin having those high numbers? we do need more information in order to help you here is the link again:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:

link to the spreadsheet, signature and the hypo box
HELP US HELP YOU

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
It is possible your kitty is bouncing from the earlier low numbers. Here is an explanation on bouncing.
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
As you can see there is nothing you can do for bouncing, except wait it out. I don’t understand why the vet would say not to give any insulin.
Can you answer these questions please so we can help you?
  • How low did your kitty’s blood glucose go when she needed to go to hospital and have the glucose drip?
  • What type of glucose meter are you using? Is it a pet or a human meter?
  • What type of food are you feeding her?
  • Is she eating well.?
  • Are you giving her a good meal before every dose of insulin?
  • Are you giving her snacks of food during all the cycles?
  • Have you tested for ketones in the urine? If not I would recommend you do so, especially if you are withholding insulin. You will need to get a bottle of ketostix from a pharmacy or Walmart and test the urine as per the instructions on the bottle.
  • What antinausea medication do you have for her?
  • Did the vets reduce the dose of insulin after her BG went low and she had to go to hospital.
It would help us help you if you could set up the spreadsheet and the signature please. We are unable to help without data.
If her BG is still high I would not withhold the insulin dose.
 
@Kitty Bunch
Information we need about Baroness
This is where you can set up what we call your signature, it's at the end of everyone's post in gray letters. Just tap on your name up top then tap on signature and add this information. You will link it to your spreadsheet

  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Thank you!

If you can set up our spreadsheet where we track our kitties BG that would be helpful, the link will also explain how to use it, it's very easy
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

If you need help setting up our spreadsheet just ask and I will ask one of our members to set it up for you
 
Welcome to FDMB.

I'm linking information regarding Prozinc. There are sticky notes at the top of the Prozinc board that will provide you with an overview of the insulin, dosing strategies, etc.

It sounds like you are testing at home. That is a great first step that we strongly encourage. When you note that you are monitoring urine and blood daily, could you explain a bit more? If you are urine testing for glucose, it's an unreliable measure. If you are doing urine tests for ketones, that's fine although there are also blood ketone meters. Testing for blood glucose is far more reliable. You also need to test more than once a day. The minimum number of tests to manage your cat's diabetes is 4. You need to test prior to giving an insulin injection in order to ensure it is safe to give an injection. You also need to get at least one additional test during both the AM and PM cycles to have a measure of how low the insulin dose is bringing Baroness' numbers.

Please don't overreact to high numbers. Managing your cat's diabetes is a marathon, not a sprint. It likely has taken some time for your kitty to develop FD and it will take some time to get her in reliably lower numbers. Also, keep in mind that if you're feeling panicky about how she's doing, you will communicate your concern to your cat. Stress can make a big contribution to elevated blood glucose levels.

Given that her numbers dropped into a low range, has your cat's dose been readjusted?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top