Punkin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Punkincat

Member
The boards been pretty busy and we've been reading all the post and certainly wishing everyone our best. Thought we're give ya an update on Punkin. She's doing really good, off the dry food and eating her FF well. 3 squares a day. Her bg is going down, her amps just now was 219 so we're pretty happy with that. Staying with the 1 unit of Lantus twice a day. She goes back to the vet Thursday, so we's just plugging along here.

Still watching her closely

Our best to everyone and just keep hanging in there.

Punkin and Jerry
 
Congratulations! Becoming proficient in Diabetes-101 is a steep learning. Glad your family is now doing well.

Your next goal is to get yourself a spreadsheet. The instructions are posted in the Tech Support forum.

Lana
 
Glad to hear things are going good. Keep up the great job and keep us posted. We like to know how every one's sugar baby is doing.
:)
 
Hi Simba and thank you. I'm trying, although I think my Dad has become somewhat neurotic over all this. Email me sometime, I usually check in the am before my nap.

Bye,

Punkin
 
Punkincat said:
I think my Dad has become somewhat neurotic over all this. Bye. Punkin

lol.... :lol: :lol:

As do we all! We can't help it :lol: !

Hey Jerry?
Where's that spreadsheet? :lol: :lol:
 
Punkin, you have a dad!!? Lucky you even if he is neurotic. Gee, my person is only my live-in housekeeper and secretary, I got her really cheap 15 years ago. I'm bossing her around all day, do this, do that, and when I got this diabetes five years ago she was already living in my apartment, so I made her my personal assistant too (without extra pay) to take care of all the practicalites. She often complains saying she is over-worked from taking care of everything by herself and can never leave the apartment, and then she sits or stands and stare at me, saying she does that to check every minute that I am okay. Gee, I don't know what all her frantic fuss is about, I go about my own usual business as napping, eating, napping, eating, napping and napping again and occasionally wrestle down my buddy Gustav. But she was really cheap, only requiring a bed, so I think I'll keep her.

Off to nap again now, it's midnight here and I need to sleep for a few hours so I can start partying at 4 am and keep partying to 6-7 am.
 
totallybeachin said:
Punkincat said:
I think my Dad has become somewhat neurotic over all this. Bye. Punkin

lol.... :lol: :lol:

As do we all! We can't help it :lol: !

Hey Jerry?
Where's that spreadsheet? :lol: :lol:

You know I have a hard time keeping that dang cat off the computer! She keeps me in more trouble.

I know on the spread sheet, but I do always test before I shoot these days and when I think I can without her being offended, so I'm doing better.

Although my vet told me last visit that after the next visit, which is Thursday, he was going to be wanting numbers emailed to him every few days so as to adjust the dose if need be. So.............looks like I'm gonna have to start that spread sheet pretty dang soon. It's just the testing, I've got to where it's not really an issue for me, I just don't want to hurt her and she still no likey!

But I read you ya loud and clear sis!
 
Ann & Scatcats said:
Gee, I don't know what all her frantic fuss is about, I go about my own usual business as napping, eating, napping, eating, napping and napping again and occasionally wrestle down my buddy Gustav


That's him, that's him! I go to sleep and wake up and he's right down at my mouth smelling my dang breath! He's nut's

Always been a bit high strung!


Punkin
 
i had to pop in because my punkin saw your punkin's name and got curious!

just fyi - all dosing of lantus is based on the nadir, the lowest point of the cycle. if you're only testing preshots you really need to add a mid-cycle test or two every day. even with the same dose your punkin can change how he responds to it and his dose likely will need adjusting here and there. without the lowest point of the day you are missing critical info!

best wishes from my punkin to yours!
 
julie1220 said:
i had to pop in because my punkin saw your punkin's name and got curious!

just fyi - all dosing of lantus is based on the nadir, the lowest point of the cycle. if you're only testing preshots you really need to add a mid-cycle test or two every day. even with the same dose your punkin can change how he responds to it and his dose likely will need adjusting here and there. without the lowest point of the day you are missing critical info!

best wishes from my punkin to yours!

Punkins vet visit this morning, she's gained little over half a pound. He set me on a AMPS, AM+6, PMPS and PM+6 for me to email him every 2 days.
Her AM+6 today was 197 so we're going in the right direction. So YES I have started the spreadsheet. He said he thought she was doing great and was happy she had gained some weight (now 14#'s even)
So..........................we's still just plodding along.
 
SS is up and running and the numbers I think are looking good. This is all he wants for right now so......... we take baby steps, nice and slow. No roller coaster rides here. It took her a while to get it and maybe awhile to get rid of it.

She's doing well, eating her 3 sq's a day. So she's happy
 
couple of little bits of info that might help you - make sure when you're testing punkin's BG you haven't given her any food for at least 2 hours prior to the test. food raises BG and your tests won't truly reflect what's going on in her body if she's getting food right before testing.

i'm just relating to your comment that she's getting 3 square meals a day. that mid-day meal would be best within the first 4 hours after the lantus shot because the insulin is going to be most available to break down the carbs in the food in the first 6 hours after the shot. does that make sense? so if you're giving shots at 7am and 7pm, try to give all punkin's food between shot time and the next 4 hours, then pick it up and make her wait til 7pm for her dinner.

what you're doing is mimicking the pancreas action in a non-diabetic cat. when the cat eats the pancreas releases insulin to break down the carbs. in the absence of you being able to do exactly that, by controlling when punkin eats you are giving her food at the same time that the insulin is available to work on those carbs. in the second half of the cycle (the last 6 hours of the shot cycle) there isn't much/any insulin available to break down the carbs.

what most of us do is test the BG, put down the food and give the shot while kitty's eating. all within a few minutes.

the other thing to know is that if you're following the Rand/Room protocol with lantus - in their study 100% of the cats who went on lantus in the first 30 days of being diagnosed were able to go off of insulin. so you may not have a long-term case here if you are up for following the protocol. that's what we do on the Lantus ISG forum. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

i know it's not for everyone because you do have to be willing to do a lot of testing, but if you are interested in following the protocol, we help each other understand it and there's an excellent track record of cats going off of insulin by doing so.
 
Thank you, I'm still learning.

I do always test, shoot, feed and I realize the food raises the bg so I make a real effort to test on an empty stomach so she can then eat. I know that after the shot they have to eat.

I haven't been at it as long as you and your Punkin so thanks for the info and help. I've put everything on hold during all of this and I'm trying my best. I didn't much like my job anyway!!!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top