Question about stalling

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marvin

Member Since 2012
Hi there,

I just have a question about stalling. If you have a low pre-shot number (too low to shoot) and you test frequently to catch the rise, do you then wait 12 hours from when you shot or do you keep your regular schedule? For example, if you normally shoot at 7:30 am but kitty is too low so you end up shooting at 9:30 am, is the next shot still at 7:30 pm or does it get moved to 9:30 pm?

Thanks!
Carolyn
 
Your next shot would be at 9:30 when you actually shot. Otherwise you would be shooting at +10 and that would act like a dose increase.
 
With Lantus, you keep to a 12-hour shot schedule. In order to get back on schedule, you have a couple of options. You can move the time by 15 min. at each shot time until you are back on schedule. Alternatively, you can move the time by 30 min. once a day. Moving in these small amounts will have minimal effect on numbers. (An early shot acts like a dose increase; a late shot acts like a dose reduction.)

If you have high numbers at your next shot time, there is the possibility of shooting earlier than noted above. However, before you move your shot time by an hour or more, I'd check in here to see if it's OK since you're still learning about how to use Lantus.
 
Thank you everyone! I'm glad I decided to stick things out here. Everyone is so helpful and patient. We've seen more positive changes in the last few days from following the advice of fellow members than we have seen in the last few months working with our vet.

Continuing on the topic of stalling, tonight, Marvin's PMPS was 119 so I held off on the shot and decided to test an hour later (he ate dinner at the same time as the PMPS). It's now at 153 and I'm on the fence about giving the shot. My instincts tell me to skip it as I don't have much data and I'm uncomfortable with a hypo situation.

Am I doing the right thing?

Thanks!
Carolyn
 
That's not much of a food spike. Bumping you up for more eyes.

Usually we stall for 15 or 20 minutes without feeding, We want to see if the BG rises or surfs without food, then we know the cycle is heading up on it's own. since you have already fed I hope others will chime in.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top