Question: 01/27 Blackie AMPS 142

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Today's cross post from the TR group:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=62195

Yesterday, I didn't do any midcycle testing. I'm trying to conserve the strips, and I'm also trying to stock up on them, too. Besides, I know her well enough to know that she's going to be :mrgreen: , and I watch her like a hawk, too. I know one of the signs of hypo should she go that far. I'm focusing on the PS #s anyway.

Is it necessary to test so often if you know your kitty?

Should I continue to do the mid cycle testing, or can it be on every other day, or so?

I appreciate the help, and advice if passed on. Thank you. :)
 
I'm pretty sure the TR group and I are going to disagree on this one....but, as well as you know Blackie by now and the fact that you aren't really looking to see if her dose needs changed at the moment...I wouldn't think you need a mid-cycle test everyday, unless something with her seems off. I know with Musette on the days I know she is just going to be high because she is bouncing like a rubber ball I tend not to test her as often, I just don't see the point, she is going to be high, I know she is going to be high so why put her through a bunch of test? It seems to me that you have the same thing going on with Blackie but in reverse, you know how she is going to do on this dose according to the readings you have gotten on your preshot tests, you have tested her before the shot to make sure she isn't giving you a surprise with a lower than normal number and is high enough to safely give insulin to, so why make her bleed more than necessary.

Just my opinion of course but I can't see a reason why when she has such a well established pattern that you need to get midcycle tests everyday. Especially if you are going to be with her to watch her for signs of hypo setting in.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
Hi, Angela and Blackie ~

I like what Mel said about testing, Angela. You know Blackie so amazingly well that you can keep her safe with less testing. My husband and I were just talking last night about doing less testing for Butters, too, since he's on such a low dose now.

Enjoy the weekend,
Eva
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top