ProZinc dosing help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacym20

Member Since 2014
Here's a look of Bud's numbers over the last few days:

11/27 PMPS 93 No shot
11/28 AMPS 398
11/28 PMPS 344
11/29 AMPS 193
11/29 PMPS 146 No shot
11/30 AMPS 364
11/30 PMPS 154 No shot
12/1 AMPS 420
12/1 PMPS 115 No shot

Does this mean I need to lower his dose? Do you dose ProZinc based on his number? Or do you try and keep every dose the same? Sorry I have no mid cycle data as I have not been home. Also I don't have a spreadsheet available as I am on my phone.

Thanks for any feedback!
 
Yes, I think I would reduce the dose so you have two shootable preshots. With ProZinc, you look at the preshot number and the nadir. Generally we suggest that you not shoot under 200, but wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. You want to make sure the number is rising, not falling and up to 200.

How much are you giving now? Cutting the dose in half may give you two preshots are in the 200 range with a midcycle number that is safe, above 40.

in my signature in blue, there is the protocol for ProZinc that we put together.
 
I was dosing at 1.6 units but did 1.2 this morning. Should I try 0.8 units maybe? I am using U40 ProZinc with U100 syringes with no half marks, thus the dosing in 0.4 increments for more accuracy.
 
Hi Stacy,

I apologize as I don't know your history, but maybe this will help... My Scout went OTJ with Prozinc, and I saw a similar pattern when she was moving towards remission. I discovered that she was getting into her sister's dry food from time to time and thought that was the cause, but some of it could have been just ups and downs while her pancreas was kicking back in. I removed the dry food, reduced the dose, and then stopped insulin altogether and her numbers actually went down on their own.

I'm wondering if you're feeding different food on different days or if Bud is eating at different times from day to day that would account for the different numbers? Is there anything you can hold constant for a few days like same favor/variety of food to see if it's having an effect?

Cheers,
Lori
 
I feed a 13 ounce can (usually a poultry flavor) and a 5.5 can (usually seafood flavor) of Friskies pate every 12 hours. Bud will be on the counter nibbling on those but then I put those down for the other cats and open a can of Fancy Feast Classic (different varieties) for Bud. It's his treat of sorts for having to get a shot lol as I can not afford to feed all 6 cats Fancy Feast. He will eat most of that but then continue to graze on the Friskies throughout the day. I do have enough Friskies turkey & giblets to feed all the cats that for a few days to see what that does to Buds numbers. Thanks so much for the input! When I first saw the 93 I was hoping I was going to be seeing remission soon of course only to see high numbers again in the morning. He was 445 this morning and I dosed him at 0.8 units.
 
Oh and Bud was pathetically thin when he was diagnosed and I can tell that since he's started insulin, he is putting weight back on. I'm not sure just how much as I don't have a scale, but I don't look at him anymore thinking "please gain some weight!!!!" If that tidbit helps any...
 
I don't have regular food around anymore. Perhaps some temptation treats would be okay? Should I try a lower dose in the morning?
 
No, I mean just the regular low carb.

It's up to you and how fast you want to do this. If the cycles are safe, even if they dip into the double digit range, and you can test when you need to, then you can be a little more aggressive. If you can't monitor as often, then you are more cautious. In my mind, 1.25 is the more aggressive dose and one unit is the cautious one.
 
Ok, gotcha. There's still plenty of food out as my other cats are grazers and tend not to eat bigger meals like Bud does, so there is food out for him.

I think I'll stick to a lower dose until Saturday when I should be able to get more mid cycle data.

Thanks again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top