Jane & Boo (GA)
Active Member
Boo was just diagnosed at the start of this weekend, so I don't have insulin yet. My vet is having me order PZI directly from a compounding pharmacy on Monday. I've read that insulins from compounding pharmacies aren't always consistent from bottle to bottle. And, I think it's also going to have a shorter shelf life than ProZinc. I have to place an order tomorrow so need to make a decision soon. If I don't go with the pharmacy that my vet is recommending, I can always order ProZinc from an online pharmacy. Any advice regarding ProZinc vs compounded PZI?
Boo is no longer eating kibble. She has been eating Fancy Feast Classic since coming to live with me a week ago and is now being transitioned to home-made raw (Dr. Lisa Pierson's recipe). Her first home BG test was today - it was 242. My vet wants me start her with 1-unit BID. Given that we are still reducing carbs in the diet, does that sound like a good starting dose, or should I be more conservative and start with 1/2 unit?
Boo is no longer eating kibble. She has been eating Fancy Feast Classic since coming to live with me a week ago and is now being transitioned to home-made raw (Dr. Lisa Pierson's recipe). Her first home BG test was today - it was 242. My vet wants me start her with 1-unit BID. Given that we are still reducing carbs in the diet, does that sound like a good starting dose, or should I be more conservative and start with 1/2 unit?