Question about Dosage 8/16 Jynx PMBG 88

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Jynx Saf AMPS 41

Hi guys .. don't think we have ever stopped into Jynx's condo, so welcome from us and wow on that 41!
 
Re: 8/16 Jynx AMPS 41, 74 now

Okay. 74 now. I'll be skipping a dose today. He only had a very skinny 0.25u last night. I'm not sure where to go from here :?

Also, I just found out that I need to travel to FL starting Sunday for a week (Dad is in the hospital). DH will be taking care of Jynx, but is away during the daytime, so he won't be able to monitor :sad:

Any advice would be wonderful.

Thank you.
Lisa
 
Re: 8/16 Jynx Saf AMPS 41, 74 now

Hi guys! I've been following along for a few days now. Jynx seems to be doing great. If it helps, check out Mr. Howell's SS -- I looked at Jynxs' and I am seeing similar patterns. See how he does with the skipped dose, and I do believe he has earned a reduction to .10 because of the 41 AMBG.
You might also want to change your subject to AMBG, since you didn't end up shooting.
 
Re: 8/16 Jynx Saf AMPS 41, 74 now

oh good on the 74. :-D I can't give really give dosing advice, but can say Jynx earned a reduction. If you want help with where to go from here, perhaps ask the question in the subject line - it will get the advisers attention that way. Good luck!
 
Re: 8/16 Jynx AMPS 41, 74 now

Wow! Mr. Howell!! Good going :)

Thanks. I'm so nervous about going to 0.1, since it is so difficult to measure (tried counting drops-it's not so easy :). Guess we'll see how his #s look tonight.

I need to run out in a little while, but will check his #s again a couple of times first. We are at +12.5 now.
Have a nice day.
 
Re: 8/16 Jynx Saf AMBG 41, 74, +1 160

wow lisa, mr jynx is really moving fast on you! i think i'd flag a question in your subject line on help with the dosing. good grief. your little buddy is healing very nicely, but you don't want to toss the insulin before you're sure he's going to hold ok. that little microdose of 1 drop can still do amazing things. at least it's only tuesday and you have a few days before you need to leave.

i hope your dad is ok.
 
Re: Question about Dosage 8/16 Jynx AMBG 41, 74, +1 160

Thanks, Julie.

I'll be offline for a while, but was wondering if someone could help with Jynx's dosage. He's been on 0.25u BID for a short time. He was given a skinny dose last night, and was very low this am (41).

I held his dose today, and his #s have come up (esp since he was given HC and honey, which is enjoyed immensely!)

I'm unsure how to proceed tonight. Any recommendations would be helpful. Thank you, AGAIN :))

Unfortunately, I'll be away starting on Sunday for a week with no monitoring for him throughout the day. Aaaaa! Stressed!!

Lisa
 
Re: Question about Dosage 8/16 Jynx AMBG 41, 74, +1 160 +6.5

Good evening,

I'm still unsure what I should do about Jynx's dose tonight. Last check was 136 (+18.5 since last dose of 0.25U). Is anyone available for advice on how to handle his evening dose? Sorry to be a nudge :sad: I'm just so worried, and unsure if I should skip again. Unfortunately, I just fed Jynx 0.5 oz Evo (0% carb), because my other cat hadn't eaten earlier, and I needed to feed him (and saw Jynx's sad eyes when Jaggy was getting food).Thank you.

Lisa
 
Re: Question about Dosage 8/16 Jynx AMBG 41, 74, +1 160 +6.5

Hi again Lisa! Sorry nobody more experienced is looking at this, I've been waiting for someone else to step in.
I would still suggest going to .10u tonight, even if it's impossible to measure. Jynx needs to keep his shed full, so skipping another shot wouldn't be ideal, but I understand the fear of hypo. Like I said before, since he got down to 41, that technically does earn him a dose reduction, but the 160 means he is still insulin dependent. I personally would not shoot another .25, or you're going to really have to keep on your toes to make sure he doesn't plummet again.
 
Re: Question about Dosage 8/16 Jynx AMBG 41, 74, +1 160 +6.5

how long is it until shot time?

Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

I would reduce to 0.1u tonight. Here is a picture.

The goal is to keep giving insulin for as long as possible to give the beta cells ample time to heal. In general, we're looking for a week of numbers that are all under about 120 and mostly green. If she drops too low on 0.1, then that plan might have to be adjusted. Because Jynx went to the high 200s after a skipped shot two days ago, it looks like she still needs insulin.
 
Re: Question about Dosage 8/16 Jynx AMBG 41, 74, +1 160 +6.5

Hi Lisa,

I'm not a dosing adviser and my personal experience was more at the other end of the dosing scale :smile:

According to the protocol, that 41 did indeed earn Jynx a decrease. Hard to say of the decrease should be down to nothing. It's interesting that the +18.5 is lower than the +13. I agree with Julie that you don't want to jump the gun and toss the insulin. His pancreas may still need support. You'll have to see what he is at +24 and make a call then. If you are going to be around to monitor, have plenty of strips and HC, You may decide to give him a drop. do you have a magnifying glass? If you are not comfortable with giving a drop then skip it.

Somewhere around here there are close up photos of what 0.1u looks like. Hopefully someone can locate them for you.
 
Jynx's BS is 88 now. Thinking about skipping again. I understand that I should decrease the dose to 0.1U, but I don't want to run into a problem. I gave him a very skinny 0.25U last night. I think that I'll hang and watch. To make a difficult couple of days worse, DH came home from work sick :( I appreciate your time, and all of your help. I'll check in to let you know how he does.

Thank you,
Lisa
 
Well now that interesting - +22.5/88 . . .

Just think of today as back to back fur shots (I've actually had that happen :roll: ) He is certainly in a nice range - no worries.

Hope DH feels better and things simmer down for you.

Keep us posted even if it's just keeping his ss up to date.
 
i can see what you would choose to skip that lisa. an 88 for a preshot in a newly diagnosed kitty - that would make me nervous too.

keep checking him - but you don't have to worry about him going hypoglycemic when he hasn't had a shot. that can't happen without insulin being injected - sometimes kitties get into the 40's on their own, but if you haven't shot him, it isn't important.

lots on your plate! i'm cheering for you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top