Question- 01/19 Archie AMPS=94 +.5=111 New to Lantus

ArchieB

Member Since 2025
We are on day 3 of Lantus after previously being on vetsulin. Archie's AMPS was much lower than the last three days so I fed, waited 30 min and retested and he's at 111 now. Should I skip the dose or is it safe to shoot now? I am using alphatrak because that is what my vet requires in order to allow me to do curves at home instead of office.
 
Update- I skipped the dose this morning. He is now at 260 @ 10:00 AM EST. I don't know if I did the right thing or not so I still hope to get some advice from someone.
 
hi hi :)

I'm still fairly new at this myself but my understanding is you want to hold off on feeding and retest 20 to 30 minutes later to see if your cat's BG is going up on its own (without food) before giving the shot.

Since you're doing SLGS and it was a very low AMPS for Archie I would have probably also not shot but please take that with a grain of salt as Pip only got diagnosed 2 months ago and we are doing TR and shooting low.

I wish you and Archie a great day and hopefully someone with more experience will reply to you soon :)
 
hi hi :)

I'm still fairly new at this myself but my understanding is you want to hold off on feeding and retest 20 to 30 minutes later to see if your cat's BG is going up on its own (without food) before giving the shot.

Since you're doing SLGS and it was a very low AMPS for Archie I would have probably also not shot but please take that with a grain of salt as Pip only got diagnosed 2 months ago and we are doing TR and shooting low.

I wish you and Archie a great day and hopefully someone with more experience will reply to you soon :)
Thank you. I see that now too in one of the stickied posts. We just switched from Vetsulin to Lantus and the feed-then-retest thing is what was recommended when we had a low AMPS on that insulin. I plan to see what he is at tonight for his PMPS and go from there.
 
Hi Trey and Kitty, I'm sorry no one got with you earlier today! Here is your previous post on the forum which we include so that it's easier to follow Archie's history: Advise Needed - asking vet about switching to Lantus. Each time you post you'll want to include your previous day's link in that post somewhere near the top.

Also, now that you've switched to Lantus, please note that in your signature.

I imagine you've already read this, but here is the sticky that describes the dosing methods: Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR). Under SLGS, as you begin with insulin treatment, if you receive a lower than normal preshot number under 150, you would not shoot, so you did the right thing this morning. Archie is going to bounce into higher numbers, but he will come back down.

Let's tag someone who can offer you some guidance on the next dose. @Christie & Maverick @Bandit's Mom

Also, since Lantus is new to you, if you haven't done so already, please read the posts about Lantus at the top of the LLB board. Lantus is quite a bit different from Vetsulin (and I think you're going to like it much better! At least I did when I switched.).
 
Hi Trey and Kitty, I'm sorry no one got with you earlier today! Here is your previous post on the forum which we include so that it's easier to follow Archie's history: Advise Needed - asking vet about switching to Lantus. Each time you post you'll want to include your previous day's link in that post somewhere near the top.

Also, now that you've switched to Lantus, please note that in your signature.

I imagine you've already read this, but here is the sticky that describes the dosing methods: Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR). Under SLGS, as you begin with insulin treatment, if you receive a lower than normal preshot number under 150, you would not shoot, so you did the right thing this morning. Archie is going to bounce into higher numbers, but he will come back down.

Let's tag someone who can offer you some guidance on the next dose. @Christie & Maverick @Bandit's Mom

Also, since Lantus is new to you, if you haven't done so already, please read the posts about Lantus at the top of the LLB board. Lantus is quite a bit different from Vetsulin (and I think you're going to like it much better! At least I did when I switched.).
Thank you! It makes me feel better hearing I did the right thing. I have been feeling bad about it for some reason today. I think it's just the change and uncertainty. From what I gather it seems there may be some erratic numbers in the beginning after switching. It's a bit stressful.

I updated my signature and will remember to include my previous link next time I post.
 
Archie seems to like the Lantus way better than Vetsulin. I think you might want to try 1.25 units tonight, to see if you can get to a dose where you don't have to skip shots due to lower preshots than you are used to.

Is there any way your schedule permits you to get a test before bed at night that is at least 2-3 hours after the preshot? Many cats go lower at night and those before bed tests can give us a clue what is happening at night. And if he does a big drop down to those before bed tests, it'd be a good time to either get a later test, or leave out extra food so he can stay safe.
 
Archie seems to like the Lantus way better than Vetsulin. I think you might want to try 1.25 units tonight, to see if you can get to a dose where you don't have to skip shots due to lower preshots than you are used to.

Is there any way your schedule permits you to get a test before bed at night that is at least 2-3 hours after the preshot? Many cats go lower at night and those before bed tests can give us a clue what is happening at night. And if he does a big drop down to those before bed tests, it'd be a good time to either get a later test, or leave out extra food so he can stay safe.
Yes, I think so too. And yes, I can definitely get +3 and +4 after PMPS if that will be helpful.
 
Back
Top