PZI started Monday 11/15 - Numbers still high

Status
Not open for further replies.

kaw

Member
My cat, Scout Gentry was diagnosed in June. He was started on 1.0 of Lantus 2x daily and gradually increased to 4.5 units. He developed Nueropathy in August, which still remains. I have been following the advice on this site regarding his diet and MethylB12. On Monday of this week his insulin ws changed to 2.0 units of PZI. I am home testing and his numbers have not gone below 444 this week, with the high being 538. I use the ketones strips, he is negative.
His neuropathy is causing him to urinate on himself, particularly his left leg which is quite a bit smaller than his right leg now. I am using a waterless shampoo to clean him and also having his tummy shaved as well as the inside of his hind legs.
Im not certain what to do at this point. Does PZI take a while to take effect? The vet recommended I wait to increase his dosage. He is eating well, is alert and engaged.
Any thoughts or sugesstions are appreciated.
 
Welcome Kaw and Scout Gentry,
Please read the sticky at the top of the topics section on this page for some helpful information. My kitty also started out on Lantus and got up to 5 u's 2x daily before we switched to ProZinc.
My vet had us start out on 3 u's 2 daily of ProZinc and I learned that unless you start out at 1u 2x daily, you might miss the right dose. But, because your kitty has nueropathy I'm not sure if that's the best course of action either. Others will be by who might be able to offer more knowledge on that condition.
It would also be helpful to post his numbers in a spreadsheet. Here is the link with instructions
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207

Please keep asking questions.
Marcy
 
Hi guys,

Marcie gave you great advice- it REALLY helps us if you set up the spreadsheet, and if you read the stickies to begin to understand how prozinc works. It's action is different from Lantus. If you notice, all of us record our readings on a spreadsheet and have a link near our signatures for others to access.

You gave us a great re-cap, but could you also tell us a little more about your kitty? age, sex, appetite, size, other medical issues, dental, history of ketones, bowel health, vomiting? What kind of numbers did you get on 4u Lantus? Why did you switch? Does he get any dry food? He has one leg which is smaller???

Is there any chance he has a urinary tract infection? Did the vet do a needle aspiration of his bladder and send it off for a culture /sensitivity? Antibiotics? Does he use the litter box or your favorite rug?
How often do you hometest?

Sorry to bombard you, but you never know what info might help us help you.
 
Hello and welcome!
Charlie and I are still relative newbies, and he's still not regulated. So I don't have a lot of advice can offer you. It may help if You could post your blood glucose readings in a spreadsheet (ss) or at least in your post until you get a ss set up. It seems like the common recommendation on this board is to hold a dose for 2 or 3 days before doing a small increase. Usually you can tell by this point whether a dose is doing anything for the kitty. Are you doing any mid-cycle tests, or are they all pre-shot levels? What is Scout Gentry eating? A low carb, all-wet diet is the best for sugarcats (and all cats, really). Im sorry if I'm telling you things you already know, just trying to cover some bases. Be patient, this is one of the quieter boards, but the veterans will come around with loads more questions and advice!

Well, looks like Nancy beat me to all the questions I asked!
 
Hi Kaw & Scout Gentry,

I love the name, can't wait to hear the story behind the name.

I'm glad to hear you are following the diet recommended here, what food did you pick?

The Methyl B-12 will help the neuropothy but it takes a few weeks before you see any inprovement so stay with it.

Until you get a spreadshee going can you post your numbers like this:

11/18/10
AMPS (AM Pre Shot)
+1 - 1 hour after injection
+2 - 2 hours after injection
etc.

until PMPS (PM Pre Shot) 12 hours later.

Because the board is international we are all in different time zones so if we keep track of our bg's like this it doesn't matter what time you injected, we will all know where he is in the 12 hour cycle.

Mid cycle tests will help us know how the insulin is working in his system, when the onset is (when the insulin starts to work), when the nadir is (the lowest bg of the cycle), and when the insulin starts to wear off.

Prozinc is different than Lantus and has it's own quirks, come back and ask any and all questions you have and we will walk you through this.

Welcome to PZIsland.
 
i get the idea that while on lantus scout was maybe not being hometested.
if that is the case we might have yet another case of the chronic rebounder.

fantastic that you are hometesting. let me know if you need any help setting up your spread sheet. it will help you and all of us follow your kitties progress or need for change.
 
I have done several blood curves on Scout Gentry while using the Lantus. He had one great week and his number went up again. Havent done a curve yet while he is on the PZI but test prior to his injection, two hours after and again 2 hours prior to his next injection. Will do a curve this Friday and get the SS set up to post. His numbers prior to and after his injection dont change much. Example - 5:15p - 480. Gave 2.0 units PZI at 6:30p. 8:30p - 502.....
Scout is 11 years and weighs 16 pounds. He has a history of UTI but is tested often for this. Had his teeth cleaned on November 2nd. Beside the UTI's, he has no noteable health issues (ketones, vomiting, etc). The vet decided to change his insulin due to high numbers on the Lantus, just cant seem to get his numbers down. Scout gets the recommended FF flavors found on this site. Tried the "fresh" (beef and chicken) food in the pet store for cats but he doesnt like them. His leg has become thinner as a result from the neuropathy. Scout uses the litter box every time but urinates on his leg, then its coated with litter.
I think I got all the questions answered.
I read the Stickeys at the top of the page and understand to wait a while before increasing his doseage.I am just concerned and worried.

Thanks to all who replied.
 
Will post his numbers shortly. Its now time to feed, brush him, and shoot.

Scout and his brother, Boo Radley, are named after the characters from To Kill A Mockingbird. His middle name just sounded right.

Scout Gentry has been on Methyl B12 for over a month. I understand no results should be expected until his diabetes is controlled.

Time to go take care of my boy.

Thanks all!
 
I thought the names sounded familiar but couldn't remember from where.

How much Methel B-12 is he getting. He should see some results even if he isn't regulated. Maybe he needs more.
 
Once we see your ss we can start to figure it out. Maybe he is a big boy and just needs more insulin to get his numbers under control. Once you get started with the ss, folks can help you sort it out. Looks like he's been on 1u for 5 days? The more mid cycle data you can get, the better. Its impossible to know where they go between PS's unless you test-

My little boy (12ish pounds) has a high dose condition called acromegaly and is currently on 16u (levemir) twice a day, and there are actually a lot of us (some studies have suggested as many as 1/3 of diabetic cats) so 4.5u may just not have been enough insulin.

Every cat is different. Other cats here are responding with micro-doses under 1u. Your testing is crucial...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top