question/clarification on lantus dosing please?

Status
Not open for further replies.

IloveLarry

Member Since 2014
on this link http://www.felinediabetes.com/start-low-go-slow.htm on .2 i think....it says not to increase a dose for a week? not questioning any1 or anything like that. please dont misunderstand, but wanting to understand, how is it ok to go up after 3 days? i am still learning. i wrote basically this same thing on my last post, but no answer. thanks for any help understanding :) :)
appreciate u all.
 
Are you looking at Step 2? That refers to the initial dose because Lantus is a depot insulin so you want to make sure the depot has time to build when initially giving it to your cat.

Also, there are two different approaches to treating your cat: Tight Regulation and the Start Low, Go Slow approach. TR is a bit more aggressive from what I understand and allows for an increase after a certain number of cycles depending on the nadirs you're getting at a certain dose.
 
yes. the 2nd step. was confused as it says to wait a week b4 increase? just trying to clarify. asked on my post last night also. thanks
 
Yes, we you first start Lantus you want to hold that dose for a week so the depot can build up and your cat can try to use what it has in its depot.
 
There's an exception to that:

If the nadirs are over 300, you may increase sooner, and your increase may be 0.5 units rather than 0.25 units, especially in cases where the cat has had DKA or shown signs of ketones in the urine.

When a cat has been DKA, you want to establish glucose control sooner rather than later, due to the 40% or so risk of another episode.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top