Prozinc or PZI from a compounding pharmacy....

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jane & Boo (GA)

Active Member
Boo was just diagnosed at the start of this weekend, so I don't have insulin yet. My vet is having me order PZI directly from a compounding pharmacy on Monday. I've read that insulins from compounding pharmacies aren't always consistent from bottle to bottle. And, I think it's also going to have a shorter shelf life than ProZinc. I have to place an order tomorrow so need to make a decision soon. If I don't go with the pharmacy that my vet is recommending, I can always order ProZinc from an online pharmacy. Any advice regarding ProZinc vs compounded PZI?

Boo is no longer eating kibble. She has been eating Fancy Feast Classic since coming to live with me a week ago and is now being transitioned to home-made raw (Dr. Lisa Pierson's recipe). Her first home BG test was today - it was 242. My vet wants me start her with 1-unit BID. Given that we are still reducing carbs in the diet, does that sound like a good starting dose, or should I be more conservative and start with 1/2 unit?
 
I have not seen much difference between the compounded PZI and ProZinc except price. They seem to work about the same.

If I were you, I would start with 0.5 rather than one unit. You can always raise the dose as needed. We usually tell new diabetics not to shoot under 200 at first and she wasn't much higher that that.(assuming the 242 was a pre shot test?
 
Thank you both for your replies! That makes me feel much better.

When you say that that there is a price difference.... I assume that means the compounded PZI is less expensive?

As for the 242, that was first thing this morning... before feeding. Just to get her used to ear pricks, I did a test again tonight before her evening feeding (even though there is no insulin to give her yet). Tonight she was 274.

So, I will go with the compounded PZI and start her with 0.5 BID and stick with that for 3 cycles. Between now and then, I hope to have my spreadsheet started and posted to my signature.

Thank you again!
 
Hi Jane and Boo. Great job on testing Boo. Those numbers are not super high so that is really good news. Super high to me would be in the 400 plus so Boo may not need a whole lot of insulin and 0.5u is a good starting point too.
 
Last time I bought compounded PZI from BCP two years ago, a 10ml vial (400 units) cost me about $50. At one time, they were offering free sample vials to vets. I think they were 5ml (200 units).
 
I just spoke with the compounding pharmacy. They have quoted me $151.48 (delivered) for a 10ml bottle of U100 that has a 1-yr refrigerated shelf life. Is there an advantage to U100 vs U40?
 
The advantage is that there is 1000 units of insulin in the vial instead of the 400 you'd have in the u40 vial. You would use u100 syringes.
On a "per unit" cost, it's basically the same.
 
Thank you Carl! I think I'm going to have the vet change the prescription to the U40. I'm hoping for remission. Since changing her diet from kibble to low carb canned and now to home-made raw, her numbers have dropped from 318 last week at the vets office to 214 this morning when I tested her. If I don't see remission, I am at least hopeful that she will do well on a low dose of < or = 1 unit BID. If that happens, the U100 would expire before I am able to use it all up. If the insulin gods are against me, I can always change to the U100 later. If my logic seems off base or unrealistic, please let me know.
 
When you order the u40, ask about the expire date. At 3u per day, for example, you want a vial that's good for at least 4 months.
 
The pharm told me that U100 has a 1-year refrigerated shelf life. I was going to assume that the U40 would be the same, but will specifically ask to be sure.
 
I know the exp date on the last one I bought was only about 6 months. It all depends on when the batch was made.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top