Question Leo AMPS 374 +4 187 +6 133 PMPS 292

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
Good Morning Lantus Land and Happy Easter Monday!

My question is, why does Leo always shoot back up to the high pinks before shot time? He usually gets some nice blue numbers during the day and his nadir seems to be at +4 or +5, but then shoots up to pinks pre-shot. I've tried playing around with his eating schedule, the one day i took away the food at +7.5 and still he went up, the next i took the food away at +6 and he begged and begged for food and i gave him just a tablespoon or so, and still he went back up to pink. Right now i am at home with the fam for easter and last night someone fed Leo a can of FF chicken and gravy (HC it's 18%) at 4:00 am (3 hours before his shot) and he ate the whole thing and for pre-shot his BG was normal (as in high pink)?!?!?! It just doesn't make sense to me. Could it be possible that his little kitty metabolism doesn't make the insulin last for the full 12 hours? Or does he need another dose increase?

Good news is he's gained a pound since we were at the vet almost 3 weeks ago....he's on the mend.

Any help in figuring out my little orange puzzle would be greatly appreciated!
Tracy
 
Re: Question Leo AMPS 374 +4 187

Hi guys ... As you know someone will probably be around soon enough to help figure out leo's numbers .. mocha would have days where she would surf beautifully, only to end up high pink at shot time ... it was frustrating .. but I am glad to hear leo is on the mend and gaining weight .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: Question Leo AMPS 374 +4 187

hi tracy. i think leo is responding very, very well especially considering you've been at this less than a month. :mrgreen:
imho, leo shoots back up because he hasn't arrived at a dose which will keep him down yet (not enough insulin to last the entire cycle). he will though! *usually* the dose is to be held for 5 - 7 days if a kitty is showing nadirs in blue. today is cycle 5 on this dose. let's see what happens today and tonight. he may surprise us...
 
Re: Question Leo AMPS 374 +4 187 +6 133

Thanks Peter and Jill,
I'm pretty happy that Leo is feeling better, i just wish he would end his cycles with some pretty yellow numbers instead of those nasty pinks!
I'll hold this dose for the next fews days and post some condos and we'll see how it goes. I'll be hoping for a nice surprise tonight or tomorrow..... ;-)
 
Leo AMPS 374 +4 187 +6 133 PMPS 292

WOOO HOOOO!!! Go Leo!

Such a relief to see a yellow number, might be a high yellow number.....but not pink!

I took his PM BG and gave him his supper and shot and then we had a ourselves a little dance in the kitchen.....heehee :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top