Pudge - request for a sliding scale

Status
Not open for further replies.

sophie

Member Since 2012
Hello,

I would like to request a sliding scale for Pudge.

Pudge is 10 years old, was DX with FD on 12/17/12. He has no other health issues but vet states he needs to go down in weight from 18 lbs to some 14 - 15 lbs. He's very tall and long, his paws are huge, easily 2 - 3 x as big as his 2 sisters. Pudge is on fowl only Before Grain plus some FF (his favorite) wet food with freeze dried 100% or boiled chicken breast as treats. Previously, he was on dry food. I use U 100 short needle syringes with 1/2 marks, conversion chart from U 40 to U 100 units, and relion meter and strips. My back up is Bayer Contour. Vial of ProZinc is 20 days old, and has never been shaken or out of the fridge for more than 3 - 5 minutes 2 x a day.

His AMPS today was 528 on relion and 500 on Contour.
then, wet food,
ProZinc 1.8 units
+ 3.5 332
no ketones at +.25

Would very much appreciate your comments and suggestions,

Sophie
 
You have really good numbers in the middle of the cycles. It really looks like you are either getting short duration from the Prozinc or Sophie is bouncing off of the lower midcycle numbers. Just remember, Do Not shoot into the bounce. If you see the higher preshot numbers, stick with your dose--it appears you have! I am just making note of that, because it is so easy to see those higher numbers and want to increase your dose. I know you hate seeing the high numbers, but if it is bounces, as Sophie gets use to being in the mid cycle lower numbers, the bouncing will cease. The worse thing you can do is increase your dose just based on higher preshots. That will "feed" the bouncing. It take time to get their bodies adjusted to the insulin. I know it is frustrating, but you are keeping Sophie in good numbers most of the day and it appears that you are increasing at small increments.

Best of all-- good on not shooting the 4 units your vet perscribed!

Hopefully Robin will help you set up a sliding scale. She is really good at it!

Good Luck!
 
Hi Sophie,

Pudge has been a bouncy girl lately.

I put together a basic sliding scale her Pudge which is very conservative to see if we can get the bouncing to stop. It can take 3 to 5 days for the rebound hormones to clear her body. We will probably be adjusting her sliding scale up in about a week.

Pudge's Sliding Scale ONLY.

200 to 249 - .8u
250 to 299 - 1 unit
300 to 349 - 1.2u
350 to 400 - 1.4u

I would not shoot more than the 1.4u on a higher number because it is probably a bounce.

Robin
 
Thank you both very much! Simple and elegant "either or." Just saying it tongue in cheek :-D , but hoping for a miracle! His AM +6 was 195, I'll update the ss, as soon as, I conquer my slow poke of a computer. Same with a profile. Pudge sends some purry fuzzies your way for all the work you've done and time you've spent on his behalf.

Sophie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top