Question about BG #'s.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dez

Member Since 2016
Hello everyone! I am new here and have the pleasure of being owned by a wonderful, diabetic kitty who goes by the name of Jinx. I found out Jinx was diabetic about 3 months ago and it was a pretty rocky road between vet visits, diet changes and constant proddings of insulin/BG checks. However, for the past month or so, Jinx seemed to be doing quite well on 6 units (2x a day) of Lantus (I draw from the pen using needles). He also eats all canned fancy feast classic. His 6 hour peaks usually landed around 130-160. However, on Tuesday, his night peak was 59. I fed him some leftover dry I had to help bring him up a little. In the morning he was still low and I was instructed by my vet to skip the dose and give only 1 unit at night if he was in the 200's. At night he was in the 400's, so I went with the usual 3 units. In the morning, he was low again. I called the vet and was told to skip that morning, and then starting that night to administer 1 unit 2x a day and take BG's and report back with BG's. All his numbers were 300/400's, so I was told to go up to 2 units 2x a day starting tonight.

Now, I just checked his BG before food/shot and it was at 198. So I guess my question is should I skip? His numbers are just so wonky all of a sudden. The vet is closed now so I don't know what to do. Also, would skipping shots randomly screw with his diabetes? I'm really nervous about it.

Edit: His behavior is normal. Extremely playful & energetic.

Edit 2 : So at 10pm his BG was 198. I fed him immediately after and rechecked at 11pm and his BG was 179.

Update: Retested at 1am. BG was 84. I fed him some dry food. Confused because I don't understand why his BG is dropping without insulin?

Update 2: Retested at 2:30am - 92
 
Last edited:
You could try posting on the Lantus forum as well to get advice from experienced users of that insulin. So - you gave him 1 unit this AM and you now have a PM value of 198? You could try giving 0.5 u for safety's sake. Do you have half unit marks on your U100 syringes? If not, you can eyeball a half unit.

Let's see if some Lantus people show up here.
 
You could try posting on the Lantus forum as well to get advice from experienced users of that insulin. So - you gave him 1 unit this AM and you now have a PM value of 198? You could try giving 0.5 u for safety's sake. Do you have half unit marks on your U100 syringes? If not, you can eyeball a half unit.

Let's see if some Lantus people show up here.

I gave him 2 units at 10 am this morning because his BG was pretty high (I think it was 370's). I don't have half units marked on my syringes but I could definitely eyeball a half unit. The only thing is his BG is still kind of dropping even after I fed him so I don't know if I should inject or skip.. even a half. I know the vet mentioned something about the possibility of diabetic remission but I really don't like getting my hopes up, especially with things like this.

But I didn't even know there was a Lantus forum! I'll recheck this tomorrow (also after getting some more #'s from him) and try posting in there as well! Thank you!
 
Hi !
Lantus and lev is where you will get specific advice about these insulins.
If you can read the stickys on the protocols it will help with understanding how and why we follow whichever protocol works best for you.
With lantus and lev they are depot insulins.
In general we hold a dose for a minimum of 6 cycles
A cycle being 12 hours.
If we increase it is by .25 units.
Insulin is a powerful hormone and a drop can make a big difference. It is great that you home test.
The more info you can provide the better the experts can advise you.
One thing we encourage is to shoot 12 hours apart and if you have to adjust to do it in 15 minute intervals.
A increase or decrease is based on the nadir not the pre shot.
The nadir is the lowest point in the cycle usually around 6 hours but each cat is different
My cat would nadir at 4 hours on Lantus and 9 hours on lev. The more data you can provide the better.
If you have a unusually low pre shot it is advised to post for help to keep kitty safe and if you cannot monitor to use your judgement whether to reduce or skip that cycle.
Lantus and lev are long lasting insulins and tend to work best with being consistent. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top