Question Answered, Thank you!

Hadaza

Member
Hi ya'll,

Had my first possible hypo scare. Gave insulin 2 units of PZI at 9:30pm then went to work. Thankfully my daughter was next door to help. At 11:30 BG dropped to 300mg, by 12:44 am it was at 102mg. At 1:05 am, BG at 88mg. I had her give him high calorie food, and samll amount of kibble. His numbers began rising and at times would drop slightly (using freestyle libre 14). At 2:25am bg @ 175mg, then @ 2:45 it dropped to 155mg.
It's 3:07 am and I will continue to monitor levels all night.

My question about how much insulin to give him tomorrow morning (9:30am central)?
Will someone please look at my spreadsheet and help? Did I do the right thing by feeding high calorie food? By the way his numbers were dropping I didn't want to risk an emergency room visit. But I new to all this so I'm just not sure.

I'll keep updating spreadsheet throughout the night.
 
I’m just seeing this. I’m glad your question was answered. He was in safe numbers and not a hypo as I am sure you were told - but he earned the reduction to 1.75 units because he dropped under 99 (when he reached 87.) And we’ve all panicked when we first see lower numbers in our cats. Good job with all the testing!
 
I’m just seeing this. I’m glad your question was answered. He was in safe numbers and not a hypo as I am sure you were told - but he earned the reduction to 1.75 units because he dropped under 99 (when he reached 87.) And we’ve all panicked when we first see lower numbers in our cats. Good job with all the testing!
Thank you for this bit of info, very helpful! With the amount of high carb food (1 full 3 oz can ff gravy) how long should i expect his bg to stay in the high zone? I'm scared to leave him alone at night but I work from 10pm - 3:30 am. He gets his insulin at 9:30 AM/PM. Would it be wise to skip work tonight given he had a steady drop in bg last night on 2 units? Is it likely the 1.75 units will drop his bg below 99? I won't have anyone to watch him this evening.
 
So
Thank you for this bit of info, very helpful! With the amount of high carb food (1 full 3 oz can ff gravy) how long should i expect his bg to stay in the high zone? I'm scared to leave him alone at night but I work from 10pm - 3:30 am. He gets his insulin at 9:30 AM/PM. Would it be wise to skip work tonight given he had a steady drop in bg last night on 2 units? Is it likely the 1.75 units will drop his bg below 99? I won't have anyone to watch him this evening.
, I meant to say that he dropped under 90 not 99. The reduction point is 90 for him because you are following the SLGS guidelines. Just a moment while I look at his spreadsheet some more. What time zone are you in by the way? Central?
 
Can you test him now to see where he is? I think he is likely to still be bouncing high from his green number last night.
 
So

, I meant to say that he dropped under 90 not 99. The reduction point is 90 for him because you are following the SLGS guidelines. Just a moment while I look at his spreadsheet some more. What time zone are you in by the way? Central?
Okay, 90- noted :) Yes, central.
 
I’m at the vet right now with 2 cats. May I please get back to you in a little while? I think it probably will be okay for you to shoot 1.75 tonight depending on the preshot number. I would like to see what that is.
 
I think you will be safe tonight because he usually takes longer to clear bounces and because of the reduced dose. I do want to know if you can leave food out for him while you’re away. That is important.
 
I think you will be safe tonight because he usually takes longer to clear bounces and because of the reduced dose. I do want to know if you can leave food out for him while you’re away. That is important.
Leaving food is a bit challenging. I have three other cats and live in a very small space. Thankfully I found a sitter for the night that will monitor very closely.
 
Yes, they will test him with the freestyle libre 14 scanner. I can have them feed. Would you suggest his Raw food or canned with more carbs? Also how often would you recommend I have then scan him?
 
Yes, they will test him with the freestyle libre 14 scanner. I can have them feed. Would you suggest his Raw food or canned with more carbs? Also how often would you recommend I have then scan him?
Well if all they have to do is scan, they could scan every hour while you’re away. If he stays high, I would just feed the lowest carbs. If he were to drop then feed more carbs.
 
I see you had some beautiful blues numbers last night! That is excellent. It’s very good to have all that data on the spreadsheet- for us to see what is happening. I’m sure he will be high this morning — in bounce mode — but those lower numbers are good. He needs to spend more and more time in normal numbers in order to get used to them - and to be less bouncy, hopefully.
 
It's about 2 hours to till shot time. His number is 280 right now on the freestyle libre. I haven't really slept so I'm going to sleep for two more hours then post his AMPS shot at 9am central time. I wouldn't be sure what to amount of PZI to shoot if BG stayed in this yellow or purple range.
 
His BG has been rising for several hours now. I think you are going to be safe to shoot the 1.75 units if he's still in yellow or even the 300s. It's somewhat new for you, so I understand your anxiety. As long as you will be home today, you can track him and will be able to keep him safe should anything happen. I highly recommend that you give him a wet food snack of a couple of teaspoons of his regular low carb food at +2 and +3. If he'd dropped a lot at +2 you can feed a few more carbs. I do not think this will happen, but we don't want him dropping more than 100 points in an hour (or close to 100) because that's fast and will contribute to bouncing.
 
His BG has been rising for several hours now. I think you are going to be safe to shoot the 1.75 units if he's still in yellow or even the 300s. It's somewhat new for you, so I understand your anxiety. As long as you will be home today, you can track him and will be able to keep him safe should anything happen. I highly recommend that you give him a wet food snack of a couple of teaspoons of his regular low carb food at +2 and +3. If he'd dropped a lot at +2 you can feed a few more carbs. I do not think this will happen, but we don't want him dropping more than 100 points in an hour (or close to 100) because that's fast and will contribute to bouncing.
Thanks for that knowledge. I'll be updating his SS all day
 
Not sure if I need to create new post or if it's appropriate to ask you. But Calcifur just vomited all his food post insulin injection. What is the protocol for this occurrence?
 
Oh, I am sorry he did that, poor boy. Try to get him to eat small amounts. A teaspoon or two here and there - taking your time to get him to eat. Give him breaks to make sure he’s keeping it down. I hope he will eat now until he eats about the same amount that he would have eaten at dinner.
 
Back
Top