Aleven
Member Since 2014
Hello everyone, it's nice to find this resource of so many committed, knowledgeable people.
My cat, Mottyl, was diagnosed almost two months ago. She's currently on caninsulin, 2 x 2 units, 12 hours apart. I've been home-testing her BG for just over two weeks now, and for the past week there have been some changes in her numbers. When I started her numbers were erratic but high pre-shot - around 16-20 mmol (I'm Canadian so this translate to something around 288-360). Since last Sunday, though, she's been regularly having readings of less than 12 mmol when I do her morning test - around 6-8.8 (108 - 160). Twelve hours later it's usually climbed back up to 16 or so. This means I'm only giving her one shot of 2 units once a day. I called my vet and she said I should just keep going with two units once a day as needed (rather than, say, lowering the dose). Do people think this is reasonable? It seems a bit like a BG rollercoaster. I'm just looking for some other opinions since it's hard to get my vet to pay attention to me for more than a quick, harried convo.
Thank you!
Anna (& Mottyl)
Montreal, QC
My cat, Mottyl, was diagnosed almost two months ago. She's currently on caninsulin, 2 x 2 units, 12 hours apart. I've been home-testing her BG for just over two weeks now, and for the past week there have been some changes in her numbers. When I started her numbers were erratic but high pre-shot - around 16-20 mmol (I'm Canadian so this translate to something around 288-360). Since last Sunday, though, she's been regularly having readings of less than 12 mmol when I do her morning test - around 6-8.8 (108 - 160). Twelve hours later it's usually climbed back up to 16 or so. This means I'm only giving her one shot of 2 units once a day. I called my vet and she said I should just keep going with two units once a day as needed (rather than, say, lowering the dose). Do people think this is reasonable? It seems a bit like a BG rollercoaster. I'm just looking for some other opinions since it's hard to get my vet to pay attention to me for more than a quick, harried convo.
Thank you!
Anna (& Mottyl)
Montreal, QC