sadye claxton
Member Since 2020
Bodie has hit some serious highs over the past two weeks, but then come down. But in the last 4 days he's been super high. Vet said "increase to two units", so we did for a shot BUT I'm now refreshed on the SLGS method and am committed to get more readings to try and figure this dosing out. I was hesitant to not increase every time he got higher, but I'm reading "stick to a dose for 7 days no matter how high he gets". SO
1-any suggestions on what dose to stick with for the next 7 days?
2- do you think infection/illness could be an issue? He's acting fine. But he's prone to chronic ear infections. We medicated 4 weeks ago with ear meds that you put in his ears and don't clean for 3 weeks. I've been cleaning them. She also gave me an oral anti-fungal ( I can get the name) but after reading about kidney clearance issues and adverse effects on kidneys I'm hesitant to give them because he's also CKD and SUPER sensitive to meds. He can only tolerate about 15 mg of gabapentin without becoming comatose...when he was put under for his dental we almost lost him. Since he's not shaking his head or scratching I don't think this is the issue. But he's always got black wax in his ears.
-he did have "bubble gut" this am. Could hear his belly ( it happens sometimes ) and he isn't interested in food....pancreatitis? I gave him a Cerenia which helped and he ate. He's acting fine.
I am feeding him at 8 am with insulin, letting him eat what he wants off that bowl through the morning...usually gets another snack around 3pm, I pull uneaten food by 6:00. Then he gets 8pm food with insulin and then I put another snack down around 10pm for him to eat off during the night. This has been fine with his sugars overall, but wondering if I need to adjust this too..?
Suggestions on a dose to pick for next 7 days? And thoughts on illness I need to explore?
JUST DID A +5 amps it was 341
1-any suggestions on what dose to stick with for the next 7 days?
2- do you think infection/illness could be an issue? He's acting fine. But he's prone to chronic ear infections. We medicated 4 weeks ago with ear meds that you put in his ears and don't clean for 3 weeks. I've been cleaning them. She also gave me an oral anti-fungal ( I can get the name) but after reading about kidney clearance issues and adverse effects on kidneys I'm hesitant to give them because he's also CKD and SUPER sensitive to meds. He can only tolerate about 15 mg of gabapentin without becoming comatose...when he was put under for his dental we almost lost him. Since he's not shaking his head or scratching I don't think this is the issue. But he's always got black wax in his ears.
-he did have "bubble gut" this am. Could hear his belly ( it happens sometimes ) and he isn't interested in food....pancreatitis? I gave him a Cerenia which helped and he ate. He's acting fine.
I am feeding him at 8 am with insulin, letting him eat what he wants off that bowl through the morning...usually gets another snack around 3pm, I pull uneaten food by 6:00. Then he gets 8pm food with insulin and then I put another snack down around 10pm for him to eat off during the night. This has been fine with his sugars overall, but wondering if I need to adjust this too..?
Suggestions on a dose to pick for next 7 days? And thoughts on illness I need to explore?
JUST DID A +5 amps it was 341
Last edited:
There’s a lot to learn. We are here to help.