I did a curve on my cat today, the info is on my spreadsheet. Her BG before eating this evening was 125. After eating her BG was 201. Should I give her 1 unit of Lantus?? I use the Alphatrack.
I decided not to get her an injection since I'll have to give her one at 5:00 a.m. in the morning before work. Still too new at this to feel comfortable.
For someone who is new to Lantus, we suggest that you not shoot a BG below 150. Gradually, you'll work your way down to shooting low but for now, skipping is the safest course. That said, Lantus likes consistency both in terms of shot time and the amount you're shooting. If you keep seeing that you need to skip shots because you're getting a numbers you can't shoot, then it may make sense to lower the dose more than you already have. Frankly, I think you may need to start Camille at 0.5u. Having her drop into the blues and greens you've already seen is great! But, it's much easier on your nerves to start lower and raise the dose than to be at a higher dose and be testing constantly because you're seeing low numbers and/or can't shoot.
How long after her meal was the 201? That would be a BIG food spike but it's possible, especially if Camille is carb sensitive.
The 201 was approx. 30 minutes after I fed her. The 125 BG before I fed her is what spooked me. Then I second guessed myself when I saw it go up. I guess I'll see what her reading is tomorrow morning at 0500. I hate to keep skipping doses. I'm going to give the numbers to my vet tomorrow and I'll suggest lowering the dose. Thanks!!
There is often a food spike (i.e., a rise) in numbers after a meal. That's a normal response. BG will go up and then, in an "ideal" curve, be at around the pre-shot level by +2. Obviously, this can vary and depends on your cat's patterns.
Dyana is one of the people that's often on the board early. I can let her know to keep an eye out for you.
The 201 was at least partially influenced by food. By having fed, you don't know how much of that number is due to a meal vs. then numbers rising on their own. You might want to grab a test or two tonight to see where Camille's numbers are heading.
If you get a low pre-shot you have a couple of options:
Skip the shot
Stall (and do not feed)
Shoot a reduced dose
All of these options have an effect on the insulin depot. In addition, they can have an effect on your schedule. All of these factors need to be taken into consideration. You may want to take a look at this post on dealing with low pre-shots.
Hi Melanie.
I'll set my alarm for 5:00am to check on you.
If you're up before that and can get at +11 (4:00am) that would tell us if she's rising or dropping.
Liz pointed out that I goofed. I forgot you're using an AlphaTrack meter. Your "no shot" number should be 180 on the AT meter. (The AT is calibrated 30 points higher than a human glucometer.)
Just a quick welcome to Lantus Land. You'll be in great hands with Dyana in the morning. Please be sure and let us know all your questions. We're always happy to help.
If you could do a Profile for Camille, we'd really appreciate it.