Question about depot and Snickers BG

Status
Not open for further replies.

Snickers and Chrissy

Member Since 2019
Hi, my husband and I went for an overnight trip last night (Friday). We had no one to shoot Snickers, and opted to just shoot her as normal Friday AM, and then skip Friday PM and Saturday's AM. So it has been 29 hours since she had insulin. I left food in her automatic feeder, so she last ate at what would have been her normal breakfast time this Saturday.

We just got home and checked her BG, and it measured 79. I rechecked and it was 86. I know there is the depot to consider, but I am surprised her numbers are normal.

Is it possible she's going into remission and I didn't realize it? That seems like jumping the gun. I've been giving her one unit, so if she didn't need it her BG would have dropped way lower right? Is this the depot at work? Perhaps I don't fully understand the depot if that's the case. It's like a well that fills up, right? And then drains as you get closer to shot time? But shouldn't it have drained by now?

I don't understand what her numbers this morning mean and need help figuring this out. Thank you in advance.

Update: I posted over in the Lantus forum and got some advice, but if anyone else wants to chime in I'm happy to hear it.
 
Last edited:
Chrissy --

I want to suggest you post on the Lantus board especially since you're following TR. I think you missed the information that you reduce the dose if your cat is in normal numbers for a week. Snickers' spreadsheet looks great. I would not abruptly stop insulin. You want to give as much support to a healing pancreas as possible for as long as you can so you get your kitty to a solid remission.
 
Chrissy --

I want to suggest you post on the Lantus board especially since you're following TR. I think you missed the information that you reduce the dose if your cat is in normal numbers for a week. Snickers' spreadsheet looks great. I would not abruptly stop insulin. You want to give as much support to a healing pancreas as possible for as long as you can so you get your kitty to a solid remission.
Thanks so much for your reply! I did end up posting in the Lantus forum and got some feedback. :) I think I misunderstood the part of the TR protocol you're referring to and thought I needed all green numbers between 50-80 to reduce, and that a single blue number threw that off. I'm gonna start posting over in the Lantus forum regularly now.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top