PZI duration?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Okohme

Member
So Tater has been on PZI for over a week now, I've been monkeying with the dose as I go, in response to the numbers. I primarily have been reducing in response but the last few days he's been in the yellow or low purple in the mornings.
1/20/2012(AMPS) 239
1/21/2012(AMPS) 441
1/22/2012(AMPS) 302
1/23/2012(AMPS) 206


On the 21st I forgot to give him his insulin.. (BAD MOMMY) but later that day he tested at 227.
Today he was at 206 in the morning so I did not dose him. But then 4 hours after his normal dose he was at 496 so I gave him his dose then.


Anyone else have any similar experiences with #'s?
 
Are you shooting in the morning only? (I am wondering because the only tests seem to be amps?) Insulin needs to be given twice daily in cats.

If you are shooting twice daily, can you get some evening preshot numbers? And a test midcycle? That will really help us figure out how the insulin is working. The midcyle number is the lowest number he will go on the insulin and usually is about 6 hours after the shot. If you just gauge the dose only on preshot numbers, you may be missing the whole picture. If he goes low midcycle, he may be bouncing back up to a higher number. If he has higher numbers midcycle than preshot, that could mean he is getting too much insulin.

Have you seen this information on how PZI works and can be dosed? It is a huge document but, read in small doses, is very helpful.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=32799

It might be helpful to look at some of the threads in this forum and check out people's spreadsheets so you can see how PZI is working for them. More information will help us help you. We are a small but friendly group. People are on usually in the am and pm and trade advice/suggestions.
 
Oh, yeah, I have those too. That is part of my confusion.

The PMPS values have been in the 400's so I have been giving him 1.00 unit in the evening.

*EDIT the attachment is Tater's SS
 

Attachments

Okay. I can understand your confusion. His numbers don't make much sense.

Any idea why his numbers were so high in the beginning? Was he still on some dry food then? Do you sure test before he eats?

I think I would start over at one unit and hold the dose for a few cycles (as long as he doesn't dip low and is over 200 at preshot), getting as many midcycle numbers as you can. That should give us a clearer picture of what is happening.

When you get a number under 200 like this am, wait twenty minutes without feeding and test again. If he is rising and over 200, then you can shoot - maybe a reduced dose but depends.

I hope someone else will have some brilliant insight. The only idea I have is that he is a cat who has to settle into a dose and the different doses are causing the unusual numbers. It's that ECID thing. Some cats can adapt to a different dose every cycle. Some take several cycles to settle in and it takes that long to see how the dose is really working for them.
 
Hi

A couple things occur to me. It isn't a long history to look at yet, but at times it looks like the number climbs after the shot , then it looks like the insulin kicks in and starts to work. I remember seeing activity like that with Sev's Kitty, so you might PM Sev and ask him for some input.
The other thing that might be happening at times - When you saw the yellow preshots, it could be that the number was not actually rising at shot time, and the insulin may have pushed the BG lower, which then caused the liver to react and dump glucose, causing an instant increase in BG.

I think I would drop back to 1u, and stick with it for several days. If you see a lower than normal preshot, wait 30 minutes without feeding and see if it comes up any. That way you'll know you aren't shooting into a dropping number.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top