Question abou AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tena and Curry(GA)

Member Since 2010
Just began Curry's insulin yesterday. Newly dx on 7/30/10. Her BG was 500 on her annual exam....no sx though.

Will start practicing this week with the ear glucose testing. I wasn't successful yesterday.. Curry was great...I was not so great. When I do begin taking the readings I have a question.

Question: My Vet told me to feed Curry 30 minutes before giving her the shot to assist in eliminating an insulin reaction. At least for now while I"m new at this. I feed Curry at 6:00AM and then give her the insulin at 6:30AM. Do I take the AMPS reading at 5:59AM (before she eats) or at 6:29AM (before she gets the insulin)? Do y'all feed your cats prior to giving the insulin?


I'll practice throughout the day today when I get my courage up again. I really hate poking her, but I know it needs to be done. I'm shooting to do a glucose curve next Saturday after she has been on this tx a week. I'll be trying to get some readings throughout the week to build my confidence and to learn what her glucose is doing. I hate giving her the insulin "blindly".

I really appreciate having y'all here w/me on this. My vet is great...he gave me his email address and cell number for any questions....don't want to bombard him yet....I'm sure I'll get an opportunity down the road a bit.
 
The sooner you can get the testing rolling the better. Most of us had to poke more than once at the beginning and I still have to on occasion. Your kitty will catch on that what you're doing will help her feel better. And, make sure you're giving a treat every time you test, no matter whether the test was successful. Most of us feed either a jerky style treat or something freeze dried or even cooked chicken breast. We use low carb treats -- they are all meat. Knowing that treats are involved will help Curry get used to testing.

You want to test before you feed, otherwise you can end up with food influencing the numbers (i.e., a "food spike"). Also, most of us test, feed, and shoot -- all within about 5 - 10 min. I give Gabby her shot while her head is in her food bowl. Lantus onset isn't for about 2 - 3 hours after the shot. It's not like the shorter acting types of insulin where you really need to have food on board before you give an injection.
 
Hi Tena


I'm just linking your previous thread here so its easier to glance back at yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21203

Sienne is right - testing gets easier and soon enough Curry will get use to it, as you will too.

I use to take 1/2 hour to get everything done, but as it gets easier, you get quicker and you can do it all within 5-10 minutes tops.

Hope you have a good day and post often when you need to!
 
Hi Tena, Yep, it's easiest to give the insulin shot when her head is in her food bowl. Stu has never even noticed his shots. I just say "keep your head down" and then tent the skin in the area of the shoulder and shoot into the tented skin. I always give a kiss when I finish so that I can smell the area of the shot to make sure that the insulin shot was successful (Lantus has a distinctive smell, and if you smell it on your kitty you might have given a "fur shot", or a partial fur shot. If this happens, don't shoot again!!!!! Simply go on with your day and give the next shot on time).

The ear poking gets easier as you go along. A little vaseline on the ear helps to bead up the blood drop. And, as Sienne says, always give a treat. Welcome to Lantus Land!

Ella & Stu
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top