Stephanie Rozin
Member Since 2020
Hi my cat Walter has been on insulin for almost 6 months. The entire time I have been questioning whether or not he needs insulin because his numbers have been all over the place. The vet I went to did not issue a fructosamine test for walters blood but we instead put him on insulin and changed his diet right away. The first mistake of many that happened during this. It feels as if things are improving but there is really some confusion I have with the numbers.
when we raise the dose I sometimes see his preshot numbers raise to 32 MMOLS. Im wondering could he be bouncing?
Walter has also had convulsions since we first put him on insulin. It was worse with lantus. The devils advocate in me is thinking (hoping) that maybe walter isnt actually diabetic and his diabetes is being created by the insulin and the symogi affect.
The key reason I think this is because some BG readings I get after food/pre insulin raise up by 20 points. This doesnt seem right as he is currently on 5/6 can of Purina DM every 12 hours and I was told this could only raise his bg by 14.
These are my take aways. Im hoping someone with more experience can jump in to help or give advice. Im planning on keeping the dose the same for a week at 1.5 ui for the time being but im worried about my cat. This whole experience has been going downhill. Im trying to keep positive and I hope that someone here can help.
Here is Walters Chart https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1zDn9NAUd-vZUPo1M9ewqZcZn25I-BwMCx8MUTMOjzWU/edit?usp=sharing
Thank you,
Steph
when we raise the dose I sometimes see his preshot numbers raise to 32 MMOLS. Im wondering could he be bouncing?
Walter has also had convulsions since we first put him on insulin. It was worse with lantus. The devils advocate in me is thinking (hoping) that maybe walter isnt actually diabetic and his diabetes is being created by the insulin and the symogi affect.
The key reason I think this is because some BG readings I get after food/pre insulin raise up by 20 points. This doesnt seem right as he is currently on 5/6 can of Purina DM every 12 hours and I was told this could only raise his bg by 14.
These are my take aways. Im hoping someone with more experience can jump in to help or give advice. Im planning on keeping the dose the same for a week at 1.5 ui for the time being but im worried about my cat. This whole experience has been going downhill. Im trying to keep positive and I hope that someone here can help.
Here is Walters Chart https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1zDn9NAUd-vZUPo1M9ewqZcZn25I-BwMCx8MUTMOjzWU/edit?usp=sharing
Thank you,
Steph
